Your audiobook is waiting…

The Hidden Queen

The Rodasia Chronicles, Book 1
Narrated by: Jessica Mathison
Series: The Rodasia Chronicles, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Secrets and betrayal. Fear and courage. Can one woman keep her nation from destruction? For fans of Francine Rivers, Lynn Austin, and Tamera Alexander.

Gwyneth Blacksman was content to live comfortably on her farm, but a long-held secret changed her life forever. Thrust into a role she didn't want or ask for, Gwen must face the facts. Will she step up and be who her people need her to be? Or will she wilt under the pressure of politics, schemes, and a looming war? 

The emperor of Devin offers her a way to avoid the bloodshed that is sure to come, but his offer is disingenuous at best, a lie at worst. With her countrymen's lives on the line, Gwen must make a hard choice. Give in to the emperor's demand or stand against him and take Rodasia into a war they can't win? 

As the problems keep mounting, she turns to the only two people who have stayed by her side through it all - Charles, the conflicted soldier who stirs up all sorts of feelings she would rather ignore, and Jakob, the excommunicated priest who challenges her assumptions about God. 

Step into the Rodasia Chronicles where plots, betrayal, love, and faith are only the beginning for Gwen as she struggles to become the person she was meant to be.

©2018 Janelle Garrett (P)2019 Janelle Garrett

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Strong Start to the Rodasia Chronicles

The title for this book is quite apt, as we learn about Gwyneth Blacksman and her rise to power as a new queen in the land of Rodasia. The author lets us see Gwyn in the present and through her memoir, giving us different glimpses at who she is and how she got there. Her circumstances have never been easy but Garrett reveals Gwyn's strengths and weaknesses that make the young queen both relatable and endearing. She has to weave her way through treacherous political waters while trying to find herself and settle into the initially unwelcoming role as royalty.

The supporting cast of Charles, Jacob, Nate, her council, Esther and Lacey and a few others are quite welcome for the most part. There are a few snakes in the midst and Gwyn has to find out who is her ally and who is not.

The Christian message is woven into the tale in a fascinating way, mostly introduced through the characters of Jacob, Esther and Nate. I have a feeling it will be made even more clear in future books.

Book 1 has an excellent cliffhanger and even better epilogue. I look forward to Book 2!

The narration by Jessica Mathison is professional and charming as she gives life to this intriguing cast of characters.

Overall, I recommend this book. It is intriguing and enjoyable!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I don’t like leaving stars less than three

I don’t like leaving stars less than three. I got bored the story never picked up and the narrator didn’t help to bring it alive or maybe it was just me. I will try to get back into another but for now I will give this review a 3 star.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read, looks to be a good series

The Hidden Queen (The Rodasia Chronicles #1), my second read from Janelle Garrett R.N. My first read from Janelle Garrett R.N was the non-fiction The Survival Guide for Nursing Students that was simply outstanding. This book is so well-written & enjoyable and validates that the first book was the author, not the subject matter. I was given an Audible copy of this book & am voluntarily reading & reviewing it. Jessica Mathison’s talented narration adds to the book's enjoyment. I look forward to the next book in the series. (RIP Marley January 20, 2014 - July 24, 2018).

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Nat T.
  • Houston, TX United States
  • 01-04-20

Good Read...

I am fairly new to fantasy fiction and this author. I liked the book and enjoyed the characters. Some more than others. I thought it was great how the author went back and forth between the past and the present to tell Gwen's story. The author incorporated the use of politics, drama, action and a little romance very well. It held my attention and kept me wondering what would happen next. The only thing that I didn't like was the profanity. I l read & listen to Christian fiction to get away from that. I was taken aback at the two swear words that were used. Overall, the author is very talented and I am looking forward to enjoying more of her books. I plan to look into the rest of the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So well done

* I received this audiobook for free and am leaving a review of my own free will.

Loved the narrator and the story. Garrett creates a compelling world and main character, and weaves politics, religion, war, love and more into the tale in a seamless way. I am REALLY looking forward to Part 2, The Coming Light when it is released next month.