1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A totally gripping mystery thriller, inspired by a true story: An innocent young girl holds the key to unlocking a long-buried crime. Perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Catherine Ryan Howard, and I’ll Be Gone in the Dark. Pulse-pounding, heart-wrenching, and unforgettable.

Manchester, England 1965: Little Kathy Openshaw is waiting in the car, with only her toy doll for company. While her mother Connie visits close friends Myra and Ian, Kathy gazes out at the surrounding moorland and dreams of a happier life.

But when Connie returns to the car, Kathy has vanished. Instantly, she thinks of the news reports of the children who have gone missing from the area. Parents everywhere are worried sick. Connie is struck with terror: What kind of mother leaves their child alone, when a kidnapper is on the loose?

Black Fell Farm, Saddleworth Moor: No one has visited Ronald’s farm in decades. But, when a young couple start acting suspiciously on his land, and a mysterious visitor arrives on his doorstep, Ronald feels instantly threatened. He doesn’t want any unwanted attention directed towards his farm.

For on the wild and desolate moorland, Ronald has buried his own dark crime for years. And if his secret is ever exposed, it will be more than just his life at stake....

©2022 Rebecca Griffiths (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Hidden Child

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nellie Williams
  • Nellie Williams
  • 03-20-22

She’s done it again

Wow. The chilling true story of The Moors Murderers alongside a story so linked it could be true. Amazing book really brought to life by the amazing narration.

I have nothing negative to say but I’ll share some advice, probably not best to listen to towards the end whilst trying to get to sleep or you’ll be awakened by the enormity of what might happens.

Another brilliant book by RG. Well done.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Terry Clasper
  • Terry Clasper
  • 06-05-22

A rare and Riveting tapestry of fact and fiction and excellent narrators make this book a must read.

Fact and fiction merge to create a fabulous story. Excellent dual narration woven together to give the characters a depth of personality rarely found in books. Absolutely riveting a “must read” book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reader
  • Reader
  • 03-18-22

Gripping and thrilling, based on true crime

Loved it! Something quite unique to mix fact and fiction. Brought to life by two brilliant readers. Hugely entertaining and highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gadgetboy1
  • Gadgetboy1
  • 06-17-22

Disappointing End

I thoroughly enjoyed this book with the 2 stories running alongside each other. An abrupt and poor ending stopped it having a top mark score. Excellent narration.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gillian
  • Gillian
  • 04-23-22

Very disappointing book.

I felt this book was written in a style more suited to children, had it not been for the content. It was far too simple and predictable throughout. I ended up skipping a few chapters due to boredom but the last two were ridiculous, just giving a summary of the previous three years. I won't be listening to any more books by this author.
The narration was good, not their fault that the content was poor.