The Helpline

A Novel
Narrated by: Jane U’Brien
Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
3 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An eccentric woman who is great with numbers - but not so great with people - realizes it’s up to her to pull a community together in this charming, big-hearted debut perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Rosie Project.

Germaine Johnson doesn’t need friends. She has her work and her Sudoku puzzles. Until, that is, an incident at her insurance company leaves her jobless - and it turns out that there are very few openings these days for senior mathematicians with zero people skills.

Soon enough though, Germaine manages to secure a position at city hall answering calls on the senior citizens helpline. But it turns out that the mayor has something else in mind for Germaine: a secret project involving the troublemakers at the senior citizens center and their feud with the neighboring golf club - which happens to be run by the dashing yet disgraced national Sudoku champion, Don Thomas, a celebrity of the highest order to Germaine.

Don and the mayor want the senior center closed down, and at first, Germaine is dedicated to helping them out - it makes sense mathematically, after all. But when Germaine actually gets to know the group of elderly rebels at the senior center, they open her eyes to a life outside of boxes and numbers, and for the first time ever, Germaine realizes she may have miscalculated.

Filled with an eccentric, totally unique, and (occasionally) cranky cast of characters you can’t help but love, The Helpline is a feel-good pause-resister that will make you reexamine what it means to lead a happy life - and is bound to capture your heart along the way.

©2019 Katherine Collette (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read but don’t do audiobook

Story of a quirky woman who sees the world through a mathematical lenses and who grows on you as you read. Do not do the audiobook and the reader uses a soft voice for the main character, if you adjust the volume to hear her the other characters blast you away, adjust to others and you can’t hear the main character.