Your audiobook is waiting…

The Girls from the Local

Narrated by: Helen Lloyd
Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
Categories: Romance, Contemporary

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Gosport, Hampshire, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids.

A heartwarming saga for fans of Sheila Newberry and Daisy Styles.

Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb. She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France.

The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie. This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe.

Finally there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children.

The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.

©2017 Rosie Archer (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mrs a j harding
  • mrs a j harding
  • 01-21-19

Exciting story

A very enjoyable listen full of excitement,drama,love and loss during the war.
I found the narrator spoke very fast and didn’t pause between each character story. It was very irritating and I needed to slow the speed to absorb the story. Recommended but disappointed with narrator

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Julie Maddison
  • Mrs Julie Maddison
  • 09-17-19

brilliant story

beautifully narrated. good believable story. characters seemed real. wish there was a follow up to this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Friday
  • Jan Friday
  • 02-17-19

Girls from th e Local

Rosie Archer writes books you can't put down !!! Looking forward to the next book