Regular price: $21.81

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late. 

Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a 60-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever....

Read her letter. Remember her story.... 

©2018 Emily Gunnis (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a best seller." (Lesley Pearse)

"I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you." (Sophie Kinsella) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating!

This book kept me interested the entire time, a figurative page turner for sure. The story is one that makes you happy to live in a society that is a little more forward than it once was and makes your heart ache for those that went through situations like these not so very long ago.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Stellar

The way this story brought you up and down and the rabbit hole was extraordinary. The ending? Perfect, couldn't have been better. Very well written, keeps your attention the entire time. Durring one of my favorite parts every single hair on my body rose. It was a feeling I had not gotten from a book in a long time. I really really really reccomend this book to anyone.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read

This started a little slow for me but picked up quickly and actually enjoyed the way the author went back-and-forth between the past and present

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT!

A demonstration of how far we have come in society in just a few short decades!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't stop listening

Great mind twister keeps you on the edge of your seat. Sucks you right in!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

the Catholic church has a lot to answer for

it's a decent read and it's probably based on truth but it was way too slow and depressing for me to complete

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J. F. Wrin
  • 09-09-18

Good story

All good but for the stupid phone call recordings, which are very difficult to hear without adjusting the volume (is is frequently not possible). Quite why we have to hear it like a 30s phone call I don’t know, but it is irritating.


The story is well plotted, the characters well formed and it has a ‘traditional’ end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs
  • 09-09-18

Loved it!!

Couldn't put this book down. I got a bit confused at the beginning and had to read the first couple of chapters again. When I understood all the characters I was hooked and really enjoyed the story and all the different characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ladyboots
  • 08-10-18

great listen

Good read gripping in places . scary two in parts Enjoyed very much but so sad

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cazza
  • 09-04-18

Confronting

I have never written a review before but felt compelled to after listening to the audio book .
It is one of the best books I have read and I have read hundreds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful