Your audiobook is waiting…

The Girl in the Letter

Narrated by: Jane McDowell
Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (352 ratings)

Regular price: $21.81

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late. 

Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a 60-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever....

Read her letter. Remember her story.... 

©2018 Emily Gunnis (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a best seller." (Lesley Pearse)

"I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you." (Sophie Kinsella) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great twists and turns!

The only reason I marked the performance less than a five, was the echo talk to represent phone conversation. It was harder to hear those parts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Awin
  • Montana
  • 02-03-19

Great story but smacking and swallowing constantly narration.

Loved the story but it became nails on a chalkboard listening to the constant smacking and loud swallowing from the narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CCL
  • Opalocka, Florida, United States
  • 01-13-19

The Girl in the Letter

Excellent. Listened in audio and could not put it down.

Looking forward to more books by the author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TammyR
  • Kyle, TX, United States
  • 01-11-19

Engrossing and Heartbreaking Story

Captivating, intricately woven story performed beautifully by Jane McDowell. I didn't want to quit listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

it took me a little while to figure this one out!

though I cannot say that this was my favorite book that I ever read or listen to, I did enjoy it. It took me some time to figure out where the story was heading and who the important players were. I really would have been disappointed if I had figured it out too early. The book had just enough mystery combined with just enough suspense and a little bit of family values.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great book! Can’t put it down.

If its not because or work, I would have finished this book in a day! Great story, narration is beautifully done, and the transition between eras and characters are wonderfully done, there isn’t a time I got lost in the switch of perspective and story! At first it was kinda slow, but once you’re reach chapter 3, you won’t want to put it down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping page Turner.

What a great story with lots of turns and twists. I was actually sad when it ended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book !

Suspenseful the whole time I couldn’t put it down I listened to it in 4 days !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Megan
  • algonquin, IL, United States
  • 03-21-19

WOW! A Must Read

I loved this book, and I did not want this one to end… I have always loved books with different timelines, and this was not a disappointment. I want more from this writer Emily Gunnis but, I can’t find any! Please, more from Emily!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Meh

This is one of those books that had a lot of potential, but it just didn’t reach its potential. The writing was... pretty meh. The author explains and over explains as if she assumes the reader just isn’t quite bright enough to catch on. The epilogue is basically and entireretelking of everything. You know, just in case you didn’t quite catch it. There are several pages devoted to explaining and over explaining and re-explaining things. Ugh. A better writer wouldn’t have needed to do this. The story was pretty obvioud early on and the lead character was really needy, selfish and annoying. The parts about her messed up relationship had nothing at all to do with anything.
It was fine. Nothing compared to Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes. Haha. I’m not even sure how that comparison happened. This story really just was not for me.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-17-18

A fairly good read...

... but as another reader said, there were so many characters that it was easy to lose track of who was who. I thought the idea was good though and the story revealed the harsh realities for many young pregnant girls in the 1950s and 60s.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-23-18

Narrated well

The story itself was ok but too many characters that I didn't form any investment with At times it was going too quickly yet the phone dialogue was authentic Fairly good overall

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-18-18

brilliant haunting powerful

The more we uncover the depths of dark deeds done by so called religious caring humans dedicated to Christ? the more we see how toxic religions can be.. its more like the complete inversion to what Christ stood for... The worst being those who should be trusted .. This might be termed fiction but we know it's true and now hundreds of priests and cardinals world wide arrested.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • susan
  • 11-13-18

Gripping Story

I found myself seething at the injustices and almost egging on the revengeful actions. Extremely hard to put down book
The story is so strong that it almost tells itself. An excellent read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J. F. Wrin
  • 09-09-18

Good story

All good but for the stupid phone call recordings, which are very difficult to hear without adjusting the volume (is is frequently not possible). Quite why we have to hear it like a 30s phone call I don’t know, but it is irritating.


The story is well plotted, the characters well formed and it has a ‘traditional’ end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs
  • 09-09-18

Loved it!!

Couldn't put this book down. I got a bit confused at the beginning and had to read the first couple of chapters again. When I understood all the characters I was hooked and really enjoyed the story and all the different characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ladyboots
  • 08-10-18

great listen

Good read gripping in places . scary two in parts Enjoyed very much but so sad

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D,E ARCHER
  • 03-15-19

Great book

I really enjoyed this book. The twists and turns keep you hooked till the very end. I recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mandy M.
  • 02-15-19

excellent

a story spanning 4 generations. keep a you gripped from the beginning. recommend as a very good read

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Mr. Ronald Barkess
  • 02-08-19

Too many characters

I stuck with this story to the end but it was such hard going. To be honest I didn’t have a clue who was who! So confusing and complicated. Disappointing.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cazza
  • 09-04-18

Confronting

I have never written a review before but felt compelled to after listening to the audio book .
It is one of the best books I have read and I have read hundreds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Pia Horan-Gross
  • 04-11-19

Bad nuns and poor unwed mothers

Unrelenting dark misery which some call spellbinding. It got me in for a while but in the end the cliches about bad nuns, complicit priests and poor helpless unwed pregnant girls simply became boring.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DebManning
  • 02-03-19

Fantastically True

I was a midwife in 70's this did happen, we had an unmarried mother's home near us . The stories I could tell you. The only difference was they had their babies in the hospital but they were made to sign their babies away by the church and government. We had 24 babies up for adoption at one time. the other cruelty was they kept all those young girls in with mother's that were keeping their babies . A well written and researchef book .I loved it