Regular price: $21.81

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late. 

Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a 60-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever....

Read her letter. Remember her story.... 

©2018 Emily Gunnis (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a best seller." (Lesley Pearse)

"I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you." (Sophie Kinsella) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

too hard to follow

Too hard to follow. I did not finish it. I did not enjoy this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING

The absolute best book I have ever read!!! heart wrenching, tear jerking, emotional thriller ever!! this will have you on your seat, you will not be able to put it down!! you will not be sorry either!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

entertaining

I suppose it was entertaining but I actually wanted it to end and then didnt like the way the author ended it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't put it down

I couldn't put it down. I had to find out what happened at St. Margaret's.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The Book is Good But Hard To Follow

I listen to hundreds of audible books a year. This is the first I have done a review on. The story overall is good. However, this is a story that you do not listen to while doing housework. I found myself constantly going back and relistening to the story. This book is a bit hard to follow with many characters. The story jumps back and forth in time with the different characters. I didn’t fully understand the story until the epilogue which summarized the book. I am not sure it was worth the total length of time it took to complete; but, I can see where some people that give the book their full attention would enjoy it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story!!!

Riveting and such great story telling. Audio narrative was very good as well. Would highly recommend reading it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating!

This book kept me interested the entire time, a figurative page turner for sure. The story is one that makes you happy to live in a society that is a little more forward than it once was and makes your heart ache for those that went through situations like these not so very long ago.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Stellar

The way this story brought you up and down and the rabbit hole was extraordinary. The ending? Perfect, couldn't have been better. Very well written, keeps your attention the entire time. Durring one of my favorite parts every single hair on my body rose. It was a feeling I had not gotten from a book in a long time. I really really really reccomend this book to anyone.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read

This started a little slow for me but picked up quickly and actually enjoyed the way the author went back-and-forth between the past and present

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT!

A demonstration of how far we have come in society in just a few short decades!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Christine
  • 11-23-18

Narrated well

The story itself was ok but too many characters that I didn't form any investment with At times it was going too quickly yet the phone dialogue was authentic Fairly good overall

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-18-18

brilliant haunting powerful

The more we uncover the depths of dark deeds done by so called religious caring humans dedicated to Christ? the more we see how toxic religions can be.. its more like the complete inversion to what Christ stood for... The worst being those who should be trusted .. This might be termed fiction but we know it's true and now hundreds of priests and cardinals world wide arrested.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • susan
  • 11-13-18

Gripping Story

I found myself seething at the injustices and almost egging on the revengeful actions. Extremely hard to put down book
The story is so strong that it almost tells itself. An excellent read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J. F. Wrin
  • 09-09-18

Good story

All good but for the stupid phone call recordings, which are very difficult to hear without adjusting the volume (is is frequently not possible). Quite why we have to hear it like a 30s phone call I don’t know, but it is irritating.


The story is well plotted, the characters well formed and it has a ‘traditional’ end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs
  • 09-09-18

Loved it!!

Couldn't put this book down. I got a bit confused at the beginning and had to read the first couple of chapters again. When I understood all the characters I was hooked and really enjoyed the story and all the different characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ladyboots
  • 08-10-18

great listen

Good read gripping in places . scary two in parts Enjoyed very much but so sad

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cazza
  • 09-04-18

Confronting

I have never written a review before but felt compelled to after listening to the audio book .
It is one of the best books I have read and I have read hundreds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful