The Girl Across the Street

Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 9 hrs and 2 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (54 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You’re hiding a secret that only she can see.

Her name is Beth. She came into my life when I needed her the most. We lead very different lives, but she’s the only person who understands me. 

She was the only other witness to the terrible accident on the street between our homes - the only person who saw the cracks in my perfect life before I had the chance to cover them up.

It’s been so long since I’ve had a friend...someone to talk to, to listen to, to laugh and dream with. 

Beth would never do anything to hurt me. She only wants what’s best for me, for my marriage. Doesn’t she?

A pause-resisting psychological suspense thriller. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and The Couple Next Door.

©2019 Vikki Patis (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Girl Across the Street

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

all over the place

This book seems like it should be enthralling but rather, it is all over the place. Efforts to create character depth by weaving parallel stories from the past are very weak and irrelevant and more so than not, confusing. I tried to make sense of some very specific details or details that were repeated but it almost always came out to nothing, or again, just irrelevant. There was a lot of potential but the execution and organization were weak.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Neither psychological nor a thriller

You won’t quite know everything in the first few pages, but you’ll have a pretty good idea. This is a story in which nothing happens besides the opening and ending. There is zero suspense. Forgettable at best. Stay away

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Nothing about this book feels like “suspense” to me. The narrator was fine, but the book was dull. The people’s reasons for doing the thingsthey do don’t really make sense. The “big reveal” was pretty pitiful and pretty obvious. It was pretty clear what was going on almost from the very beginning. I just really cannot recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

Very well written and kept you guessing! Looking forward to more books by the author.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Why no self defense? :: Possible Spoiler::

I'm a bit tired of reading books set in the UK where someone defends themselves or a loved one and still go to prison. I'm giving this book only 3 stars even though it was very engaging entertaining because either the author didn't research the legal part or I'm just plain mad at the entire system if it's true. Abd please can wet have a strong woman who actually defend herself gets away and leads a happy life?

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clare McBride
  • Clare McBride
  • 06-01-19

Intense.

This was such a great book. I loved it from the very start. If you liked “Behind Closed Doors” “Gone Girl” etc then you’ll really like this book. Such a great read. Kept me on edge with a few twists along the way. Very good book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr SM McGann
  • Mr SM McGann
  • 03-25-19

Better ending needed!

Not bad, but a better ending was needed! Would have liked a better ending and should have had at least another chapter finishing the story off!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-22-19

Too much irrelevant information.

Really enjoyed the storyline with it's unexpected twists but distracted by the irrelevant chunks about what to eat for dinner, where to go for a day out etc that had no bearing on the plot. Also found the Epilogue a bit of an anticlimax.