adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Just because you feel ordinary doesn’t mean you aren’t extraordinary to someone else. 

Sixty-two-year-old Elsie knows what she likes. Custard creams at four o’clock, jigsaw puzzles with a thousand pieces, her ivy-covered, lavender-scented garden. 

Ten-year-old Billy would rather spend his Saturdays kicking a ball, or watching TV, or anything really, other than being babysat by his grumpy neighbour Elsie and being force-fed custard creams. 

If it was up to them, they’d have nothing to do with each other. Unfortunately, you can’t choose who you live next door to. 

But there is always more to people than meets the eye….

Elsie doesn’t know that Billy’s afraid to go to school now, or why his mother woke him up in the middle of the night with an urgent shake, bags already packed, ready to flee their home. 

Billy doesn’t know that the rusting red tin he finds buried in Elsie’s treasured garden is a ticking time bomb waiting to explode her carefully organised life. And that when he digs it up, he is unearthing a secret that has lain dormant for 28 years….

This moving tale is for anyone who has ever felt the pang of loneliness, or worried that their broken heart might never be the same again. Fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, The Keeper of Lost Things and The Library of Lost and Found will fall head over heels for this life-affirming novel that shows us that if you’re willing to take a risk, happiness is only ever a heartbeat away. 

©2020 Ruby Hummingbird (P)2020 Bookouture

Critic Reviews

"I absolutely loved this…. I couldn’t put it down, grabbing every opportunity to continue…. Heart-wrenchingly sad but also one of the most uplifting and heartwarming books.… It had me crying (and I mean big heaving sobs!!)…. I finished this book last night, and yet here I am 24 hours later still thinking about it!…. Fabulous, amazing, wonderful!!" (Stardust Book Reviews) 

"What a wonderful story this is…. Really touched my heart and brought tears to my eyes…. A real feel-good-factor read that made me glow inside.… A super book. Couldn't have asked for more from this lovely story." (Books from Dusk Till Dawn)  

"What a beautiful book!.… Managed to make me cry with emotion without depressing me at all, then lifted me up with hope and happiness…. I was glad I was all on my own reading this as it made me cry on more than one occasion." (Sandie’s Book Shelves)

What listeners say about The Garden of Lost Memories

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-28-20

Thoroughly Satisfying

What a wonderful. heart warming story in which each character learns the power of love. The narration, finely delivered by Naomi Frederick,enables the listener to feel the pain and difficulties experienced by the individual. The final denouement leaves one feeling thoroughly satisfied.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-13-20

Well worth a read

Not necessarily what I normally read but this book with its touching story of friendship is beautiful and I would recommend it. I expect most men wouldn't try but they'd be surprised at a good story. I enjoyed the way the chapters were arranged into the people's lives and thoughts. Go on give it a try I'm sure you will love it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-05-21

Uplifting

Sympathetic, beautiful, sad it had to end, gripping tramatic journey for Billy. story ended happily