Sample
  • The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library, Book 1

  • By: Django Wexler
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Morris
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (204 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library, Book 1  By  cover art

The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library, Book 1

By: Django Wexler
Narrated by: Cassandra Morris
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.70

Buy for $20.70

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Ink heart, and The Books of Elsewhere.

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That - along with everything else - changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon - an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

©2014 Django Wexler (P)2015 Listening Library

Critic reviews

"Vaguely reminiscent of Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland, and Inkheart all rolled into one, it’s good fun.... Working in the grand tradition of children’s fantasy, Wexler’s off to a promising start." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Wexler ingeniously creates an inventive world with interesting creatures and frightening situations." (School Library Journal)

"Fans of Harry Potter and Cornelia Funke's Inkheart (2003) will relish that the library houses magical books.... It's a joy to watch the dutiful Alice develop her innate curiosity and become a proactive, resourceful heroine, matching wits with snarky cats, dangerous beasts, and a certain smug boy. This is a charming, adventuresome fantasy from a promising new author." (Booklist)