Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.70

Buy for $15.70

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What has happened to Cornelia Blackwood?

She has a loving marriage.

But she has no friends.

Everyone knows her name.

But no one will speak it.

Why?

Cornelia Blackwood is about to do something very wrong, for reasons she believes to be right.

A paperback best seller with her debut novel, The Things We Never Said, and nominated for an RNA Award in 2014, Susan Elliot Wright’s novels are perfect for fans of Maggie O’Farrell and Anne Tyler.

©2019 Susan Elliot Wright (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic Reviews

"Darkly compelling and richly plotted, this story of motherhood and secrets handles a difficult subject with skill and sensitivity." (Catherine Isaac, author of You Me Everything)

"A powerful, compelling and emotional rollercoaster of a novel." (Hannah Richell, author of The Peacock Summer)

"Dark and compelling, a slow-motion collapse; I read it in 24 hours with my heart in my mouth. So good!" (Julie Cohen, author of Together)

What listeners say about The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jenny wren
  • jenny wren
  • 08-02-20

Brilliant, but sad.

If you have ever lost a child, this would be upsetting; here are very graphic descriptions of this. However, although the book deals with themes of loss and death, and it is most definitely a tragedy, it is an excellent and absorbing listen. There's no sentiment, just an honest exploration of the way loss affects the main character, the Cornelia Blackwood of the title. Characters are not bad or good, but shades of grey, and there is much that's optimistic in the story, even though the end feels like there was no other alternative. Great depth, and suspense, but nothing gratuitous. Quite a triumph.