Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Final Six  By  cover art

The Final Six

By: Alexandra Monir
Narrated by: Alexandra Monir,James Fouhey
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $22.49

Buy for $22.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel - already optioned by Sony Pictures - will take listeners out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter's moon. This is the next must-listen for fans of Illuminae and The Martian.

When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with 22 of the world's brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa - Jupiter's moon - and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders.

For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts on board. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa's surface.

In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo's relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter.

But it's only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.

©2018 Alexandra Monir (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Final Six

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ugh. Another teen romance masquerade

Why do so many authors dream up these scenarios where teens are our most important resource? the majority of teens I grew up with were stupid, self important, loud mouths who more interested in surviving the mundane pageantry that all high schooler are unwillingly subjected to. (And I went to a magnet high school)

I'm certain there are exceptions to the rule, but that's irrelevant when conjuring up the weak plot of making teens the only ones physically capable of surviving the interplanetary trip.

this makes the book all the more disappointing as the premise is truly engaging. When the aspects of science fiction took center stage, I found myself deeply engaged and could easily suspend my disbelief.

so imagine my frustration when I kept getting dragged out of it by the nauseating romeo and juliet, star crossed, teen romance that felt more shoehorned in to pander to an audience rather than develope on a more natural pace. (not to mention, but the ending felt like a bit of a lame cheat.)

It's no doubt smarter than the other churned-out trash turned cash cows, milked dry by Hollywood and nearly on par with Hunger Games which is one of the few YA titles I can tolerate. And if you're into that sort of story then this is the book for you, but if you were interesting in and riveting sci-fi title with what was supposed to have a strong female lead, then I'm afraid you'll be just as disappointed as our Male protagonist when he *Spoilers*
finds out he didn't make the cut.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great YA novel!!!!

This was an incredible YA novel that Sony has already bought the movie rights for, and it should make for an excellent trilogy of movies if this first book is any judge of it.

Earth is slowly being destroyed due to humanities actions, and the worlds leaders have put together a team to colonize Jupiter's moon Europa, as scientists have determined this to be the best possible new home for humanity to start over.

24 of the most talented and intelligent teens from all over the world are selected to compete for the 6 slots for this mission, but there turns out to be much more to this competition for both these teenagers and for the mission as a whole!

A solid 4.5 out of 5 star read, and I'll be starting the second book just last week!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I thought I would like this, but….

It was more like listening to a cold reading - very flat narration - not much believable emotion.
As for the story, I got the feeling that it was written by a high schooler, with a few “technical” words thrown in to make it sound as if the author was space-tech-savvy. Nothing to see here. Move on. Move on.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad, not something to write home about..

I liked it. I didn’t love it. The storyline is rather predictable, but one that I still enjoy listening to none the less. I’m buying the second as it got much better toward the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I've never loved a book this much!

I couldn't stop reading! The story was perfect! I didn't expect any of the plot twists. I loved all the characters and felt every emotion they did. This story is a work of art and I cried when I finished it. The voices given to each character were flawless. I don't know if there's a sequel but there should be. I'll be waiting for one, Alexandra Monir. In conclusion, everyone should read this fantastic book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

although this was a YA book I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for the sequel!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The transition between pov's was incredible

the story and the loops that I never expected... solid 100/10, definitely my favorite book so far

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truely wonderful story

This book kept me interested between another book and its sequel. That being said I had to make it through the sequel of it too. I would recommend this book to everyone with a passion for suspense.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but not what I had hoped for

This may not be fair as I am not the target audience. There were numerous technical leaps that are impractical to say the least. Still, the story was enjoyable. I may read the next one just to see what happens.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good YA Story

It may be for young adults, but I enjoyed it as a not-so-young adult. It’s a nicely-paced, enjoyable story. It cuts off abruptly so I will be listening to the sequel.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!