Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“[A] rollicking new historical thriller…taut, made-for-movie-theater tension and delicious, snickering-from-the-back-row wit.” (New York Times Book Review)

In this first novel of the exhilarating Agents of the Crown series, a man who will become the original MI6 agent protects England and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth I from Spain’s nefarious plan to crush the Age of the Enlightenment.

After centuries locked in an endless cycle of poverty, persecution, and barbarity, Europe has finally emerged into the Age of Enlightenment. Scientists, philosophers, scholars, and poets alike believe this to be a new era of reason and hope for all. But the forces of darkness haven’t completely dissipated, as Spain hunts and butchers any who dare to defy its ironclad Catholic orthodoxy. 

Only one nation can fight the black shadow that threatens this new age, and that is Britain, now ruled by a brilliant young Queen Elizabeth I. But although she may be brave and headstrong, Elizabeth knows she cannot win this war simply by force of arms. After her armies have been slashed in half, her treasury is on its knees. Elizabeth needs a new kind of weapon forged to fight a new kind of war, in which stealth and secrecy, not bloodshed, are the means. 

In this tense situation, Her Majesty’s Secret Service is born with the charismatic John Dee at its head. A scholar, a soldier, and an alchemist, Dee is loyal only to the truth and to his Queen. And for her, the woman he’s forbidden from loving, he is prepared to risk his life 

A visceral and heart-pumping historical thriller, The Eyes of the Queen is perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.

©2020 Leopoldo & Co. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about The Eyes of the Queen

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Salacious take on Mary of Scotland in captivity

Overall, this book is a disappointment. If you care about historical accuracy, don't bother with its far-fetched and somewhat incoherent version of conspiracies during the reign of Elizabeth 1. Likewise, the characters have little resemblance to the historical persons they are inspired by. Real events are rendered unbelievable. The worst (or most repugnant) feature of the book is the vicious, prurient caricature of Mary Queen of Scots as a captive of Elizabeth. There's so much real human drama during this period, perfect material for fictional reconstruction- what a shame this book made such a botch of it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

story a little slow, awesome narrator

storyline a little slow for me. love the narrator. will try another selection from the author tho

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane Shepherd
  • Jane Shepherd
  • 10-29-20

Wonderful start to the series

I can’t wait for the next novel in Oliver Clements’s Agents of the Crown series. This first novel was so good I listened to in one go apart from sleeping the night between starting and finishing this excellent novel. Being interested in history from an early age I obviously knew of all the main characters and had been particularly interested in Walsingham and Dee. It was fascinating in its historical details and I laughed out loud at the last couple of minutes of this enchanting story. I can’t say more as I wouldn’t wish to spoil it for anyone but it was foretold earlier in the book. Well written and a marvellous beginning to what I’m sure will prove a very interesting and involving series. Fans of Mary Queen of Scots might be upset by Mr Clements but I admit I just want to know if her predilections as described in this novel have foundation in fact! Definitely a new side to her I’d never imagined! My only quibble is with the narrator who horribly mispronounced some words but apart from that Matthew Lloyd Davies has a very pleasant voice and I enjoyed listening to him. I only hope I shan’t have to wait long for the next Spymaster novel.