Your audiobook is waiting…

The Crown of Embers

Fire and Thorns, Book 2
Narrated by: Jennifer Ikeda
Series: Fire and Thorns, Book 2
Length: 11 hrs and 37 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (862 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

“Carson joins the ranks of writers like Kristin Cashore, Megan Whalen Turner, and Tamora Pierce as one of YA’s best writers of high fantasy.” (Locus Magazine) 

The second book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times best-selling trilogy! Betrayal, love, and untold power fuel the heroic adventure of a 17-year-old princess turned warrior-queen. Fans of Kendare Blake and Sarah J. Maas will be riveted. 

She does not know what awaits her at the enemy's gate. 

Elisa led her people to victory over a terrifying, sorcerous army. Her place as queen should be secure. But it isn’t. Her enemies come at her like ghosts in a dream, from foreign realms and even from within her own court. And her destiny as the chosen one remains uncertain. 

To conquer the power she bears, Elisa must journey from the hidden catacombs beneath her own city to treacherous seas and a long-forgotten island. With her go a one-eyed spy, a traitor, and the man with whom - despite everything - she is falling in love. If she’s lucky, she’ll return. But there will be a cost.

Don’t miss Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns, coming in 2020!

©2012 Rae Carson (P)2012 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    590
  • 4 Stars
    220
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    620
  • 4 Stars
    140
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    537
  • 4 Stars
    208
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • GRAND BLANC, MI, United States
  • 07-26-13

I can't wait for the third book!

Review originally posted at YA Love

Audiobook Review: I read The Girl of Fire and Thorns traditionally and absolutely loved it. Besides enjoying the narrator, the main reason I decided to listen to The Crown of Embers is because I don’t always like reading books in the middle of a series during the school year; most times I’d rather read a stand alone or the beginning of a series. I often save series continuations or endings for the summer when I feel like I have more freedom to read what I want, when I want. Anyway, I very much enjoyed Jennifer Ikeda as a narrator for this story. I honestly don’t know if I’ll read the third book traditionally or as an audio now that I’ve experienced both. What I liked most about listening to The Crown of Embers is being able to hear the correct pronunciations of names and places. I never knew how to pronounce Ximena while I was reading the first book, and of course, I was pronouncing it wrong. Jennifer Ikeda does a nice job bringing a different voice to each character and really bringing Elisa’s character to life.

Book Review: I love this series. Rae Carson is such a talented fantasy author. I can’t wait to read book three, but I’m even more excited to see what other worlds and stories she’ll write in the future. I love her use of imagery and pacing. Picturing the setting comes easily as does imagining the characters.

I can’t write this review without bringing up the relationship between Elisa and Hector. It’s such a strong friendship in the beginning and now it’s blossoming into something more. Even when Elisa was in love with Humberto, I was hoping she would recognize Hector as more than a guard. Their relationship might be a new favorite YA romance for me. Hector is so honorable and strong and Elisa is finally beginning to gain some self-confidence and strength. They’re a great match.

The Crown of Embers is a bit slower than The Girl of Fire and Thorns, but I think that’s because so much more of the story is building. Elisa is maturing and really finding herself as a carrier of the Godstone and also as a queen. We’re also learning more about the Godstone and we’re learning more about the realm. I’m excited to see where all of this build-up is going to take us in book three, especially with an ending like we have in this book! The ending is bittersweet, but it also left me feeling proud of Elisa.

Overall, I can’t recommend this series enough. I included The Girl of Fire and Thorns as a fantasy option in my YA II class and the majority of my students who chose it loved it. Many of them went on to read The Crown of Embers because they loved Elisa and her story so much.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A phenomenal fantasy!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I've recommended it to multiple friends!

Who was your favorite character and why?

The little prince. But he's not in this one much.

Any additional comments?

Yep! Rae Carson did it again! She’s written another phenomenal book in her Fire and Thorns trilogy. I can’t say that The Crown of Embers was better than The Girl of Fire and Thorns because TGoFaT first introduced me to this fascinating fantasy world Rae Carson created with all of its exciting and crazy things, but there were some things about TCoE that I did like better than TGoFaT.

First of all, the ending to The Crown of Embers sucks! Hardcore!!! But at the same time, there is something else entirely that Elisa does in the end that totally rocks! What an ending!

I feel like this is going to be a really short review because I think pretty much anything I’d say would be a spoiler. One of the things I especially loved about this book was trying to discover who Elisa can trust and who she couldn’t. There were also some really hard decisions that Elisa had to make in this book, decisions that both horrified me and delighted me. There is one particular decision that Elisa makes that totally horrified me, but I was even more shocked that the other characters around her were actually supportive of her decision…like she made the right one! But then I found this other really tough, pressing decision Elisa has to make quite funny…even though it’s completely obvious (at least to me!) what particular decision Elisa just needs to make, without question!

Do I sound like I’m talking in riddles? This is the only way I feel like I can express my thoughts while doing my best to refrain from revealing spoilers.

I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get to read more about the little prince in this book because he is one of my favorite characters in this series. But we do get some more of Hector in this book and I’m swooning hardcore!

The end has a pretty SUCKY, awesome cliffhanger but I wasn’t very surprised. And I just know that the last book in Rae’s Fire and Thorns trilogy The Bitter Kingdom will be fabulous because TCoE ended in a way that the last book in the series can only be amazing! TCoE is a book I’m for sure going to be pimping to everyone.

OH! And BTW…I listened to both The Girl of Fire and Thorns and The Crown of Embers on audio, and the audios are fabulous! I’ve already recommended them to a few friends and they also loved the audios too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Smart and brave

loved it. great second book enough action and romance. it is awesome. a must read

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series!!!!!

I needed to go to sleep at least 2 hours ago by this book! Next please!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't stop listening!!!

Rae Carson has done an amazing job with this series. It leaves you wanting more and and dying to start the next book. On to book number three!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved the book

Good book. The storyline held my interest. Cared about all the characters. I would recommend this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read

The story is well written and I have never had a book leave my stomach in so many knots. I could wait to hear what would happen next to Elisa! Jennifer Ikeda is an excellent narrator (as always) and really brings the characters to life. I can't wait to listen to the series again!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Clever queen, interesting characters

This is my 2nd time listening to this book. I've read the entire trilogy and like all of these books. Each has a good storyline. I appreciate how Elisa grows and matures. And she is always intelligent. I appreciate that she makes good decisions instead of being a ditzy girl.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it!!!

I like book two better than one for a change. I really enjoyed this. I can't wait to start book three!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic follow up to book 1

Any additional comments?

This was by far the best book of the series. I couldn't stop listening! The whole time I was dying to know what was going to happen next. It held me in suspense, gripped my heart and kept me wanting to hear more. Great story and narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful