Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $9.27

Buy for $9.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don’t miss the chilling new psychological thriller from A.L. Bird, author of The Good Mother and Don’t Say a Word, perfect for fans of C L Taylor, Sherryl Brown and Lisa Hall.

Letting go of your daughter for the first time isn’t easy....

After years of IVF, Kirsten White is a devoted mum to Harriet - and she can’t believe the time has come to send her little girl off to school. But Harriet has now turned five, and she can’t stay Kirsten’s baby forever. It might be hard, but it’s time to entrust her daughter’s care to her new teacher...the classroom is the one place she should be safe.

Miriam Robertson has been waiting for the perfect little girl to walk into her class. She’s very picky...but when Harriet walks in, Miriam knows: this is the child she’s been waiting for.

Harriet knows not to speak to strangers. But her lovely new teacher isn’t a stranger at all. In fact, she’s her new best friend. And you can always trust your friends...can’t you?

©2018 A. L. Bird (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for A.L. Bird: "A fast-paced, gripping thriller." (B A Paris, best-selling author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown)

"Intense and brilliantly uncomfortable reading." (Lisa Hall, best-selling author of Between You and Me)

What listeners say about The Classroom

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carla
  • Carla
  • 11-27-18

A gripping atoryline from start to finish....

This book is amazing, well written and also quite different to the books ive previously listened to regarding child abduction etc... I thoroughly enjoyed it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Genevieve Lilith Pandora Moon
  • Genevieve Lilith Pandora Moon
  • 04-21-19

hmm... good story but also bad... rubbish ending!

I really enjoyed it but then it became predictable and irritating, the performance was excellent and I feel like their definitely will be a sequel as the ending wasn't really an ending. the end of the book was the biggest let down. overall mixed feelings it was good but also no good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gemma larsen
  • Gemma larsen
  • 12-02-18

Recommended

Definitely one of the best books I've heard on audible. Good enough to get me to write my first review of over 100 books in my library. Just wanted to let the author/producer know that the narrator, although perfect for the job, did mis-pronounce "awry" as "OR-ee" but that's hardly important and easily corrected. Thank you for a great read

1 person found this helpful