adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

FBI agent Kate O’Hare and charming criminal Nick Fox race against time to uncover a buried train filled with Nazi gold in this thrilling adventure in the “romantic and gripping” (Good Housekeeping) Fox and O’Hare series from the number-one New York Times best-selling author Janet Evanovich.

Straight as an arrow special agent Kate O’Hare and international criminal Nick Fox have brought down some of the biggest bad guys out there. But now they face their most dangerous foe yet - a vast, shadowy international organization known only as the Brotherhood.

Directly descended from the Vatican Bank priests who served Hitler during World War II, the Brotherhood is on a frantic search for a lost train loaded with $30 billion in Nazi gold, untouched for over 75 years somewhere in the mountains of Eastern Europe.

Kate and Nick know that there is only one man who can find the fortune and bring down the Brotherhood - the same man who taught Nick everything he knows - his father, Quentin. As the stakes get higher, they must also rely on Kate’s own father, Jake, who shares his daughter’s grit and stubbornness. Too bad they can never agree on anything.

From a remote monastery in the Swiss Alps to the lawless desert of the Western Sahara, Kate, Nick, and the two men who made them who they are today must crisscross the world in a desperate scramble to stop their deadliest foe in the biggest adventure of their lives.

©2021 The Gus Group, LLC. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about The Bounty

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    409
  • 4 Stars
    101
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    443
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    378
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Action packed and so much fun!

Y’all know I love Stephanie Plum. She’s my girl and Ranger is my man.. but I also love The Fox and O’Hare series! Nick Fox was an international thief who got caught by FBI agent Kate O’Hare. Instead of prison, Fox works with Kate to bring down other criminals. Who better to catch a thief than a thief?

In this book we are dealing with much more than someone stealing jewels from the Vatican... we are dealing with a secret organization called the Brotherhood. There is 30 billion dollars of lost gold at stake. Can Fox and O’Hare find the missing treasure map pieces before the Brotherhood does?

Ok listen, I’ll be honest, this story is kind of out there but I still loved it. It was such a fun addition to the series. I love Nick and Kate and their dynamic so much. I think they work so well together and their banter is perfection! I also really love all the side characters. Everyone that helps with their elaborate plans are all so much fun.

If you enjoy heist books with quirky characters, then pick this series up!

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The worst installment of the series

I really really wanted to like this more because I’m a huge fan of the series but this one just didn’t live up to its predecessors. After reading the Big Kahuna and now this installment, its clear that without Lee Goldberg, this series should be retired.
Regarding this book, one glaring departure from the formula is the omission of the awesome crew of Boyd, Wilma, etc. There were so many great character-specific dialogues and exchanges from this crew that really served as a bridge between Nick and Kate. Leaving them out is a huge mistake. And while it was interesting to have Nick’s dad added to the story, the authors did absolutely nothing with that twist. I was stunned by how little this was leveraged into the story and dialogue. And then there’s the story itself ... its just way too complicated and out there. Maybe they were writing specifically for a movie where all of the pieces of the puzzle would translate into vivid cinematography but for us book readers, it held no substance. And finally, the chemistry between Nick and Kate. Well, its non-existent. And when there were moments of intimate dialogue between them, it seemed forced. So, unless Lee Goldberg helps write the next one, I’m sad to say that this is the last one I will read.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Moved away from original plot line - character changes

This book has moved the series from a few unbelievable moments, with many make you smile or laugh moments, to a full blown action film with a lot of unbelievable narrow escapes and no humor.

Almost all of the characters have had personality revamps. Most notably Nick. He’s gone from a lovable, con artist to a FBI agent who no longer needs to talk his way out of trouble. Instead uses explosives - this was Jake’s expertise.

I’ve always enjoyed these stories because they were light and fun. The characters were likable and each had their own specialty. Together they made a great team.

However this book is more like a cross of Mission Impossible and the Da Vinci code. With old and new characters falling flat.

Very Disappointing.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t Bother

This used to be my favorite series until Lee Goldberg stopped writing them. The big kahuna was a disaster but I thought I would give it one more chance. This wasn’t horrible it just lacked everything that made the series interesting. Nothing fun and clever. The characters have lost their charm and intelligence. I won’t give away details but my advice is not to bother. This is the last fox and oh are I am reading.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lee Goldberg

The series NEEDS Lee Goldberg back! The Ocean's 11 feel is gone and it's what made the books amazing.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Action Packed Thriller

Prepare yourself - once you start this book, it’s going to be hard to stop! Evanovich and Hamilton are on point with the standard Fox and O’Hare characters as well as a few, new, instantly lovable (or hateable) characters thrown in. While the trademark humor is sprinkled throughout, this is a more serious journey. It’s incredible, and for fans of Fox and O’Hare, definitely a winner!! A fantastic novel! Cant wait for the next installment!!
As always, Scott Brick’s narration is incredible!! He truly brings the characters to life!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A Departure From Previous Books

It was clear one of the authors had changed from early in the book. Kate has been relegated to a supporting character. Nick has lost his devilish charisma and is portrayed as a straight man and their relationship is flat and as if they don’t have a complex past.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Wish I had liked it

I'm a huge fan of the series, but just like the last book this story is missing an interesting con. I liked the introduction of Nick's father but the story felt forced, lots of unnecessary stops along the way in this not so entertaining treasure hunt story. Still love the characters but I wish the story was more captivating.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as stellar as I’d hoped

I’m a huge fan of the Fox & O’Hare series and was eagerly anticipating this next installment. I was a little disappointed. The story seemed rushed, with so many thing happening in succession. And the usual banter & chemistry between Nick & Kate was definitely lacking. It was like it tried to incorporate too many destinations and activities and the scenes felt incomplete. Still a fan but hoping for something more thought out & developed next time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but... not wonderful

I love this series. However this book was lacking the fun time I normally have with the Fox and O’hare series. Don’t get me wrong I certainly enjoyed it. It just lacks in the characters I have come to love. Jake is my favorite but this time he was mostly off to the side. Fox didn’t do anything close to a con factor. I am beginning to think Janet Evanovich is tired of writing because the 27th installment of Stephanie Plumb was very boring to me. I wonder if the fabulous Evanovich is primarily using “ghost writers”

1 person found this helpful