adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $33.08

Buy for $33.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“I love this series to pieces and so should you.” (Marie Lu, best-selling author of Warcross)

The third book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times best-selling trilogy!

In the deeply satisfying conclusion, 17-year-old sorcerer-queen Elisa travels into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Brandon Sanderson.

The champion must not waver. The champion must not fear. The gate of darkness closes. 

Elisa is a fugitive. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves, and they await her at the gate of darkness. Her country is on the brink of civil war, her own soldiers ordered to kill her on sight. Elisa will lead her loyal companions deep into the enemy’s kingdom, a land of ice and snow and vicious magic, to rescue Hector and win back her throne. 

Her power grows with every step, and the shocking secrets she will uncover could change the course of history. 

Don’t miss Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns!  

©2013 Rae Carson (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Bitter Kingdom

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    581
  • 4 Stars
    223
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    570
  • 4 Stars
    160
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    531
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good series, but not awesome

The narration was phenomenal! The story was good, but not gripping or really exciting. it did have some good plot twists though.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good final book

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed this whole series, however, this book was a little slower and some parts dragged on a bit too long. I really thought the romance that began in the last book took so long to get established that the heat of it kind of fizzled by the time they could finally be together. All in all, though, it was still really good and kept me entertained the whole time. I did not like the 2 narrators for the last book, though. I felt like the parts from Hector's perspective were a little boring and his voice didn't really fit the part. It seemed unnecessary to add Hector's point of view for this book. I liked it better just from Elisa's point of view.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice Escape!

Predictable but sweet love story. I really loved the characters and was invested in whether they survived. Adventures weren’t thrilling, but kept me entertained enough to keep coming back. No gratuitous sex or language which was fabulous! Loved Jennifer Ikeda’s narration but Luis Moreno not so much. Would make a great TV series if Hollywood wouldn’t change the content.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series

The only thing I didn't enjoy, which may just be my personal preference is the male narrator for Hector. Honestly, I just dont care for his voice or the way he talks. it's not at all how I imagine Hector sounding. I think the female does a better job narrating his style.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The make reader is horrible

I like Jennifer Ikeda and have several titles shes read. However the new reader they added to the trilogy is horrible. He is very stiff in his reading conspired to Jennifer Ikeda. It ruined this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good...

I thoroughly enjoyed this series, very hard to put down. It was captivating from beginning to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Satisfying conclusion

Really anything you could want from trilogy. I almost always lose interest when stories are spread too thin over too many pages and installments, but this kept delivering. Truly I haven’t felt this content with a YA fantasy since Maggie Stiefvater. I think the arcs of faith and self-acceptance round out, despite the criticisms of the first book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

I love the book was a very finish to the story. I will reread it again soon

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great ending to a terrific story

This story was very well written. There was very little that was unpredictable. i often found myself talking to the main characters to try and nudge them to share their feelings or stop worrying. but i was not a big fan of the Male reader being introduced in the 3rd book. When he get a character in ur head, the voice, accents, the speed at which he thinks, it makes it harder to listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Again! Again!

The author has a gift for creating suspense! I could hardly stop and go to sleep each night. A thrilling series and a great conclusion. I’m sure I’ll have to listen to this one again!