Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $33.08

Buy for $33.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“I love this series to pieces and so should you.” (Marie Lu, best-selling author of Warcross)

The third book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times best-selling trilogy!

In the deeply satisfying conclusion, 17-year-old sorcerer-queen Elisa travels into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Brandon Sanderson.

The champion must not waver. The champion must not fear. The gate of darkness closes. 

Elisa is a fugitive. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves, and they await her at the gate of darkness. Her country is on the brink of civil war, her own soldiers ordered to kill her on sight. Elisa will lead her loyal companions deep into the enemy’s kingdom, a land of ice and snow and vicious magic, to rescue Hector and win back her throne. 

Her power grows with every step, and the shocking secrets she will uncover could change the course of history. 

Don’t miss Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns!  

©2013 Rae Carson (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Bitter Kingdom

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    574
  • 4 Stars
    218
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    565
  • 4 Stars
    154
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    523
  • 4 Stars
    189
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good series, but not awesome

The narration was phenomenal! The story was good, but not gripping or really exciting. it did have some good plot twists though.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good final book

Any additional comments?

I really enjoyed this whole series, however, this book was a little slower and some parts dragged on a bit too long. I really thought the romance that began in the last book took so long to get established that the heat of it kind of fizzled by the time they could finally be together. All in all, though, it was still really good and kept me entertained the whole time. I did not like the 2 narrators for the last book, though. I felt like the parts from Hector's perspective were a little boring and his voice didn't really fit the part. It seemed unnecessary to add Hector's point of view for this book. I liked it better just from Elisa's point of view.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good...

I thoroughly enjoyed this series, very hard to put down. It was captivating from beginning to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Satisfying conclusion

Really anything you could want from trilogy. I almost always lose interest when stories are spread too thin over too many pages and installments, but this kept delivering. Truly I haven’t felt this content with a YA fantasy since Maggie Stiefvater. I think the arcs of faith and self-acceptance round out, despite the criticisms of the first book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great read

I love the book was a very finish to the story. I will reread it again soon

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great ending to a terrific story

This story was very well written. There was very little that was unpredictable. i often found myself talking to the main characters to try and nudge them to share their feelings or stop worrying. but i was not a big fan of the Male reader being introduced in the 3rd book. When he get a character in ur head, the voice, accents, the speed at which he thinks, it makes it harder to listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Again! Again!

The author has a gift for creating suspense! I could hardly stop and go to sleep each night. A thrilling series and a great conclusion. I’m sure I’ll have to listen to this one again!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book in the series!!

Exciting plot, intelligent and articulate characters, and an excellent ending! Truly one of my favorites now.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Luis Moreno reads this like Fabio poses for covers

I search out audio books that Jennifer Ikeda narrates. Luis Moreno's narration is horrendous! He's all bluster and arrogance. The story and Jennifer Ikeda's performance are great.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Review of all Trilogy in this one review.

The quick review is this...This book of the trilogy ruined the whole story. In this audio version, for reasons completely beyond comprehension, they added a male voice only to portray Hector. Why?! Not on,y could this man not read well, his lack of talent is glaring when compared to Jennifer Kiera’s great talent. I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books, but then it seems the author lost interest but had to finish. The publisher or perhaps the author chose to add an unneeded and horrible male voice to further ruin the story. Then for reason only known to the author she chose o put in some of most silly events/actions by the lead overweight teenage virgin heroine to give a chance at escape from certain death and hero rescue. How utterly lame after two previous books having only the lack of a versatile vocabulary as their problems. Rae Carson chose to use the word ‘belly’ as the only reference to the god stone in her naval. Huh? No information about how or why these ‘humans’ were “dropped from the sky with their machines” mentioned many times. And although it’s not a serious negative in my opinion, but geez...how many times do we need to know the ingredients of a meal, or how hungry the formerly pampered, lazy, teenager is? In book two when she is having to eat next to nothing all the while using her body walking, climbing, running, etc. she only casually mentions how she has lost weight, but NOT a thing about her enormous breasts getting smaller. Then in this book, she back to being ‘large’ with huge boobs again as if she had only lost 5 pounds or something trivial like that. Seriously?!?! I get that it’s a fantasy, but IF it’s truly a fantasy, no one discusses much at all about body functions, hunger, or any other basic human things the add nothing to the plot, characters, or the world in which it’s set. I forced my way through this book just to have listened to it all. Positive note...at least she left out sex scenes, but all the whining and hesitation by her I can understand since she’s clueless, but Hector? What was HE uncertain of after she told him how she felt?? Fierce warrior, but total wimp when it comes to plump, big breasted teenager with a sone in her belly? I hope Ms. Carson’s real life is much more normal being married and living in Arizona. I’ll try the first book of another series she’s written. I’m returning all three of these since I’ll never listen to them again as much as live to hear Jennifer Ikeda’s voice. Got hooked on her reading from the The Discovery of Witches books which as been mutilated on TV so bad I stopped watching after the second episode.