Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.08

Buy for $13.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the USA Today best-selling author comes a gripping thriller about a divorce attorney who’s about to discover her own marriage is based on lies when she’s arrested for murder. 

Attorney Olivia Sinclair is shocked when she receives an anonymous video showing her husband Richard sleeping with someone else. After years of handling other people’s divorces, she thought she could recognise a marriage in trouble.

She angrily throws Richard out of the home they share. But days later she’s arrested - for the murder of his mistress.

Olivia knows she’s innocent but, with all the evidence pointing at her and an obvious motive, she must find the real killer to clear her name.

She may be used to dealing with messy divorces, but this one will be her most difficult case yet. Olivia’s husband has already betrayed her - but would he set her up for murder?

A gripping thriller for fans of Gillian McAllister, Alafair Burke and A Killer’s Wife. 

©2020 Terry Lynn Thomas (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Betrayal

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If u can get past the dull narration.

I am a fan of Terry Thomas and was looking forward to her next book.

From the description, the story immediately attracted me. I began the book with anticipation and settled in on a cold rainy day to listen. Immediately, I felt there were issues.

1. The narration. It’s dull and monotone. She tries to make inflections to go from male to female characters. I have to listen carefully to know who is speaking. But I am going to try to finish.

2. The story itself. 20 years ago I believe this story would be believable. However with professions able to track internet conversations to a specific computer, security monitors on properties, credit files, hidden cameras.... hard to believe movements could not have been monitored. I also found it hard to believe someone would be arrested on such a small amount of evidence. No one saw her at the cottage, her fingerprints were not found...the landlord could only identify by the bogus credit card.

Just very hard not to give up. It is extremely hard to listen to. I’m going to try to finish.

Don’t spend your money if you are a T. Thomas fan. Read the book instead.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

Decent story but no character development. Narrator’s pronunciation was annoying: egg, leggings, pregnant were ayg, layg-gings, prayg-many, etc.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I WANT MORE by this writer!

I bought this because I just listened to the narrator in another book and loved her voice. Now I HAVE to find more by this writer. I was on the edge of my seat the entire book.