Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Betrayal  By  cover art

The Betrayal

By: Terry Lynn Thomas
Narrated by: Daniela Acitelli
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.67

Buy for $24.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

From the USA Today best-selling author comes a gripping thriller about a divorce attorney who’s about to discover her own marriage is based on lies when she’s arrested for murder.

Attorney Olivia Sinclair is shocked when she receives an anonymous video showing her husband Richard sleeping with someone else. After years of handling other people’s divorces, she thought she could recognise a marriage in trouble.

She angrily throws Richard out of the home they share. But days later she’s arrested - for the murder of his mistress.

Olivia knows she’s innocent but, with all the evidence pointing at her and an obvious motive, she must find the real killer to clear her name.

She may be used to dealing with messy divorces, but this one will be her most difficult case yet. Olivia’s husband has already betrayed her - but would he set her up for murder?

A gripping thriller for fans of Gillian McAllister, Alafair Burke and A Killer’s Wife.

©2020 Terry Lynn Thomas (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Betrayal

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If u can get past the dull narration.

I am a fan of Terry Thomas and was looking forward to her next book.

From the description, the story immediately attracted me. I began the book with anticipation and settled in on a cold rainy day to listen. Immediately, I felt there were issues.

1. The narration. It’s dull and monotone. She tries to make inflections to go from male to female characters. I have to listen carefully to know who is speaking. But I am going to try to finish.

2. The story itself. 20 years ago I believe this story would be believable. However with professions able to track internet conversations to a specific computer, security monitors on properties, credit files, hidden cameras.... hard to believe movements could not have been monitored. I also found it hard to believe someone would be arrested on such a small amount of evidence. No one saw her at the cottage, her fingerprints were not found...the landlord could only identify by the bogus credit card.

Just very hard not to give up. It is extremely hard to listen to. I’m going to try to finish.

Don’t spend your money if you are a T. Thomas fan. Read the book instead.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration is HORRIBLE!

The narrator voice is terrible. took away from a decent story line. had to read the rest it was so bad. ruined the book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Reading style distracting

The story is good, but the reader sounds like it's a children's book. The New England type diction, was distracting for me.
The characters sound like they are drugged.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

Decent story but no character development. Narrator’s pronunciation was annoying: egg, leggings, pregnant were ayg, layg-gings, prayg-many, etc.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Loved it...Terry's words brought back visions of Marin..my home town. I cant wait for the next book in her series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read!

I was actually going to take my time with this book as it was only to be read as my commuter book. However, I got so caught up with everything that was going on that I couldn't put it down. I had to know what was going to happen next. Olivia made a very valid point when she pondered how many truly innocent people were locked up because of the damming evidence against them. With everything stacked up against Olivia, how on earth is she going to prove her innocence? Is she actually innocent?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!