• The Bar at the End of the World

  • The Watchers, Book 1
  • By: Tom Abrahams
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
  • Length: 10 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (425 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Bar at the End of the World  By  cover art

The Bar at the End of the World

By: Tom Abrahams
Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A starving city. A renegade bootlegger. A battle for the future of mankind.

Zeke is a bad guy. He didn’t choose to be. It’s just who he is. It’s who he has to be to survive in a post-apocalyptic world where trust is as scarce as water.

He's got nobody. No family. No friends. And he left behind the woman he loved for her own good.

But it's time to change. After a brush with death far out in the wasteland, he decides he's done risking his life to help his greedy bosses control who gets to drink water and when.

Now, he's stranded in a bar in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by the perfect kind of ruffians who can help him go back and make things right. Armed with renewed purpose and a one-of-a-kind muscle car, Zeke hunts for redemption, seeks retribution and, maybe, just maybe, he can get his girl back while he’s at it.

Take a ride across the wasteland in Tom Abrahams' newest post-apocalyptic, dystopian series, but with a fantasy twist. It will leave you wondering just what it means to be human.

It's perfect for fans of A.G. Riddle, Hugh Howey, and Stephen King's The Dark Tower.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about The Bar at the End of the World

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    193
  • 4 Stars
    126
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    21
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    235
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heaven or Hell or somehere in between

On the surface, an adventure story, but beneath the surface is a philosophical essay that challenges concepts trust, love, heaven, hell, and purgatory. What is fascinating is the unique character development which is absolutely pristine and detailed. The story is extremely fast-paced a brutally graphic. But this is a story that makes you think and look at the alternative views karma, justice, right and wrong.
The "Watchers" starts a creative new genre that will expand I am sure and likely to expand its adventure and philosophy.
You will enjoy this audiobook as the narration is excellent and is supported by a great book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Don't give up on it

A post apocalyptic book that doesn't support many good guys. There's two sides to this new world, both seem to be bad guys, so the only one I could root for was our main character, Zeke. Zeke is on the road to redemption, after deserting his girlfriend, Adelia. It doesn't take the reader long to realize just how naive Zeke is, but the story is still full of surprises, action, some supernatural fun, and character self-realization making it an enjoyable journey. Why I say, don't give up on the book, is that I almost did at the beginning, not being able to get interested in the characters. Could have been the narrator (didn't care for Pedro's voice), but like the characters, something clicked and I found myself interested. At any rate, I hung in there, enjoyed it and will probably go to book 2.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Grand Slam

Tom Abrahams continues to amaze. He truly is a wonder. His ability to craft a story and make it believable, personal, thrilling, and deeply moving is a most rare talent. And he keeps it clean. It's hard to put into words how much that is appreciated. The world he has created here has flashes of the Traveler series, but it's got a punk-esque kick to it. If the post apocalypse had a bit of a rebel kick, this would be it, with all its flash and imagery. One thing that he always adds is a need for an element, usually water. The great derth, as in this case. And in this chasm, the Tick come in and the Overseers. And this creates a world of intrigue, spies, bootlegging, and doing anything to survive. And to stay one step ahead of the powers that be. Abrahams uses the lack of water, instead of say an EMP, to create a most vivid and palpable PA world. The reader is there, feels it, and can believe it is very probable. So here's to Zeke, Leigh, Pedro, and all the other amazing characters the brilliant Tom Abrahams has created in the Watchers series.

Jonathan Davis is a revelation here. He's absolutely perfect for this series. It fits him, suits his talent. One knew he was good but he shows he's astounding here. And why he's the main voice in the Star Wars series. BRAVO!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

The story was unexpected, and the narrator was fantastic. I can't wait for the next book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different

Not your average apocalyptic story. Sure it takes place in the future after an event that destroys the world as we know it, but it’s not about that. It’s about powers beyond humanly ones in controlling good vs evil. And redemption. Interesting read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

For Jonathan Davis Fans

$5 sale❗️❗️Gads l did give this Sci Fi a try but it’s my last one. This is a great story but you must be a sci fi lover. I love narrator Jonathan Davis of the Star Wars series, in mysteries. Do not miss Jonathan reading Sandra Brown, Mean Streak. The best.
Were my comments of help?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book great narration also.

I was given a free copy for review I will definitely buy the next book in this series, I really enjoyed it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars