• The Art of Dying

  • A Ray Hanley Crime Thriller
  • By: Derik Cavignano
  • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
  • Length: 8 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Art of Dying  By  cover art

The Art of Dying

By: Derik Cavignano
Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

2019 American Fiction Awards winner (general horror)

2019 Best Book Awards winner (horror)

2019 American Fiction Awards finalist (crime thrillers)

When the bizarre death of a mob foot soldier sparks an escalating war between Boston’s Irish and Italian mafia, detective Ray Hanley’s relentless search for the truth uncovers evidence of a serial killer obsessed with the art of human suffering.

As the body count rises, Detective Hanley must navigate a minefield of crime families, dirty politicians, and crooked cops, while matching wits with a deranged serial killer. But temptation, betrayal, and death threaten to derail the investigation, and justice doesn’t come without a price.

From the author of Colony of the Lost (a 2016 Silver Falchion Award Finalist for best horror) comes a novel for fans of Thomas Harris, Michael Connelly, and Dennis Lehane.A crime thriller reminiscent of The Silence of The Lambs and The Departed.

Praise for the book:

"Boston gets gory in this enjoyable, horror-tinged crime tale." (Kirkus Reviews

“A highly suspenseful and delightfully twisted thriller with one of the creepiest villains in recent memory!” (Jeff Strand, four-time Bram Stoker Award nominee and author of My Pretties)

©2019 Derik Cavignano (P)2020 Derik Cavignano

What listeners say about The Art of Dying

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of a kind!

This is a great story with Unique elements. It is a good listen!. If you like crime mysteries, I Recommend it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't Wait for more!

Excellent writing and Performance, a no nonsense serial killer thriller that will definitely keep you guessing right up until the end!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Top Notch Disturbing Crime Thriller

The Art of Dying - A Ray Hanley Crime Thriller - written by Derik Cavignano was both disturbing and thoroughly enjoyable to listen to. A twisted serial killer is on the loose, disfiguring the victims... the first you meet early on that sets the tone for what's coming. Intertwined with this is a brewing Irish vs Italian Mafia war.

Set on the mean streets of Boston, this is a gritty crime thriller that stomps on the gas and doesn't ease off. There is a LOT of graphic horror in this book, violence, mutilation, sexual abuse, so be warned.

In this story, a lot is going on with plenty of crooks and cops to keep you guessing about how the story is going to unfold. The story is solid, with albeit some heavy character tropes, but overall they work well.

It was a little too much on the graphic horror side of a crime thriller for me, but I'll be damned if I couldn't stop listening. Cavignano sucked me right into this story, and I hated having to turn it off.

Narrated by Peter Berkrot, his gruff, gravelly voices giving the cops a real, gritty Boston feel. I wasn't a big fan of his little kid voices, but the other voices were solid. Quality was excellent, professional.

Overall, this was an enjoyable crime thriller. Not quite my cup of tea (a Boston joke for ya) with some of the extra-violent parts, but a well-written story that kept me hooked.

I was given this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. I have not let this gift affect nor influence my opinions of this audiobook and have left an honest review.