Your audiobook is waiting…

The Age of Hysteria: A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller

The Age of Embers Series, Book 2
Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
Series: The Age of Embers Series, Book 2
Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
Categories: Fiction, Horror
4.5 out of 5 stars (276 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The second book in the highly acclaimed Age of Embers series is here and advanced listeners are gushing! Brace yourself for the next installment of this thrilling new post-apocalyptic adventure series by best-selling author, Ryan Schow! The Age of Hysteria is perfect for fans of Matthew Mather, Jack Hunt, Mike Kraus, Bobby Akart and Harley Tate.

If you’re between a rock and a hard place, choose the rock...

Pinned down in a hot zone with a woman he’s not even sure he likes, Roque “Rock” Dimas is herded into the fiery center of an extinction-level event where only two choices exist: run for your life, or burrow in to the last place anyone sane would go and confront the enemy directly. The problem is, one man against a multitude of threats just isn’t enough...

Locked down on the outskirts of the emerging Chicago wasteland, a more nefarious conflict is brewing, one between Fire Dimas and a ruthless human trafficker with an axe to grind. In the high-stakes game of kidnappers and assassins, Fire and his brother, Ice, will tear the world apart to get what’s theirs, but will that be enough?

Welcome to the next evolution of high-octane, post-apocalyptic survival fiction! The Age of Hysteria is filled with fully-developed characters you’ll love and want to know, big apocalyptic action, a splash of humor and the kind of nail-biting suspense that rarely lets up. Grab yourself a double-dose of caffeine, find a quiet place and buckle up - the fun is just about to start!

Note: The Age of Embers series can be listened to as a stand alone series or in addition to The Last War series. Both of these series are written in the same universe on the same timeline and some characters will overlap. With tens of millions of pages read, more than 70000 (audio)books sold, and hundreds of five star reviews, The Complete Last War Series is the perfect compliment to The Age of Embers series.

©2019 Ryan Schow (P)2019 Ryan Schow

Critic Reviews

“Epic apocalyptic read with compelling characters! Ryan knows how to write action and suspense. But where he truly shines is the flawed, complex, broken but resolute heroes and heroines he creates. Dare I say that I loved the characters in this book even more than The Last War series-and that’s saying something. These characters are embroiled in deep, high-stakes problems before the apocalypse even starts. How their journeys entwine with the oncoming, world-ending disaster makes for great fiction.” (Kyla Stone, author of the best-selling The Last Sanctuary series)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    209
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    220
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    190
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting

The story flows very well and the characters fully developed. I found myself rooting for the main character and carried along the emotional Rollercoaster of the story. I would definitely recommend this book to friends and family.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Characters are serious and funny

it was a great read the characters are easy to identify with serious scary and funny Well worth you time

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Awsom.book.

I loved it.very well writen.story was awesome and made you not want to put the book down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

cant wait book 3

great take on the end of the human race, as we know it. humanity at it worst

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

So-so plot

The lack of realism in the plot distracted from the immersion. I listened to the first two books, but I won't waste a credit on the third.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

This story sure takes you along for the ride. You begin to forget you’re listening to a book and not living thru it with the characters. If you enjoy this series, check out Ryan Scow’s other series “The Last War” featuring this same drone attack but from different character’s views.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

1st one was good. This one, hard to finish.

Way too much inward reflection of feelings. Seemed like some whole chapters were about how characters feel about things.. Not bad, just tedious. Like a TV series where nothing gets resolved and new problems are created to keep you there. Didn't work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG! Scary Shit!

The reality this story portrays makes my heart shudder and my bones quake! Are we prepared? Can we survive? Do we have what it takes?
Will we just go screaming into the night?
Ryan has done an awesome job of entertaining....or warning? Depending on how you take this story. Awesome read! Well worth the money! Grab this series if you think you can handle it!
Bravo Ryan! Can’t wait for the next!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very Good for a middle book

middle books are Never As Good As the First book you have some progress of the characters you may eliminate a few you may reveal more of the next book in the series but as far as middle books go this one was very good I was excited to see how the AI plan on advancing its machinations and this book seemed to guide you to a middling understanding yet not revealing what those plans are this book was a job well done by both the author and the performer I was given this book by the author but it has not influenced my opinion over it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mental and emotional roller coaster

This book really captures the attention and keeps you listening in one sitting if at all possible. Great continuation to the Age of Embers, book 1. A few new characters, a LOT of action and family, neighbors, real type people. And that AI Queen is something to be watchful of, as you will see. Kevin brought the characters to life so well you forget it's just one person "reading" a book to you. The people are real and each different as you are listening to it. The separate personalities are very apparent. Overall a great continuation of the story, and exceptional presentation by Kevin.