Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The second book in the highly acclaimed Age of Embers series is here and advanced listeners are gushing! Brace yourself for the next installment of this thrilling new post-apocalyptic adventure series by best-selling author, Ryan Schow! The Age of Hysteria is perfect for fans of Matthew Mather, Jack Hunt, Mike Kraus, Bobby Akart and Harley Tate.

If you’re between a rock and a hard place, choose the rock...

Pinned down in a hot zone with a woman he’s not even sure he likes, Roque “Rock” Dimas is herded into the fiery center of an extinction-level event where only two choices exist: run for your life, or burrow in to the last place anyone sane would go and confront the enemy directly. The problem is, one man against a multitude of threats just isn’t enough...

Locked down on the outskirts of the emerging Chicago wasteland, a more nefarious conflict is brewing, one between Fire Dimas and a ruthless human trafficker with an axe to grind. In the high-stakes game of kidnappers and assassins, Fire and his brother, Ice, will tear the world apart to get what’s theirs, but will that be enough?

Welcome to the next evolution of high-octane, post-apocalyptic survival fiction! The Age of Hysteria is filled with fully-developed characters you’ll love and want to know, big apocalyptic action, a splash of humor and the kind of nail-biting suspense that rarely lets up. Grab yourself a double-dose of caffeine, find a quiet place and buckle up - the fun is just about to start!

Note: The Age of Embers series can be listened to as a stand alone series or in addition to The Last War series. Both of these series are written in the same universe on the same timeline and some characters will overlap. With tens of millions of pages read, more than 70000 (audio)books sold, and hundreds of five star reviews, The Complete Last War Series is the perfect compliment to The Age of Embers series.

©2019 Ryan Schow (P)2019 Ryan Schow

Critic Reviews

“Epic apocalyptic read with compelling characters! Ryan knows how to write action and suspense. But where he truly shines is the flawed, complex, broken but resolute heroes and heroines he creates. Dare I say that I loved the characters in this book even more than The Last War series-and that’s saying something. These characters are embroiled in deep, high-stakes problems before the apocalypse even starts. How their journeys entwine with the oncoming, world-ending disaster makes for great fiction.” (Kyla Stone, author of the best-selling The Last Sanctuary series)

What listeners say about The Age of Hysteria: A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    435
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    438
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    390
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

So-so plot

The lack of realism in the plot distracted from the immersion. I listened to the first two books, but I won't waste a credit on the third.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting

The story flows very well and the characters fully developed. I found myself rooting for the main character and carried along the emotional Rollercoaster of the story. I would definitely recommend this book to friends and family.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An excellent performance by Kevin Pearce.

Mr. Pearce's performance can make any book sound exciting. However there are still issues within this book that need better research.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very complicated Apocalyptic plot

Ryan Schow has tried to cram every possible scenario in the Age of Embers. There is Fire Dumas and his personal war with a human trafficker that is going on while Chicago burns. And there are other such subplots, but the the book is centered on Fire's viewpoint, it's in first person. That makes it a little confusing. All in all, it's action packed and full throttle. There is never a dull moment. So one can overlook the crowded plot because of this. Kevin Pierce's narration keeps the pacing just right. Without him, it wouldn't work. He makes the story come to life. On to book three.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

This series does not fail to impress. Characters have a lot of depth. Excellent Read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Elevated Heart Rate

The Narrator kept me going to the end, even when the scenes were heavy. This second installment in the series has mature, albeit believable, themes. Child trafficking, even in the face of an Apocalypse, is a difficult subject to traverse. I understand that the author used these scenes to create true villains, and perhaps mirror the AI God. I did not expect the action in this book to match the first book. I was correct. There were more scenes of action, and a little less introspection. I find myself rooting for and against several of the characters in this story. I did not expect to get as emotionally connected to the characters as I did.
Daggumit, what a ride. I have to see what happens next in book 3. It's 11:55 pm. Oh well, I'll sleep later.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Let GO OF MY THROAT

This book had me by the throat, especially by the end!! I had to put it down for a few minutes but then couldn’t stay away and was right back to it! Gah, will I survive the series??? 🤷🏻‍♀️

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Issues

The story was great but I found some inconsistencies. Nia, unsure of spelling, is she a doctor or a nurse as both we said. Otherwise the story and narration was fine nothing wrong and I enjoyed the book other than that issue which to me is huge as I am a nurse.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Characters are serious and funny

it was a great read the characters are easy to identify with serious scary and funny Well worth you time

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Awsom.book.

I loved it.very well writen.story was awesome and made you not want to put the book down.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda
  • Linda
  • 08-05-20

Another excellent book

The series continues to be excellent. There is often gritty and violent subject matter. I sometimes got confused by all the different characters but that may be just me!