• The Age of Exodus

  • The Age of Embers Series, Book 4
  • By: Ryan Schow
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
  • Length: 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (452 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Age of Exodus  By  cover art

The Age of Exodus

By: Ryan Schow
Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

The much anticipated fourth book in the highly acclaimed Age of Embers series is here! Brace yourself for the next blistering installment of this post-apocalyptic adventure series by best-selling author Ryan Schow! The Age of Exodus is perfect for fans of Matthew Mather, Jack Hunt, Mike Kraus, Boyd Craven, Kyla Stone, and James Hunt.

Two thousand miles of hell lie ahead...

Tragedy has claimed its pound of flesh from the Chicago survivors. Homeless, low on supplies, and struggling to find weapons, the group weighs the dangers of squatting in Chicago against the merits of reuniting with Rock in California. No matter the choice they make, the weeks and months ahead will exact a devastating toll.

The measurement of such losses will be incalculable. Some will make it. Others will make their final stand. But who will they become along the way? And what will they risk for each other when all hell finally breaks loose?

The Age of Exodus is an emotional roller-coaster ride with plenty of peaks and valleys, a few shocking twists, a handful of well-timed laughs, and all-but-guaranteed loss of sleep. Before you head out with our survivors on the adventure of a lifetime, grab some caffeine, find a quiet place to listen, sit down, and hold on because the ride is about to get bumpy!

Please note: The Age of Embers Series can be listened to as a stand-alone series or in addition to The Last War Series. Both of these series are written in the same universe on the same timeline and some characters will overlap, especially in the series finale The Age of Defiance.

©2019 Ryan Schow (P)2019 Ryan Schow

What listeners say about The Age of Exodus

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    377
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    368
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    332
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gets dark

The series is good. Gets dark though. I think it captures a significant possibility of how humanity may behave. It’s not far fetched aside from the AI aspect but the way humanity is behaving, it’s possible... great book. On to the last.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The closest story to a real event

this has all the pieces of the way people would act. the normalcy bias would get people caught in the old ways. And life would be cut short. that's the kindest way to put it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL

This is by far thee best book of the first four books written so far. This book is is gripping and will keep ahold of you from the first page until the very last.
As always, great work done by narrator Kevin Pierce!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never have I loved a book that’s made me so angry

I was listening to this on a road trip and had to pull over to write this review.

Narration: Kevin Pierce is nicknamed The Voice of the Apocalypse for a reason. He’s fantastic as always, and I could listen to him read the phone book. I’m so glad he was chosen to read this series.

The story: Mr. Schow is officially off my Christmas card list with this book. His books are gritty, and most certainly not fairy tales that leave you feeling happy.
However, if S ever does HTF, what he describes is more realistic than 95% of the other post-apoc books out there. He doesn’t sugar coat, he doesn’t leave you with a sense of well-being. He slaps you square in the face with a dose of reality, and he doesn’t check his blow.
As I’ve traveled along with the Dimas family, they’ve become my family. I have fought and cried and struggled and mourned with them as they battle their way through their new world.
Schow has a way of pulling you into his stories, of painting such vivid scenes that you can picture it all as it happens. His characters are human, they find strength they didn’t know they had, they falter and break down and they make stupid mistakes, just like the majority of us will if ever faced with a reality like he’s created. Yet they find the will to keep moving forward. He also shows us how far you might be pushed when faced with the choices of either giving up and dying, or refusing to go down and fighting to survive against all odds.
I appreciate this book because it’s made me think about whether I’m prepared to go the lengths they did to survive. The answer I found is, yes. I am.

I highly recommend this series.

So, Mr. Ryan Schow, I look forward to book 5, but I’m still mad at you right now.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

Best book in the series. Had some very interesting parts. I can’t say much that wont spoil it, but the last 1.5 hrs just WOW! Can’t wait to hear the conclusion in the late book. Keep up the good work Ryan!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A travel trip through the Apoc.

It is hard to make a travel trip book interesting but this one keeps the motion going while progressing character arches and not overwhelming the story with action scenes.
Well Done indeed :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Post Apocalyptic Oregon Trail

The title says it all. Easy road ahead. Nope. Diseases from the dark ages, hunger, peril around every turn, small glimmers of hope, even mother nature wrecks havoic on our weary survivors. The performance keeps you engage, draws you just close enough to the disparity you can feel it. Thank goodness for the pause button. I needed it several times to catch my breath. By the end of their cross country trek, I want them ready to regroup and go to war. I won't spoil the story, but buckle up and watch your six.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love this series

I love all the characters. I can’t wait to start the next book, but I have to go to work now. I’m counting down the minutes till lunch break

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall