adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The much anticipated fourth book in the highly acclaimed Age of Embers series is here! Brace yourself for the next blistering installment of this post-apocalyptic adventure series by best-selling author Ryan Schow! The Age of Exodus is perfect for fans of Matthew Mather, Jack Hunt, Mike Kraus, Boyd Craven, Kyla Stone, and James Hunt.

Two thousand miles of hell lie ahead...

Tragedy has claimed its pound of flesh from the Chicago survivors. Homeless, low on supplies, and struggling to find weapons, the group weighs the dangers of squatting in Chicago against the merits of reuniting with Rock in California. No matter the choice they make, the weeks and months ahead will exact a devastating toll. 

The measurement of such losses will be incalculable. Some will make it. Others will make their final stand. But who will they become along the way? And what will they risk for each other when all hell finally breaks loose?

The Age of Exodus is an emotional roller-coaster ride with plenty of peaks and valleys, a few shocking twists, a handful of well-timed laughs, and all-but-guaranteed loss of sleep. Before you head out with our survivors on the adventure of a lifetime, grab some caffeine, find a quiet place to listen, sit down, and hold on because the ride is about to get bumpy!

Please note: The Age of Embers Series can be listened to as a stand-alone series or in addition to The Last War Series. Both of these series are written in the same universe on the same timeline and some characters will overlap, especially in the series finale The Age of Defiance.

©2019 Ryan Schow (P)2019 Ryan Schow

What listeners say about The Age of Exodus

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    328
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    324
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    293
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

MAN, OH MAN, WHAT A STORY. A WAKE UP CALL

I am revising my review which I wrote before I got to the end of this story. I have listened to many books, but nothing like this. I have been spoiled by stories in which good things happen to the main characters, but this story brought me back to reality. It make me wonder about what humanity can become, but looking back on history, I don't have to wonder about man's inhumanity to man

Kevin Pierce has done a great job of narrating this series. This book is sad, exciting, and suspenseful.. Please hurry up and release the next story. I have to admit this story scares me and make me wonder what our society will become if an EMP event or a similar event occurs.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never have I loved a book that’s made me so angry

I was listening to this on a road trip and had to pull over to write this review.

Narration: Kevin Pierce is nicknamed The Voice of the Apocalypse for a reason. He’s fantastic as always, and I could listen to him read the phone book. I’m so glad he was chosen to read this series.

The story: Mr. Schow is officially off my Christmas card list with this book. His books are gritty, and most certainly not fairy tales that leave you feeling happy.
However, if S ever does HTF, what he describes is more realistic than 95% of the other post-apoc books out there. He doesn’t sugar coat, he doesn’t leave you with a sense of well-being. He slaps you square in the face with a dose of reality, and he doesn’t check his blow.
As I’ve traveled along with the Dimas family, they’ve become my family. I have fought and cried and struggled and mourned with them as they battle their way through their new world.
Schow has a way of pulling you into his stories, of painting such vivid scenes that you can picture it all as it happens. His characters are human, they find strength they didn’t know they had, they falter and break down and they make stupid mistakes, just like the majority of us will if ever faced with a reality like he’s created. Yet they find the will to keep moving forward. He also shows us how far you might be pushed when faced with the choices of either giving up and dying, or refusing to go down and fighting to survive against all odds.
I appreciate this book because it’s made me think about whether I’m prepared to go the lengths they did to survive. The answer I found is, yes. I am.

I highly recommend this series.

So, Mr. Ryan Schow, I look forward to book 5, but I’m still mad at you right now.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Post Apocalyptic Oregon Trail

The title says it all. Easy road ahead. Nope. Diseases from the dark ages, hunger, peril around every turn, small glimmers of hope, even mother nature wrecks havoic on our weary survivors. The performance keeps you engage, draws you just close enough to the disparity you can feel it. Thank goodness for the pause button. I needed it several times to catch my breath. By the end of their cross country trek, I want them ready to regroup and go to war. I won't spoil the story, but buckle up and watch your six.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

pretty dark

This fourth book contains some pretty disturbing events so be prepared. One of the darkest novels I have ever read that left my heart deeply disturbed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG

What a thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in some hart stopping moments, funny moments and you have one great book. Do not hesitate to pick this book up but be warned you will not be able to put it down, turn on the coffee pot sit back and enjoy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

Best book in the series. Had some very interesting parts. I can’t say much that wont spoil it, but the last 1.5 hrs just WOW! Can’t wait to hear the conclusion in the late book. Keep up the good work Ryan!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

inspiring survival methods

loved this series. wish more books were like this. it has great survival preparation tactics. hope he comes out with more similar with more scinarios.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so far one of the best

best in this series so far....and the others are awesome sauce and should be a movie

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Nowhere near as good as the previous books

Sanctimonious. Be prepared to listed to the author drone on and on about his social political views through characters that now all sound the same (not the narrator but the formal preaching type language and pattern of speech).

Really disappointing.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I like the concept

I have made it to book 4 but don't know if I can keep going. The story concept is great, EOW SciFi.
However, there is sooo much internal dialogue. The character will be seconds from a fight for his life and will begin a 10 minute thought about how he doesn't want to be this person, hurt anyone, be violent, etc... this is EVERY time. More Doey, less Thinky
It seems that every chapter someone is preaching about how there are no rules, kill or be killed but then they get their ass kicked cause they were hesitant. and this is repeated over and over, same characters re-hashing the same shit, this book would be half the length if the redundant crap was taken out.
The characters complain about the loss of humanity, no help coming, woah is me!! but refuse to help anyone at all.
They don't learn, the group keeps getting surprised but don't have anyone on security. They go into hiding and have ALL their weapons in a different house, etc...
Best thing about it is the narrator, great job

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda
  • Linda
  • 08-09-20

Brutal!

Fantastic book. I was engrossed from start to finish. The book sure goes in for the shock factor. I was crying at the end.