The Age of Exodus

The Age of Embers Series, Book 4
Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
Series: The Age of Embers Series, Book 4
Length: 9 hrs and 50 mins
5 out of 5 stars (160 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The much anticipated fourth book in the highly acclaimed Age of Embers series is here! Brace yourself for the next blistering installment of this post-apocalyptic adventure series by best-selling author Ryan Schow! The Age of Exodus is perfect for fans of Matthew Mather, Jack Hunt, Mike Kraus, Boyd Craven, Kyla Stone, and James Hunt.

Two thousand miles of hell lie ahead...

Tragedy has claimed its pound of flesh from the Chicago survivors. Homeless, low on supplies, and struggling to find weapons, the group weighs the dangers of squatting in Chicago against the merits of reuniting with Rock in California. No matter the choice they make, the weeks and months ahead will exact a devastating toll. 

The measurement of such losses will be incalculable. Some will make it. Others will make their final stand. But who will they become along the way? And what will they risk for each other when all hell finally breaks loose?

The Age of Exodus is an emotional roller-coaster ride with plenty of peaks and valleys, a few shocking twists, a handful of well-timed laughs, and all-but-guaranteed loss of sleep. Before you head out with our survivors on the adventure of a lifetime, grab some caffeine, find a quiet place to listen, sit down, and hold on because the ride is about to get bumpy!

Please note: The Age of Embers Series can be listened to as a stand-alone series or in addition to The Last War Series. Both of these series are written in the same universe on the same timeline and some characters will overlap, especially in the series finale The Age of Defiance.

©2019 Ryan Schow (P)2019 Ryan Schow

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    136
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

MAN, OH MAN, WHAT A STORY. A WAKE UP CALL

I am revising my review which I wrote before I got to the end of this story. I have listened to many books, but nothing like this. I have been spoiled by stories in which good things happen to the main characters, but this story brought me back to reality. It make me wonder about what humanity can become, but looking back on history, I don't have to wonder about man's inhumanity to man

Kevin Pierce has done a great job of narrating this series. This book is sad, exciting, and suspenseful.. Please hurry up and release the next story. I have to admit this story scares me and make me wonder what our society will become if an EMP event or a similar event occurs.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never have I loved a book that’s made me so angry

I was listening to this on a road trip and had to pull over to write this review.

Narration: Kevin Pierce is nicknamed The Voice of the Apocalypse for a reason. He’s fantastic as always, and I could listen to him read the phone book. I’m so glad he was chosen to read this series.

The story: Mr. Schow is officially off my Christmas card list with this book. His books are gritty, and most certainly not fairy tales that leave you feeling happy.
However, if S ever does HTF, what he describes is more realistic than 95% of the other post-apoc books out there. He doesn’t sugar coat, he doesn’t leave you with a sense of well-being. He slaps you square in the face with a dose of reality, and he doesn’t check his blow.
As I’ve traveled along with the Dimas family, they’ve become my family. I have fought and cried and struggled and mourned with them as they battle their way through their new world.
Schow has a way of pulling you into his stories, of painting such vivid scenes that you can picture it all as it happens. His characters are human, they find strength they didn’t know they had, they falter and break down and they make stupid mistakes, just like the majority of us will if ever faced with a reality like he’s created. Yet they find the will to keep moving forward. He also shows us how far you might be pushed when faced with the choices of either giving up and dying, or refusing to go down and fighting to survive against all odds.
I appreciate this book because it’s made me think about whether I’m prepared to go the lengths they did to survive. The answer I found is, yes. I am.

I highly recommend this series.

So, Mr. Ryan Schow, I look forward to book 5, but I’m still mad at you right now.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG

What a thrill ride from beginning to end. Throw in some hart stopping moments, funny moments and you have one great book. Do not hesitate to pick this book up but be warned you will not be able to put it down, turn on the coffee pot sit back and enjoy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

Best book in the series. Had some very interesting parts. I can’t say much that wont spoil it, but the last 1.5 hrs just WOW! Can’t wait to hear the conclusion in the late book. Keep up the good work Ryan!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intense

I really love how these ex-law enforcement guys end up with only a few bullets and a 7 year old kid is the superior weapons creator. How cool is that!?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A travel trip through the Apoc.

It is hard to make a travel trip book interesting but this one keeps the motion going while progressing character arches and not overwhelming the story with action scenes.
Well Done indeed :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific

Fantastic, absolutely a fun listen. The narration is lively and easy to listen to. Enjoyed it tremendously

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

pretty dark

This fourth book contains some pretty disturbing events so be prepared. One of the darkest novels I have ever read that left my heart deeply disturbed.