1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.99

Buy for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

On a Mississippi morning in 1859, Emily Matthews begs her father to save a slave, Nathan, about to be auctioned away from his family. Judge Matthews is an abolitionist who runs an illegal school for his slaves, hoping to eventually set them free. One, a woman named Ginny, has become Emily's companion and often her conscience - and understands all too well the hazards an educated slave must face. Yet even Ginny could not predict the tangled, tragic string of events set in motion as Nathan's family arrives at the Matthews farm.  

A young doctor, Charles Slate, tends to injured Nathan and begins to court Emily, finally persuading her to become his wife. But their union is disrupted by a fatal clash and a lie that will tear two families apart. As Civil War erupts, Emily, Ginny, and Emily's stoic mother-in-law, Adeline, each face devastating losses. Emily - sheltered all her life - is especially unprepared for the hardships to come. Struggling to survive in this raw, shifting new world, Emily will discover untapped inner strength, an unlikely love, and the courage to confront deep, painful truths. 

In the tradition of Cold Mountain, The Abolitionist's Daughter eschews stereotypes of the Civil War South, instead weaving an intricate and unforgettable story of survival, loyalty, hope, and redemption.

©2019 Diane C. McPhail (P)2019 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

What listeners say about The Abolitionist's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, compelling, thought provoking

I listened to most of this book during a road trip to Georgia. I could literally ‘feel’ the story in the landscape around me. The character construction was not only credible but intricate and the emotion evoked because of that was powerful.
It proved to be a thought provoking read for me and left me both saddened and also inspired to share with others. The historical content is accurate and intense. One of the best books I have read in a long time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful writing. Great detail.

I am a fan of historical fiction, and this is now high on my list of favorites. The writing was beautiful, precise, and authentic. I was totally engaged and deeply moved by the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An incredible book, The Abolitionist’s Daughter...

This book takes the reader through the full spectrum of most all emotions ... joy, sadness, hope, despair, delight, horror, judgment, forgiveness, and so many more... There is such a need for the storyline in this book in light of the Times we are now living in .... you won’t regret buying this book... I found myself getting so connected to the characters in it.... The Abolitionist’s Daughter is remarkable and is very difficult to put down .... I highly recommend this very Timely book !!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous & Thin

I don't know if the story was bad or the narrator was not a good fit for this book... either way I kept waiting for it to get better the only reason I kept listening was because I was out of credits. It's all over the place, no depth and a ridiculous story. hummmpffff