That's What Frenemies Are For

A Novel
Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
4.1 out of 5 stars (141 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this razor-sharp novel for fans of When Life Gives You Lululemons, a Manhattan socialite turns her spin instructor into a fitness superstar to impress her friends. But can she keep her little project under control? Or has she created a monster?

Julia Summers seems to have it all: a sprawling Upper East Side apartment, a successful husband, and two adorable children attending the best private school in the city. She relishes wielding influence over her well-heeled girlfriends...but her star appears to be fading. That’s why, when stranded in Manhattan for the summer as her entire crowd flees to the Hamptons, Julia is on the hunt for the next big thing that will make her the envy of her friends and put her back on top.

Enter Flame, the new boutique gym in her neighborhood. Seductive and transformative, Flame’s spin classes are exactly what Julia needs - and demure, naïve instructor Tatum is her ticket in. But rebranding Tatum as a trendy guru proves hard work, and Julia’s triumphant comeback at summer’s end doesn’t quite go as planned. Tatum begins to grasp just how much power her newfound stardom holds, and when things suddenly get ugly, Julia realizes she’s in way over her head.

Julia’s life is already spiraling out of control when her husband is arrested for fraud and bribery. As her so-called friends turn their backs on her, and Tatum pursues her own agenda, Julia is forced to rethink everything she knew about her world to reclaim her perfect life. But does she even want it back? Witty and incisive, Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell’s That’s What Frenemies Are For provides an engrossing glimpse into the cutthroat moms’ club of the Upper East Side.

Advance praise for That’s What Frenemies Are For

“Pack up your beach bag and put your phone on Do Not Disturb: This modern-day Pygmalion story is juicy fun! Fans of Lauren Weisberger and Jill Kargman will delight in this delicious romp about how the other half lives.” (Jamie Brenner, best-selling author of The Forever Summer and Drawing Home)

“Whether this book hits a little too close to home or offers the perfect escape, readers will love the insanity of Julia’s social ups and downs in this clever novel.” (Laurie Gelman, author of Class Mom)

©2019 Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“Unputdownable. Littlefield and Gershell write together seamlessly in this dishy summer read perfect for fans of Lauren Weisberger.” (Booklist (starred review)

“Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell have hatched a witty, wise romp through the lives of the status-seeking parents and would-be influencers of Manhattan’s upper echelons. With a delicious plot and a surprisingly winsome heroine, That’s What Frenemies Are For is a smart escapist read.” (New York Times best-selling author Michelle Gable)
 

What listeners say about That's What Frenemies Are For

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Obnoxious!

This book was awful - the character was so unlikable - I could not get passed the first chapter. Hated it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What a spoiled brat!

It was hard listening to this book. The main character Julia is a spoiled brat.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dreadful

This story is so snobbish and has nothing of value, the characters are devoid of values, and I kept trying to listen and get into it, but finally by a certain point, I just couldn’t take anymore. Just seriously one of the most displeasing books I’ve ever attempted to listen to, but just couldn’t finish... dreadful unpleasant people. Not sure what the point of this book was supposed to be.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Ehh

Wasn't my favorite, felt like the narrator was just complaining the entire time and it seemed like the author just rushed the end with Tatum, couldn't understand the ending and it seemed like there were a lot of missing details.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tied up nicely

Liked this book a lot but it was very very predictable and the build up to the husbands arrest followed by him being quickly exonerated was a little far fetched

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Just ok

I found myself asking several times, “Have you not learned your lesson yet?” and “Why are you still associating with them?” The story was frustrating because the main character was selfish and hypocritical. So much so that I couldn’t even ignore it for the sake of the the fictional story. I finished it because I wanted to see if and how she may redeem her character. I don’t feel that she did.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too much whining

The story was excruciating to get through. A bunch of privileged 40 year old housewives who behave like they’re in high school. The narrator did an excellent job though.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved the plot

I enjoyed this book, but I have to say that the characters were enough to make me want to spit nails. Even Jules, the main character, was mostly unlikable for a majority of the book...but I think that had everything to do with the point. It was only at the end as she was faced with true difficulty that she realized being true to herself was #1, and that’s when I found myself cheering for her. The sad thing is, this is exactly like real life with women, regardless of the socioeconomic circle you’re in.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting story but you have to keep up

I liked this book and the performance a lot but I had a hard time keeping up. There are a lot of characters and a lot of names. The stories get intertwined so much that it’s hard to remember who is who. With that being said I did like most of the characters and the story after the huge amount of set up. I do think the book could have been 2-3hrs shorter but I do love a long book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What was this supposed to be?

I gave up.... I wanted to love it but the performance was blah and the story line double blah.