Your audiobook is waiting…

That's What Frenemies Are For

A Novel
Narrated by: Allyson Ryan
Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
4.5 out of 5 stars (37 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this razor-sharp novel for fans of When Life Gives You Lululemons, a Manhattan socialite turns her spin instructor into a fitness superstar to impress her friends. But can she keep her little project under control? Or has she created a monster?

Julia Summers seems to have it all: a sprawling Upper East Side apartment, a successful husband, and two adorable children attending the best private school in the city. She relishes wielding influence over her well-heeled girlfriends...but her star appears to be fading. That’s why, when stranded in Manhattan for the summer as her entire crowd flees to the Hamptons, Julia is on the hunt for the next big thing that will make her the envy of her friends and put her back on top.

Enter Flame, the new boutique gym in her neighborhood. Seductive and transformative, Flame’s spin classes are exactly what Julia needs - and demure, naïve instructor Tatum is her ticket in. But rebranding Tatum as a trendy guru proves hard work, and Julia’s triumphant comeback at summer’s end doesn’t quite go as planned. Tatum begins to grasp just how much power her newfound stardom holds, and when things suddenly get ugly, Julia realizes she’s in way over her head.

Julia’s life is already spiraling out of control when her husband is arrested for fraud and bribery. As her so-called friends turn their backs on her, and Tatum pursues her own agenda, Julia is forced to rethink everything she knew about her world to reclaim her perfect life. But does she even want it back? Witty and incisive, Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell’s That’s What Frenemies Are For provides an engrossing glimpse into the cutthroat moms’ club of the Upper East Side.

Advance praise for That’s What Frenemies Are For

“Pack up your beach bag and put your phone on Do Not Disturb: This modern-day Pygmalion story is juicy fun! Fans of Lauren Weisberger and Jill Kargman will delight in this delicious romp about how the other half lives.” (Jamie Brenner, best-selling author of The Forever Summer and Drawing Home)

“Whether this book hits a little too close to home or offers the perfect escape, readers will love the insanity of Julia’s social ups and downs in this clever novel.” (Laurie Gelman, author of Class Mom)

©2019 Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“Unputdownable. Littlefield and Gershell write together seamlessly in this dishy summer read perfect for fans of Lauren Weisberger.” (Booklist (starred review)

“Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell have hatched a witty, wise romp through the lives of the status-seeking parents and would-be influencers of Manhattan’s upper echelons. With a delicious plot and a surprisingly winsome heroine, That’s What Frenemies Are For is a smart escapist read.” (New York Times best-selling author Michelle Gable)
 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disturbing and shallow lives

I considered not finishing this book multiple times, but kept hoping it would get better. It did not.

This is a story about shallow, narcissistic people who manipulate and use others to somehow become more “popular” and gain status in their NYC Upper East Side world. The “star” of this novel—Julia— is such an irritating character because despite her ongoing reflections about the worsening situations she finds herself in, she never actually realizes she is the biggest part of the problem. She blames everyone except herself, lies constantly, and is obnoxiously hot-headed.
I enjoy many genres of books and think gossipy, “catty” novels can be fun, however the underlying darkness of this book puts it out of my league.
I finally finished the novel last night and still feel disgusted by the story this morning.
I shall be returning this one to get it out of my library.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Weekend Book - Great Story

Fantastic narrator, delyfull ups and downs. Great book for a commute hrs.
Quote from the book: "... WHO CARES, NOBODY CARES"