adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this razor-sharp novel for fans of When Life Gives You Lululemons, a Manhattan socialite turns her spin instructor into a fitness superstar to impress her friends. But can she keep her little project under control? Or has she created a monster?

Julia Summers seems to have it all: a sprawling Upper East Side apartment, a successful husband, and two adorable children attending the best private school in the city. She relishes wielding influence over her well-heeled girlfriends...but her star appears to be fading. That’s why, when stranded in Manhattan for the summer as her entire crowd flees to the Hamptons, Julia is on the hunt for the next big thing that will make her the envy of her friends and put her back on top.

Enter Flame, the new boutique gym in her neighborhood. Seductive and transformative, Flame’s spin classes are exactly what Julia needs - and demure, naïve instructor Tatum is her ticket in. But rebranding Tatum as a trendy guru proves hard work, and Julia’s triumphant comeback at summer’s end doesn’t quite go as planned. Tatum begins to grasp just how much power her newfound stardom holds, and when things suddenly get ugly, Julia realizes she’s in way over her head.

Julia’s life is already spiraling out of control when her husband is arrested for fraud and bribery. As her so-called friends turn their backs on her, and Tatum pursues her own agenda, Julia is forced to rethink everything she knew about her world to reclaim her perfect life. But does she even want it back? Witty and incisive, Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell’s That’s What Frenemies Are For provides an engrossing glimpse into the cutthroat moms’ club of the Upper East Side.

Advance praise for That’s What Frenemies Are For

“Pack up your beach bag and put your phone on Do Not Disturb: This modern-day Pygmalion story is juicy fun! Fans of Lauren Weisberger and Jill Kargman will delight in this delicious romp about how the other half lives.” (Jamie Brenner, best-selling author of The Forever Summer and Drawing Home)

“Whether this book hits a little too close to home or offers the perfect escape, readers will love the insanity of Julia’s social ups and downs in this clever novel.” (Laurie Gelman, author of Class Mom)

©2019 Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“Unputdownable. Littlefield and Gershell write together seamlessly in this dishy summer read perfect for fans of Lauren Weisberger.” (Booklist (starred review)

“Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell have hatched a witty, wise romp through the lives of the status-seeking parents and would-be influencers of Manhattan’s upper echelons. With a delicious plot and a surprisingly winsome heroine, That’s What Frenemies Are For is a smart escapist read.” (New York Times best-selling author Michelle Gable)
 

What listeners say about That's What Frenemies Are For

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Obnoxious!

This book was awful - the character was so unlikable - I could not get passed the first chapter. Hated it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What a spoiled brat!

It was hard listening to this book. The main character Julia is a spoiled brat.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bad

Don’t waste your time!
Very disappointed. Wanted something light.
Bad narration. Tried a couple of times but kept falling asleep.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tough one to rate - enjoyment level - 3 stars. Story - 4 stars

Man. This was a tough one to rate. I wanted desperately to give it 3 stars because it was hard to get through. I felt annoyed 95% of the time however, strangely entertained. The protagonist is beyond unlikeable. She is manipulative and lacks self awareness in a way most villains do. I think the book would have been better if the author gave her more vulnerability along the way. That being said - I couldn’t stop reading just to find out what happens hoping she picked up some humility along the way.

I often wonder if the people who cast these books actually read them before they choose the narrator. The narrator sounds like a 60 year old smoker. - not a NY socialite. She was supposed to found attractive - but instead sounded like a weathered old woman. I think it made the book so much less enjoyable because I couldn’t reconcile the character with the voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Frenemies make a great read!

I was hooked from the start! They self-absorbed main character, Julia, was at first difficult to connect with; however, as the story continued, she became more and more likable. I almost felt sorry for her as she struggled through her various dilemmas!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Main Character is annoying

I couldn’t get thru the book because of the main character! She is a snob.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dreadful

This story is so snobbish and has nothing of value, the characters are devoid of values, and I kept trying to listen and get into it, but finally by a certain point, I just couldn’t take anymore. Just seriously one of the most displeasing books I’ve ever attempted to listen to, but just couldn’t finish... dreadful unpleasant people. Not sure what the point of this book was supposed to be.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Ehh

Wasn't my favorite, felt like the narrator was just complaining the entire time and it seemed like the author just rushed the end with Tatum, couldn't understand the ending and it seemed like there were a lot of missing details.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tied up nicely

Liked this book a lot but it was very very predictable and the build up to the husbands arrest followed by him being quickly exonerated was a little far fetched

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Just ok

I found myself asking several times, “Have you not learned your lesson yet?” and “Why are you still associating with them?” The story was frustrating because the main character was selfish and hypocritical. So much so that I couldn’t even ignore it for the sake of the the fictional story. I finished it because I wanted to see if and how she may redeem her character. I don’t feel that she did.