adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.49

Buy for $17.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher's chest: An illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog - donning the moniker Technician - to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner's tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner's son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father's respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father's elusive affection is worth chasing at all. Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner's secrets at any cost - even if it means betraying her own heart. 

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic - before the Commissioner ends them first.

©2019 by Rosiee Thor. (P)2019 Scholastic Inc. All rights reserved. Scholastic, Scholastic Audiobooks, and associated logos are trademarks and/or registered trademarks of Scholastic Inc.

What listeners say about Tarnished Are the Stars

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful World-building

My absolute favorite part of this book was the gorgeous world building. Its fresh take on dystopian/future/streampunk enhanced the overall setting without taking away from the power of plot and characters.

Really enjoyed this story and would definitely return to this world given the chance!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic, absolute must read!!!

From the depth of character to the elaborate world created in Tarnished are the Stars this book is a quality read from start to finish. I read it in two days completely entranced seeing the world Rosie created. Thank you for a great adventure and I can’t wait for the next book!! Of course after that there must be more :-)