adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Kindle Unlimited All-Star Winner from the author of Surviving Valencia and The Woman America Loves a Latte about the impact one generation's decisions can have on the next. Perfect for fans of Karen Russell, Fannie Flagg, and Delia Owens.

As part of a family where life happens to you, 15-year-old Carasine Busey is devastated but not surprised when her family drops everything in Sweet Hollow, Louisiana to follow her dad's shaky career as a welder. It's not especially shocking, either, when he abandons them all shortly after they settle into their new home in the city. Carasine, her mom Rhonda, and the rest of the Busey clan have adapted to roll with the punches. From Rhonda's secret broken heart to Great-Great-Grandpa Jimbo's eccentric failed dreams, Carasine and her family are used to disappointment. It's not until Carasine gets a second chance with an unlikely pair of long-lost relatives that she realizes her path in life might be up to her to navigate. Being their flesh and blood convinces her that there may be some hope for her after all.

©2017 Holly Tierney-Bedord (P)2020 Holly Tierney-Bedord

Critic Reviews

"With a writing style reminiscent of Flannery O'Connor, Tierney-Bedord weaves a compelling saga rich with passion, angst, humor, and hope. A must-read that won't let you go, even after the last page." (Award-winning author Geralyn Corcillo)

What listeners say about Sweet Hollow Women

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I was enthralled!

I could not stop listening to this book! Funny and sad and hopeful. I honestly didn't want it to end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good

Story told in parts of several generations of several women. The mistakes and paths they followed. Carasine was one who showed how strong and determined she was. Given audio for my voluntary review and my voluntary review