Summer at Firefly Beach

Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
Length: 8 hrs and 18 mins
4 out of 5 stars (88 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A totally emotional, gripping novel from the best-selling author of The Summer House about the importance of family, re-discovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love under the summer sun. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer, and Susan Mallery.

Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her great Aunt Clara’s beautiful beachside house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical memories, feels like coming home, but in one moment Hallie is left broken-hearted when her adored Aunt Clara passes away....

As always, Aunt Clara has thought of everything. In her last letter she included a bucket list Hallie wrote as a child, for Hallie to complete. Leaving her dead-end job and predictable schedule, Hallie returns to Firefly Beach and embraces Aunt Clara’s words. All the time her childhood best friend Ben Murray, with his golden charm and infuriating ability to be right all the time, is by her side. 

Spending the summer with Ben, as they enjoy drinks on the pier and endless talks stretched out in the soft sand, Hallie begins to remember the things that matter most to her. But following the bucket list isn’t an easy journey. It forces her to face the pain of her past as she starts to fall for the person who has been there for her all along....

Just as her heart is healing, an encounter with a newcomer to the beach town, wealthy and talented photographer Gavin Wilson, leaves her questioning her future and shows her she has to make a difficult decision that could mean losing everything. 

Will Hallie be able to fulfil Aunt Clara’s last wish and change her life? Or will a secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning - and the chance to experience true love? 

©2019 Jenny Hale (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Summer at Firefly Beach

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Summer at Firefly Beach

Ben and Hailey have been friends since childhood. Ben was Hailey’s best friend. I did that Ben and Hailey will be married in a few months. Ben has loved her for a lifetime. I am so excited that they are finally going to get Married. This was a wonderful story of her lose of Aunt Claire, and the loss of Gavins love. I am so excited that Hailey is going to run 1/2 of the company and then one day. He will be able to afford the entire company.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very predictable and too long

I can’t really blame the reader of this book because the story was so predictable and somewhat cheesy. I think the acting made the writing even more cheesy but like I said the reader can’t really be blamed. The story was not worth the listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I love stories set on a beach or seaside. This was a sweet story and the narrator did a great job telling the story and making me feel like I was right there.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Irritating accent

The readers accent and whining speech are extremely irritating. I had a hard time listening to this book for long periods. The readers accent distracts from the book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy Read

This book was an easy read. The story line had minimal complexity, and it was quick to get through. It was just okay.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Summer at firefly beach

Summer at firefly beach . This book is fantastic and very nice book for reading

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just okay

The narrater sounds good, but the story drags out. Some details seem unnecessary while others were missing and might have been helpful.