Stories from the States

Classics of American Literature
Narrated by: Peter Newcombe Joyce
Length: 5 hrs and 54 mins

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

In Cart

Publisher's Summary

American history overflows with good yarns. The many cultures which emigrated to the USA in the 19th century provided a broad fertile experience on which the short story writer could draw. The authors contained in this collection were masters of the craft.

The stories in the order they appear are:

  • 'Titbottoms Spectacles' by George William Curtis
  • 'The First Piano in Camp' by Samuel Davis
  • 'Mr Tolman' by Frank R. Stockton
  • 'Mrs Bullfrog' by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • 'Against His Judgement' by Robert Grant
  • 'A Desperate Adventure' by Max Adeler
  • 'Occurence at Owl Creek' by Ambrose Bierce
  • 'The Stout Gentleman' by Washington Irving
  • 'Clothes 'by Gustav Kobbé
  • 'Negative Gravity' by Frank R. Stockton

©2011 Assembled Stories (P)2007 Assembled Stories

Critic Reviews

"Peter Joyce is the most remarkable one-man band in audiobook publishing. Joyce, an experienced actor, reads them all himself." (The Independent)

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.