Your audiobook is waiting…

Sound of Silence

Narrated by: Shaina Summerville
Length: 6 hrs and 2 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Welcome to the end of the world. 

We thought we were alone in the universe. Turns out we were wrong. 

Dead wrong. 

When alien ships land it’s all anyone can talk about. But for a year, nothing happens and the world starts to believe it’s just an elaborate prank. 

Until they finally emerge from their space crafts. 

And that’s when I saw him. Jace’el, son of Thral’el, leader of the Others. I don’t know if I can trust him, but I do know I can’t stay away even if I wanted to. 

They came offering world peace, and everything was perfect… right up until people started getting sick. Now a virus is running rampant through every city in the world, decimating the entire human population as well as the Others. 

And that's when the runners first appear. Humans and Others alike, ravaged by the disease and turned into flesh-eating monsters. 

The worst part? There is no cure. 

I am Raylinn Marrow, and this is the beginning of the end. 

For fans of The 100, Star-Crossed, and The 5th Wave, this heart pounding, must-listen-to YA, dystopian, romance is one you don't want to miss!  

©2018 Ali Winters (P)2019 Ali Winters

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly Surprised, Worth A Listen

I was debating whether to get this book or not. I decided I would give it a go. I am so glad I did!
I enjoyed the story, the characters, the plot, etc. I am not usually one for books with aliens, and dystopian novels are hit or miss for me. Many times I read them and feel hopeless which I don't always like. This book did not make me feel that way. Proably becuase of the sweet love story.
It does involve an instant love which I know some people do not like, but I don't mind that, as long as I feel it is founded.
Some of it (but not all) was predictable. I also, did not mind that. It was nice to just listen and enjoy instead of being worried I may miss something becuase of hard terms or a complex plot.
It is a book I will relisten to in the future. I also cannot wait for the sequel!!!
Shaina Summerville does a great job with the narration. Her voice and speed are perfect. I hope she will narrate future books in the series!
I received this audiobook at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved This!

This was quite an entertaining experience! This was engaging and action packed. I found that I didn't want to stop listening. Of course, I absolutely love anything written by Ali Winters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Great story, I loved the unique combination of scifi and dystopian elements and how the author managed to wave them together. The Narrator did a great job for the most part, but there were some characters that came across as whiny or far younger than they were depicted by the story. The narrator shows promise but needs to work on her skills a bit. Still, it didn't take away from the story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful read!

Humans and Others alike, ravaged by the disease and turned into flesh-eating monsters...
The worst part? There is no cure...

Wow - what a pleasantly surprising read! So amazed and awed by this book. Lovely reading this book from beginning to end - did not want to stop reading it.

So interesting. So mesmerising.

The narrator did an outstanding job of bringing this novel to life!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Tina H
  • Bassano ab Canada
  • 03-20-19

Interesting Read

I really found this a interesting read. I enjoyed the characters and the story spin. Different for me from what I normally read or listen to but I totally enjoy this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

That ending!!!

This book had me on the edge in a good way. I did not expect that ending! Although, a space dragon would have been pretty cool. This has become my favorite science fiction/dystopian book with a Romeo and Juliet style flare. Can’t wait for book two!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SD
  • 03-08-19

Romeu & Juliet Reversed

I hope I'm not revealing too much when I say this book is a new reversed version of Romeu & Juliet with an alien invasion and a zombie like virus as backdrop.
The new mix is actually surprisingly very good. We follow the story through the eyes of our "Juliet" and I like the way the author describes the places, the feelings and the action. Ne narrator (female) is also good, not the best at making different voices but very expressive and we can understand everything even in the quick paced scenes.
Now the ending is a bit anticlimactic, at least for me, not as in it's a bad ending, not at all, it's just feels too much as a real ending for a book 1 series... Maybe there should be some preview of the next book to keep us hooked in the plot, even though them we would curse the author for it :P eh eh.
Anyway, a very good and fun reading in the end, and I feel like the real story (with all the conspiracy theories I love) will only show way in the next books. Hope I'm right!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great for a Teen Sci-Fi Drama

Narration: I was delightfully surprised that Summerville, with her small number of credits on audible, has done a great job narrating this book. I wouldn't mind listening to more books narrated by her.

Story: So teen drama is not normally my thing... that being said, it was a great book for what it is. I could see this as a teen drama playing on tv right next to shows like Starcrossed. As other reviews noted, there is an element of insta-love to it, but the rest of the story is written well enough for that to be forgiven. I like the twist and concept that happens throughout the middle of the book. I do wish I would have waited to finish this story until the 2nd book released.


This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dystopian, Sci-Fi, Good narration, Entertaining

This story is super great! Loved Ali Winters' writing, and the idea for this story is wonderful, and exciting! I was entertained through the whole story, and although I've read other alien invasion stories, this one felt unique to me! I listened to the audio on Audible and the narrator did a great job. She fits Raylinn’s character really well; I’d recommend listening if you have the chance. Raylinn, a teenager, doesn't quite know what to think when an alien race lands on Earth, but when she unexpectedly feels a connection with Jace, an alien, her feelings become more confusing, and when unexpected events begin to affect everyone, Raylinn doesn't know who she can trust. Raylinn has to go through some tough stuff, and she maintains her strength and composure through it all. The story gets a little dark, and I enjoyed the unique way the story develops. I really enjoyed the romance in this story, it's really sweet and I enjoyed the connection between the two. There's some great suspense in this story, and I'm really looking forward to seeing more from Ali Winters in this world!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read!

A unique take on the end of the world with a combination of aliens and zombies that works!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DD
  • DD
  • 05-26-19

Sound of Silence

I think the audio narration of this book helped to enhance it. Don't get me wrong, when I read the book I thought it was good, but I couldn't understand or visualize some of the emotions the characters had until I listened to the audiobook. In essence, the narration of Silence made a good book a great book. I was finally able to grasp how dire Jace and Ray's situation was and I could see that they were possibly on the verge of a great love story. The narration was done so well that I'm excited about the second book. I really need to know what comes next for Jace and Ray. I'm wondering how their relationship will progress, how they will survive in a situation that seems bleak and why they didn't succumb to the... oh well, I can't say what they didn't succumb to because I might be giving too much of the story away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jen -Jen
  • Jen -Jen
  • 02-23-19

LOVED!!!!

I lived this book I had treble putting it down!!! Will be recamending it to o friends and family!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Grace Shelton
  • Mary Grace Shelton
  • 06-18-19

Spot on pronunciation!

I don't know if I have ever heard a narration speak so clearly with excellent pronunciation. I felt the story took a while to get going and to uncover the real issue of the story. Still good, once it got going, I was in and enjoyed. I want to know what happens next!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for This_life_journey
  • This_life_journey
  • 03-18-19

Fantastic!

An original and interesting story with strong characters who the narrator brings to life for you with her use of different voices! Well written, well narrated and very enjoyable! Another gem from Ali Winters!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. K. Fox
  • D. K. Fox
  • 03-17-19

Innovative concept

SOUND OF SILENCE was an interesting twist combining aliens and zombies in one story.
Although I felt a slight lack in character/bond building, I'm still interested to see where Ray and Jace end up in the sequel