• Son of the Morning

  • By: Linda Howard
  • Narrated by: Natalie Ross
  • Length: 14 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (128 ratings)
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling author of Troublemaker and Heartbreaker delivers a heart-pounding and romantic thriller about a woman who must travel back in time to stop a ruthless killer - but can she also protect her heart from the irresistible, dark lover she finds there? 

Is it possible to unravel a convoluted mystery from the past...by living it? 

A scholar specializing in ancient manuscripts, Grace St. John never imagined that a cache of old documents she discovered was the missing link to a lost Celtic treasure. But as soon as she deciphers the legend of the Knights of the Templar - long fabled to hold the key to unlimited power - Grace becomes the target of a ruthless killer bent on abusing the coveted force.

Determined to stop him, Grace needs the help of a warrior bound by duty to uphold the Templar’s secret for all eternity. But to find him, she must go back in time to 14th-century Scotland...and to Black Niall, a fierce man of dark fury and raw, unbridled desire. 

“A romantic time-travel thriller with a fascinating premise” (Publishers Weekly), Son of the Morning is perfect for fans of Pamela Clare and Karen Robards.

©1997 Linda Howington. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Son of the Morning

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So, so dumb!

I got this book despite some bad reviews because I like Linda Howard, and I love to listen to Natalie Ross. But this story was just beyond stupid. The book desperately needed a good editor. Way, way too much of the story of the main character, and I get that she needed some time to grow. But that part could have been shortened by hours. Then when it finally got good, it was over. Plus the choices this PhD woman made were just so stupid. It was a really frustrating experience and I might ask for my credit back.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

STICK WITH IT, ONE HOT SCOTSMAN COMING UP !

Natalie Ross' narration wasn't my cup of tea at the beginning, but she grew on me rather quickly once I got into the storyline. I have only recently "discovered" Linda Howard; and, my goodness, am I glad I have! SON OF THE MORNING melds past and present with a plucky, determined heroine in Grace St. John and a lusty, Celtic warrior in The Black Niall. Their scenes together are toe-curling! I found the prologue and the beginning a bit slow and somewhat repetitive in parts of the story regarding facts, but stay with it, you won't regret it at all. This earlier work of Linda Howard shows her excellence in storytelling and setting up character interactions. Grace's flight after a traumatic experience is riveting and downright scary in parts as she cleverly evades the villains. Supportive characters are well done and defined. This one is a definite winner in my book and I know I'll be listening again!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorites

I have read this book several times and enjoyed hearing it for the first time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Linda Howard as Awesome as Always

Loved the story. Spent my covid isolation on Dec 26 listening to Natalie Ross(Great Narrator) she is awesome - have listened to many from her.
Linda Howard gave me a story that kept captivated from the time started listening to the time Natalie Ross finished. Have read and listened to many books written by Linda Howard, from my favourite Dream Man to now Son of the Morning. At this time when things are tough, thank you for letting me slip away and enjoy a little fantasy.
I am and will always be a fan.
Thank you

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

I have stayed up all night to listen. A really good story and excellent performance.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A favorite Time Travel Romance Adventure (Templars to 1996)

I originally read SON OF THE MORNING soon after 1996 and I have enjoyed rereading it several times since then. This was my 1st time with the audio version (listened at 2.2x) but I know I will be doing so again. I love the Scotland setting during the time following the Crusades and the Templars mixed with “present” day and the slow burn (to steamy moments) romance. Technology is dated, if that bothers anyone- it wasn’t a problem for me (dial-up modems, dial pay phones, etc).
This is a Howard favorite of mine. ❤️

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly original time travel

Really loved this take on time travel, templers, and Scotland worth the read thumbs up

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!!!!

I absolutely loved everything about this book. Characters are engaging. Catch your attention from start to finish. I did listen through audible. They did extremely well

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Linda Howard's best book IMHO

I've read all her books from the start and seeing her progression as a writer has sour my progression as a reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an interesting take..

If you like a good fairy tale that has an intriguing plot, then this is a good book for you. It has a bit of a sci-fi flare and kept my interest.
Narration was pretty good.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea Dickinson
  • Andrea Dickinson
  • 11-01-20

Phenomenal story and storytelling

A wonderful story. The storyteller did an incredible job. Very special. Am sad for it to have finished.