Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling author of Troublemaker and Heartbreaker delivers a heart-pounding and romantic thriller about a woman who must travel back in time to stop a ruthless killer - but can she also protect her heart from the irresistible, dark lover she finds there? 

Is it possible to unravel a convoluted mystery from the past...by living it? 

A scholar specializing in ancient manuscripts, Grace St. John never imagined that a cache of old documents she discovered was the missing link to a lost Celtic treasure. But as soon as she deciphers the legend of the Knights of the Templar - long fabled to hold the key to unlimited power - Grace becomes the target of a ruthless killer bent on abusing the coveted force.

Determined to stop him, Grace needs the help of a warrior bound by duty to uphold the Templar’s secret for all eternity. But to find him, she must go back in time to 14th-century Scotland...and to Black Niall, a fierce man of dark fury and raw, unbridled desire. 

“A romantic time-travel thriller with a fascinating premise” (Publishers Weekly), Son of the Morning is perfect for fans of Pamela Clare and Karen Robards.

©1997 Linda Howington. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Son of the Morning

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

STICK WITH IT, ONE HOT SCOTSMAN COMING UP !

Natalie Ross' narration wasn't my cup of tea at the beginning, but she grew on me rather quickly once I got into the storyline. I have only recently "discovered" Linda Howard; and, my goodness, am I glad I have! SON OF THE MORNING melds past and present with a plucky, determined heroine in Grace St. John and a lusty, Celtic warrior in The Black Niall. Their scenes together are toe-curling! I found the prologue and the beginning a bit slow and somewhat repetitive in parts of the story regarding facts, but stay with it, you won't regret it at all. This earlier work of Linda Howard shows her excellence in storytelling and setting up character interactions. Grace's flight after a traumatic experience is riveting and downright scary in parts as she cleverly evades the villains. Supportive characters are well done and defined. This one is a definite winner in my book and I know I'll be listening again!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

I have stayed up all night to listen. A really good story and excellent performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This is not a new title, just marketed to look it

I love Linda Howard. This was a good story idea, flawed by a lack of forward movement. At some point, a writer needs to hear from a good editor. "It's time to get to the main story and stay there". Atmospheric interferences with storyline essentials are apparent to any experienced reader. Unfortunately, people who do not know this writers latter talent might just assume it's all of this caliber. What this uneven telling produces starts as a good romance story with the main characters meeting up in dreams. Sounds great....but the supernatural idea that proved so compelling is eclipsed by the repeated superfluous mundane and that constant disruption makes it difficult to trust the narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific book!

I’ve enjoyed many Linda Howard books but never one like this! I love the story and time travel- very exciting! I’d love to read more in this genre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My favorite book😍

This will always be one of my favorite book😍 the performance was excellent. Keep adding older books to Audible.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea Dickinson
  • Andrea Dickinson
  • 11-01-20

Phenomenal story and storytelling

A wonderful story. The storyteller did an incredible job. Very special. Am sad for it to have finished.