Regular price: $15.48

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A chilling ghost story for a cold winter's night, for fans of Joe Hill and Sleeping Beauties.

Twelve years ago the small town of Coventry, Massachusetts was in the grasp of a particularly brutal winter. And then came the Great Storm.

It hit hard. Not everyone saw the spring. Today the families, friends and lovers of the victims are still haunted by the ghosts of those they lost so suddenly. If only they could see them one more time, hold them close, tell them they love them.

It was the deadliest winter in living memory.

Until now.

When a new storm strikes, it doesn't just bring snow and ice, it brings the people of Coventry exactly what they've been wishing for. And the realisation their nightmare is only beginning.

©2014 Christopher Golden (P)2014 Headline Digital

Critic Reviews

"Throw away all those old 'it was a dark and stormy night' novels, this one is the real deal." (Stephen King)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jennifer
  • 11-22-14

Snowblind

This was a fantastic story really creepy, the snow storm comes and so does the evil that lurks in the snow,the description of the evil things that come with the storm really had me creeped out,i just thought what a fantastic story I could picture everything, again another book that would make a fab film.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. Virginia H. Stewart
  • 04-08-14

Listen during a cold winter!

I found this book a really good listen. It evoked a cold bitter winter very successfully and I found the demons/ice monsters believable. I found that the mix of characters was slightly confusing and had to concentrate at times but overall I loved it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sue Jackson
  • 03-18-16

Good when it got going!!

Would you listen to Snowblind again? Why?

Maybe in the future sometime.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Snowblind?

It was touching to have your lost loved missed one come back but the Icemen are scary !!

Which scene did you most enjoy?

The guy with daughter Anna and playing with her near the end.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

BEWARE THE ICEMEN!!!

Any additional comments?

Good book when it got going !!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sarahmoose2000
  • 03-27-14

Chillingly Atmospheric

As a terrific snow storm rages over a town, various people disappear. Twelve years later, another storm hits.... will more residents disappear or will some be seen again for the first time since the last storm?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sarah MacHattie
  • 04-10-17

awsome. defo recommend

bit of a slow starter but if you can hang on in there it eventually picks up amd then you can't put the dam thing down! excellent ending!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • goldmoonstorm
  • 11-09-16

Loved it!

Loved it, it was all i had hoped for.. it made me feel every snow flake and icy wind as if I was there... characters you care about and the story had good pace... honestly can say I didn't find anything in this book that I disliked.. A excellent narrator also helped keep the tension going.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sparky89
  • 02-10-16

Mixed feelings

This book isn't too bad. Its not as thrilling or exciting as the author quotes make out but listenable to enough.

The narrator has an inoffensive voice, and his accents for (for the male characters at least) are pretty good.

The beginning starts out well enough, setting up the events of the first storm well. The next bit was a bit long winded though. Too much description going on I felt. The ending was decent enough, not hugely gripping and with some "cliff hanger" loose ends.

A bit of a mixed bag in my opinion. I am very glad I didn't read this myself, I don't think I would have made it all the way through.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Steve Boyland
  • 09-22-15

A good listen.

An original well read story that will keep you interested from beginning till end. It would make a good movie.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Petal
  • 02-16-15

Don't go outside! Stay in and read this :)

If you could sum up Snowblind in three words, what would they be?

Compelling chilly listening.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Hard to pin down a favourite, but I grew to really like Doug and was totally on his side!

Which character – as performed by Robert G. Slade – was your favourite?

Robert G Slade did a great job with Ali Shapiro's voice; he's got a great speaking style and managed to differentiate the characters well.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

You'll never look at a snowman the same way again...

Any additional comments?

The book does have a slow-ish mid section but its necessary in order to introduce the town and the ensemble cast of characters. More than just a horror story, its a tale of love, loss and the hint of something monstrous to come. I wasn't disappointed!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Andy
  • 01-10-15

Inventive tale.

Very enjoyable story which spun out differently than I expected .
Could only have been improved if there had been a bit of actual snow here while I was listening .