Your audiobook is waiting…

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Six Tudor Queens, Book 2
Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
Series: Six Tudor Queens, Book 2
Length: 21 hrs and 15 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.

History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.

©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mari gordon
  • mari gordon
  • 05-15-18

Well written, terribly read.

If you're familiar with Weir you'll know what to expext: the writing's ok, especially if you're into Tudor tales anyway.
However, the reading is awful, with pantomime-style voices and no interpretation of the writing at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-30-17

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms Jane Feasey
  • Ms Jane Feasey
  • 09-21-19

Never gets boring

I have been on a Henry v111 kick or should I say his wives for a while and have listened to several accounts of the lives and fates of these six women. There has obviously been each author's own twist and accounting of the facts . And actually the parts that crop up over and over I think are the truth. This particular book has Anne as quite a sweet natured person.I do not buy into the myth that she was an awful selfish woman prone to terrible acts to get what she wanted, but sweet natured and apart from a few tantrums blameless.? No. In this book a lot of the worse things are blamed quite squarely on George. I don't believe this. It doesn't matter how many times I listen to the accounts of Henry's six wives I never fail to feel completely for all these women who could not refuse a king. And to listen in horror to the deeds of a king blinded by his love of himself and reinforced by those around him. This is the kindest thing I can say about him. I do not like him at all. There were new things to take into account about Anne in this book and I was filled with horror at her end as I always am. The narrator was on the whole good but I hated her voice for Henry. She sounded like Prince Charles, often with a bunged up nose. And I cringed a lot of the time listening to that voice. These women make me grateful how far women have come. I'm now off to listen to the next book in this series. Jane Seymour. I hope to listen to all these books although they are not all available at present.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for knitter
  • knitter
  • 08-11-19

Ok, sort of.

I struggled to get through this. The rather odd, repeated paragraphs were very distracting. This interpretation gets the basic facts right but the characterisation of Anne as a calculating power hungry b***h and Henry as a spoilt, petulant brat leaves an unpleasant impression. Although the author can usually be relied on to weave a good story I wouldn't recommend this one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs D A Bradley
  • Mrs D A Bradley
  • 07-17-19

Disappointment.

Several passages have been repeated during recording, this is bad production.
The Narrator is unrealistic and unbelievable. There is far more to Anne than her lightweight narration portrayed.
Not a patch on the others.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Morris
  • S. Morris
  • 06-24-19

The Rise & Fall of A Queen

Ask most people about Henry VIII and they will invariably mention his second wife, Anne Boleyn. She is perhaps the best known of Henry's six wives. There may be some casual readers who might decide to opt for this book in the series only but having just read it and the first, I'd have to say Weir's first book in this epic series, Katherine of Aragon: The True Queens clearly the better of the two in my opinion. That is not to say that this second book is an uninteresting read, far from it, it's just that there is likely far more source material from which to draw upon with regard to Katherine and her long marriage to Henry than for Anne's relatively brief rise to fame and fortune. Not being an historian myself, I imagine this is true purely given the length of time Katherine was queen combined with her brief history with Henry's brother, Arthur. SO, I would speculate that this fictionalized work of historical basis has to rely on much more by way of indirect references to Ann's early life and her initial dealings with Henry. I may well be wrong about this but I felt this was so when reading this book. In truth, I did find the Katherine of Aragon story much more compelling as I felt it had more substance to it.

Having said all that, please do not be put off this book. Weir does an overall excellent job and paints in detail the rise and tragic fall of this ambitious woman that would be queen. As the book progresses and Anne finally becomes Queen, there is more depth to the book perhaps due to the increased level of source material at this pivotal point in Anne's life. . As this book is written from Ann's perspective, we do not get a sense of the machinations going on behind the scenes, chiefly led by Cromwell that lead to her ultimate downfall. For more on this and an excellent complimentary work of historical fact about Anne, I highly recommend Weir's book "The Lady in The Tower" also available here on Audible

Weir does an excellent job of portraying Ann's final days and there is genuine poignancy here that really gives the reader a sense of the terror and confusion Ann must have endured in her last days. I have visited the Tower of London and stood inside the small chapel just feet away from where Ann was buried and have thought on the horror of her execution and the fear she must have felt with deep sympathy for her. For all Anne's foibles, this was not the end she deserved. It was a brutal period to live in which Weir alludes to several times in the book with respect to how Henry dealt with those that would oppose him.

As mentioned in my review of the first in this series, I'd like to have seen the same narrator used throughout. The narrator used for this book does a good job and is easy to listen to. However, as usual with me I have to mention some minor typos and two editing errors I noticed. I have to labour the point of proper proof reading and due diligence in this regard. perhaps it's just me that notices such things and they do not detract from the book as a whole but I do find such things surprising to see.

Given the historical record of Ann's life - in particular her early life, Weir has done a fine job of doing what she does so well, depicting historical figures as real people.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N C James
  • N C James
  • 06-07-19

Great book but didn’t like the readers voices

A great story, harrowing how Anne was treated.
It didn’t make her out as a saint, she was cruel herself at times which Weir does indeed portray.
Found the readers voices annoying.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TheFluffyViking
  • TheFluffyViking
  • 04-21-19

Narrator took away a lot of my listening enjoyment

Book in itself is excellent, like everything of Weir's that I've read and/or listened to but the stilted narration took away so much of the pleasure I've enjoyed previously. She takes far too many unnecessary pauses (which almost drove me to stop listening and asking for a refund!), and mispronounces several words and names.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-05-19

Very poor naration... <br />

I am an avid Historian and love the authors
philippa Gregory and Alison Weir
This audio is not up to the standard of naration as other Historical books to Audio. .. what is so sad, as an
Historian I read the book and listen to Audio...but I cannot listen to this. sorry for being negative.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for L. Ellis
  • L. Ellis
  • 02-07-19

Shocking mispronunciations

Absolutely brilliantly written by Alison Weir but badly let down by the narration. Henry’s voice is particularly annoying. His imploring Aaaanne, Aaaaane in an am-dram type voice drove me to distraction.

Also, if you are being paid to narrate in a professional capacity then your pronunciation should be faultless. But instead we have calunmy instead of calumny, Bereton instead of Brereton, St Peter ad Vernacular instead of St Peter ad Vincula. Amateurish and really not acceptable.

It’s a pity because it spoilt an excellent book. The ending in particular was stunning and unexpected. Please don’t let this narrator loose on another Alison Weir book.