Your audiobook is waiting…

Sick

A Project Eden Thriller
Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews
Length: 9 hrs and 50 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1,934 ratings)
Regular price: $19.95
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles.

Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She's had them before. Yet he can't help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare. But the nightmare is his. It's real. And it's just beginning....

Something is burning Ash's daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners. Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn't the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house. But these aren't the good guys. They haven't come to save Ash's family. They've come to separate them, to finish what they started. The problem is, Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible. Because humanity is on the brink of execution. And man is pulling the trigger.

©2011 Brett Battles (P)2011 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Like a fever, Sick makes you sweat and keeps you up all night, wondering what the hell is happening. It'll make your heart race like someone shot you with an EpiPen. You think Battles was badass before? He just cranked it up to 500 joules. CLEAR!" (popculturenerd.com)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    715
  • 4 Stars
    739
  • 3 Stars
    346
  • 2 Stars
    89
  • 1 Stars
    45

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    863
  • 4 Stars
    614
  • 3 Stars
    204
  • 2 Stars
    49
  • 1 Stars
    22

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    663
  • 4 Stars
    639
  • 3 Stars
    322
  • 2 Stars
    96
  • 1 Stars
    42
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyably addictive story!

But be warned he doesn't actually end his books. I love the story and know a lot of people are leaving bad reviews because he stops in the middle, but deal with it. Its worth it. I basically listened back to back and they are great. I'm waiting for my last credit so I can get the next one. Characters are enjoyable, with the occasional "nobody would actually do that" thought but they are few and far between. Good apocalyptic biohazard end of humanity story. You will be hooked.

39 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

finally an outbreak book without zombies!

I love stories about plagues and disease. .. I have no idea why; anyway I enjoyed this- its not the best, but it was entertaining.

18 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Another One Bites The Dust

This author has been independently published and published by a major firm. His other books run the gamut, but are miles ahead of this. This is another series that should have been edited, condensed, etc. This series just cuts off seemingly arbitrarily leaving the reader wondering how this selection is resolved. Can’t authors at least resolve some issues and provide a reasonable transition setting up future installments. A lot of these authors are writing just enough to take up 4-8 hours of reading time. This amount of product for one credit is obscene unless the product has been significantly polished and offers a unique reading experience. This book does not meet this criteria. It is just another dystopian novel with nothing really all that unique in the plot or characterizations. I can’t read anymore in this series.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Meghan
  • Greenbelt, MD, United States
  • 11-13-13

Does Humanity Need a Do-Over?

I'd really give this a 3.75 stars. Although this is the first in a series it can stand alone if you don't want to continue, unlike book 2 which will drive you up a wall. I got this in a special and I wasn't disappointed. I like the concept of a group of people fighting against a global cabal that wants to kill off 99% of the population. Giving humanity a do-over of sorts. I liked the main story line of the father, Captain Ashe. I thought the narration was good. He did children okay, and women okay but not as good as the male characters. But that's to be expected it seems with male performers, they tend to make women sound whiny. I've gone on to Book 2 which I decided to spend a credit on. So I guess I fell into the trap with the discounted book...

22 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not a bad World's End entry, superb narration!

I bought this during an Audible 2-for-1 credit sale, and I've enjoyed it quite a bit. As a thriller, it's a solid story, fairly fun and a little bit different. MacLeod Andrews is well-above par as a narrator, and brings real life to the characters! The story is really just okay, the characters pretty standard. The Ewww Factor is very low for a novel which might be considered scifi/horror, and I don't recall much in the way of profanity, so it's probably okay for younger readers/listeners.

Mild criticisms would be that Battles bludgeons his readers with explanations. You know how a TV show will sometimes attempt to catch viewers up to a complicated plot point through character conversations? Battles does this with the narrative, and his characters take for-freaking-ever to come around to believing the incredulous parts of the story. I mean, maybe that's a shade of realism, but we've already bought a book about a evil cabal planning a world-ending virus; you don't have to keep selling it. Also, calling an adult woman (Chloe) "the girl" repeatedly is very annoying, and I don't quite understand why the main character (Daniel Ash) is referred to strictly by his surname, while almost everyone else is first name only. But that's just me.

This is the first of Brett Battles's books that I have read, but I see he cranks them out like wildfire. I won't leap onto the rest of this series right away, but I may pick one up again in the future.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wanda
  • Pretoria, South Africa
  • 03-16-14

The narrator did a brilliant job!

In a fast moving plot I felt the narrator of this audiobook did an amazing job in keeping the tone of the plot current.

World buiding is very realistic, the plot although not unique per se is presented well enough to entertain and that is what I want from my reading material, I want to be entertained.

If you like a good read, love this gemre? Then I can say with no doubt that this book, be it on audio or print, is an excellent choice!

WaAr

16 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It's a no for me

I bought this because of a review that compared it to Stephen King. This was similar to The Stand in that it's a post-apocalyptic story & a government-created virus is the cause. The wording was just awful in some places - referring to one of antagonists as "the main guy" multiple times in a span of just a few minutes...

I didn't care for the narrator either.

The whole thing was really just awful for me. If you're looking for a good post-apocalyptic story other than The Stand, I highly recommend Swan Song.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Terrific adrenaline charged series!

If you could sum up Sick in three words, what would they be?

Intriguing, intelligent, charged

Who was your favorite character and why?

Ash - the emotional and psychological changes he endures creates the character we need for the following installments

What about MacLeod Andrews’s performance did you like?

Great tone, inflection, pace and pronunciation

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I wanted to listen to the entire series in one sitting!!

Any additional comments?

Don't hesitate! If you enjoy action, strong characters combined with an 'end of world' scenario you must purchase these! You will be glad you did.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 09-01-15

Project Eden is a continuing series...

that can be thought of as a single 60 hour book, so each of the first 6 books end with a lot of uncertainty and unresolved issues. The suspense builds up to a point that very few action thrillers can match. Along with the Jonathan Quinn series Project Eden establishes Brett Battles as one of the best thriller writers ever. Sick is the first book in the series.

McLeod Andrews narrates the Project Eden series and he does his usual great job.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Loved the narrative, disliked the premise.

I was hooked from the first chapter and found the story suspenseful and mysterious. I loved the characters as well, all of which is usually enough for a minimum of 4 stars.

The premise is just something I could not get over. Its really not a spoiler. A powerful group of Americans have infiltrated the military and government to single handedly solve a doomsday problem by creating a deadly virus and its vaccine to eliminate troublesome humans. The only mystery is exactly who these people are and how did they manage to gain access to US assets.

Mr. Andrews does an excellent job in narration.

If you love US government conspiracy stories this will be a 5 star experience for you.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful