adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Under the thunder moon, the war-horn will sound, and Odin’s Valkyrie will rise. 

Reunited with Hofund, and with Bolmsö safe from its enemies, Hervor takes her place as jarl. But the All-Father has bigger plans for his favorite shield-maiden. When Hervor learns that Jarl Bjartmar has vowed vengeance on Leif, she knows she must stand by her cousin. To free Dalr, they must enlist the help of old allies, former enemies, and a warrior-priest called the Reindeer King. Together, they will fight to free Dalr. 

Continue the Road to Valhalla series with Shield-Maiden: Under the Thunder Moon. Fans of Vikings and The Last Kingdom will relish this Viking historical fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Melanie Karsak. 

©2020 Clockpunk Press (P)2021 Clockpunk Press

What listeners say about Shield-Maiden: Under the Thunder Moon

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

Another excellent entry in this series. I can not wait to listen to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story Continues

I was given an Audible copy of this book for review; all opinions are my own.
This third entry in The Road to Valhalla is just as exciting and engaging as the previous entries. I love Norse mythology and this book takes you into the lives of the people who lived it. The main is awesome and well-rounded as this book explores her other desires.
As usual, the narrator is awesome, the accent so perfect. In this particular one though, she doesn't give enough emotion to the cheers and chant.
After the ending of this one, I'm interested in seeing what happens next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book 3

Book 3 was another great addition to the Shield-Maiden’s story. As Hervor continues to find her place in the world that was hidden from her, she continues to win the hearts of the readers. A strong independent female lead who is stopping at nothing to set the world right for everyone. I have really enjoyed this world and the new lands and people we have met in this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Series!

This series is so good! It has been enjoyable to see how things finally start going the right way for our shield-maiden. Hervor was so mistreated by her grandfather!

Narration was great and brought the characters to life.

The series has excellent character development and world building and the story moves at a great pace. I love how the gods are woven into the story to make it even more intriguing and interesting.

I stayed in the edge of my seat for most of this great tale. I felt like I was part of the story. I love how Hervor’s story wrapped up so nicely in this installment and things turned out even better than I expected it. Looking forward to more books from this talented duo: Melanie Karsak & Lesley Parkin.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Completely Addictive!!

Shield-Maiden: Under the Thunder Moon is the third book in the Road To Valhalla series. Hervor continues her journey, discovering her family, secrets her grandfather has kept from her and what destiny the gods have in store for her. It's not an easy path, this story is packed full of action, tragedy and so much more!! I love the audio narration. This amazing norse tale keeps you on the edge of your seat and I cant wait to see the rest of Hervor's story unfold!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sad it’s over

I have grown so attached to the characters in this series! The narration is fantastic, I absolutely love her accent! The story keeps you engaged and craving to know what happens next. It really pulls you into the world and makes you feel like your watching from the sidelines. Highly recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding story line!!

I dont know where to begin. The story line in these books is outstanding. The author does an awesome job of making you part of the story. The reader, her accent is just right for this story. I couldn't picture another reader reading them. Love, love, love these books and cant wait for book 4 and 5 to be released to audible!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellen Butfoy
  • Ellen Butfoy
  • 04-13-21

Book 3

This is the third book in the series. It is a good story about vikings, following a would be shield maiden which the gods have their plans. This book has lots of battles and and settling so past wrongs. I enjoyed listening to the story and it draws you in. I'm looking forward to the next couple of books still to come and to see what advature and trouble is still to revealed.