Regular price: $14.18

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The first book in the brand-new series from New York Times best-selling author Julie Kagawa. 

Enter a beautiful and perilous land of shape-shifters and samurai, kami and legends, humans and demons...a world in which Japanese mythology and imagination blend together.

When destiny calls, legends rise. 

Every millennium the missing pieces of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers are hunted, for they hold the power to call the great Kami Dragon from the sea and ask for any one wish. 

As a temple burns to the ground, Yumeko escapes with its greatest treasure - the first piece of the scroll. And when fate thrusts her into the path of a mysterious samurai, she knows he seeks what she has. Kage is under order to kill those who stand in his way, but will he be able to complete his mission? Will this be the dawn that sees the dragon wake?

Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Marie Lu and Cassandra Clare will be captivated by this enchanting new series.

©2018 Julie Kagawa (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Shadow of the Fox has just become one of my all time favorite fantasy novels! I'm in love with this book, its characters, its worldbuilding! Oni, giant centipedes, flesh eating ghosts, and terrifying half women/half spider things that will give me nightmares for weeks to come, this book is filled with terrifying Asian mythological creatures that make Medusa look like a mean grandma with a bad wig. Not to mention a lovable kitsune, a sexy demonslayer, and quite a few side characters that are larger than life and have completely wormed their way into my heart. I'm so invested in their lives and their quest and I cannot wait for the next installment of my new favorite series. In the meantime, I plan to re-read Shadow of the Fox again and again until I can be reunited with Yumeko and Tatsumi soon. So dear Julie, please write faster!" (Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy and Spirit Hunters series)

"Julie Kagawa is one killer storyteller." (MTV)

"Kagawa knows just how to end a first volume for maximum cliff-hanger drama." (Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gvido
  • Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 11-06-18

Full of yokai and entertaining

Cool novel, full of yokai and suspense. A fantasy Pseudo-Japanese setting, that is by no means boring.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gvido
  • Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 11-06-18

Full of yokai and entertaining

Cool novel, full of yokai and suspense. A fantasy Pseudo-Japanese setting, that is by no means boring.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gvido
  • Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 11-06-18

Full of yokai and entertaining

Cool novel, full of yokai and suspense. A fantasy Pseudo-Japanese setting, that is by no means boring.