Regular price: $20.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations.

In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus' stunning exposé illuminates one of the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

©2011 Hannah Nordhaus (P)2016 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"A fascinating read from cover to cover." ( Associated Press)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    247
  • 4 Stars
    138
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    249
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    235
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting listen!

Would you listen to The Beekeeper's Lament again? Why?

I didn't listen to it straight through as the content is dry - you need to love bees to love this book - so I listened in stages but the book is well done and interesting. Performance was great.

27 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

From a beekeeper

I could hear Miller's personality and voice as I sit here and wire frames, wondering if the crazy rain will let up so virgins that I grafted from Dr. Greg Hunt's Purdue University Mite biter breeders can take mating flights. The writing is so damn good. Such a great writer; well researched on so many levels. The reader's voice. So in tune and so real. Incredible incredible performance. I'm a man and not afraid to say that this made me smile and cry at the same time, more than once. Thank you so much Hanna Nordhaus and Xe Sands.

69 of 73 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

I learned so much. The narration was wonderful and the story pulled me in. I found myself wondering what will become of the honey bees. I’m always watching for them to visit my gardens and now, more than previously, I cheer when they arrive in the springtime. This book has definitely provided an inside look at the honeybee’s world and of their keepers.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the book

Well worth the read. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the author is a good storyteller. I also enjoyed the history of beekeeping through the book comma and I feel like I understand the background and importance of bees. I will listen to this again on Audible.

28 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you are a bee enthusiasts this is a great book.

I will read this book again and share it with my beekeeper friends. Nice narration also.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting and Informative

I have always loved bees and beekeepers. My dad kept twenty hives when I was a little girl, but lost them to pesticides when the apple orchard he placed them in was sprayed. He then kept just two or three hives in our yard. I had a tiny veil and beesuit when I was a little girl and I loved helping him. This book brought back some of that nostalgia, but it also gave me much information about modern beekeepers and modern bee woes. The book is well-written. The narrator is wonderful. The topic is fascinating. I even came away with a modicum of hope inspire of the dire situation.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent insight

Excellent insight into the minds and lives of some of the big names in US beekeeping. History of bee ailments, remedies and struggles will help you learn more about this amazing hobby or profession.
I highly recommend this book to the beginner and hobbyist alike.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Beekeeping for beginners

I did not really know what to expect, so my expectations were low. After the first chapter I found myself very interested and where the book was going. Listening to the process of beekeeping was an interesting topic. I had no idea the intricacies involved. Moving the hives back-and-forth, finding the right flowers, loading and unloading, dormancy… Very interesting book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

delightful and informative

I had a great time listening to this audio book. The narrator has a very pleasant voice, and she tells the story well. I learned a lot of good stuff about bees and honey, and the plight of bees. It made my commute pleasurable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent, very poetic read.

This has been one of the best books on bees I've read in some time, highly recommended.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful