We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Stars Are Legion Audiobook

The Stars Are Legion

Regular Price:$30.09
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. For generations, a war for control of the Legion has been waged, with no clear resolution. As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation - the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan's new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion's gravity well to the very belly of the world.

Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion's destruction - and its possible salvation. But can she and her ragtag band of followers survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?

In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune, The Stars Are Legion is an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of the genre's most celebrated new writers.

©2017 Kameron Hurley (P)2017 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"This gripping book is both hard to read and easy to appreciate." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (134 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (48)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
3.6 (121 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.3 (119 )
5 star
 (59)
4 star
 (39)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amy Jesionowski Buffalo, NY 05-22-17
    Amy Jesionowski Buffalo, NY 05-22-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    39
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    174
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    Kameron Hurley has quickly become one of my favorite contemporary authors. Her books are filled with original storylines, strong female characters, and a much-needed feminist perspective in the genre. Hurley has managed an intriguing story and an immense undertaking at world-building so intrinsically enmeshed withing the story there is no separation of the two. I simply can't wait to devour more stories from this author. Thank you, Ms. Hurley!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yoly Miami, FL United States 04-28-17
    Yoly Miami, FL United States 04-28-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    The story is great (and a bit weird at first) and the narrators are just perfect.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zachary T. Elston 10-18-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worthy"

    It is a simple story. And Inside is new world that will spark your imagination.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Buck Alive 10-05-17
    Buck Alive 10-05-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I have never seen such an organic based story. Yes"

    Great everything.. Biologically astounding. it changed the way I view biology and Organics superior vision

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harry Pottash Tujunga, CA, United States 09-28-17
    Harry Pottash Tujunga, CA, United States 09-28-17 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "cronenberg meets Philip k dick... pootly"

    struggled to finish. the characters were one dimensional, the amnesia plotline felt worn thin and the body horror quickly lost its horror.

    the interesting works was not enough to redeem the underwhelming story

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barry Clark 09-14-17
    Barry Clark 09-14-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Decent premise, too much personal agenda"

    Story concept was good enough. It seems the author has too much against men for me to be able to get into the arc.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NB 08-09-17
    NB 08-09-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Waste of time"

    Terrible story. What was the point? Don't waste your time. The author created intrigue but leaving questions unanswered and implying they are fascinating answers BUT then never fully answering them and the little bit they were answered was not very interesting.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vincent Jeffries 07-09-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    105
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ohhh... All the Body Fluids"

    Leckie's Ancillary series is a recent favorite of mine, and if you like those books, then there are plot conceits and themes this story has in common with "Ancillary" that you should find interesting. Every character identifies as (and is biologically) female while the protagonist struggles to understand her purpose and identity itself. The fundamental difference between "Legion" and "Ancillary" is the former's throbbing, "organic" universe compared to the "artificial" element to the latter's machine-assisted existential origins.

    The world-sized "ships" in "Legion" and their inhabitants are fleshy things that excrete blood, mucus and feces at the slightest provocation. Why the author chose to slather almost every paragraph with so much bile, intestines and afterbirth is not completely understood by this reader. The important themes and a realistic topography could have been conveyed with less than half the gore.

    It's not that the blood and guts are hard to stomach (which some readers will struggle with) but that the descriptions of puss, cancerous sores and shit are just so repetitive. Perhaps it's necessary constantly be reminded of the relationship between human and ecological bodies as systems through this scaler extrapolation? It certainly caused this reader to think about the relationship between biology, creation and determinism, but that may just be one person's projection? Plus, this is what good story telling can and should do, so while I'm wary of the necessity, there is a purpose being served through the muck.

    The political story and basic plot points are built upon multi-layered betrayals and motivations. This makes the characters interesting, if a bit unlikeable. But the protagonist's journey and development are compelling enough to propel the story.

    There's little science in this fiction and none of the bizarre forces and "technology" at work here are given even a perfunctory hand-waving. Fans of military, hard or even heavily abstracted sci-fi may be disappointed by the fantasy-in-space feel. The word "magic" isn't used, but the monsters and physical forces at work in this universe are deeply fantastical. But genre non-purists, especially those that factor diversity and convention-busting gender explorations should enjoy many of the ideas and characters presented in "Legion".

    I may not be extremely attracted to the ever-increasingly explored themes in "Legion". Yet, to Hurley's credit, the author manages to cut through the tonnage of gore to present ideas that matter with characters that can be cared about.

    Oh, a final audio-only comment about the book; the narration by both performers is excellent. I will look for stories featuring these narrators again.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timothy San Rafael, CA, United States 06-19-17
    Timothy San Rafael, CA, United States 06-19-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "just could not get into it"

    I really enjoyed kameron's earlier books. this one I just couldn't get a good feeling for the character, and the world being described just didn't pull me in. I'll give it another listen later and see if it is just me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Boisvert 06-04-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meh"

    I am a hard sci-fi fan. Given the rave reviews, I thought I would give this a try. New age ghost in the machine feminist focus was definitely not for me.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • vivianne carvalho
    9/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "overall poor"

    poor story line horribly connected. no real answers given about anythinf really. the performance is the only thing good about this audiobook

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ben L
    7/26/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story"

    This was a good concept. Took a while to get into but enjoyed the two storylines.

    The narration was a little wooden but not enough to detract from a good story

    I was a little overwhelmed at the beginning but it pays off in the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.