Scars on the Face of God

Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Prayers sometimes land on the Devil’s ears. 

The year is 1964. A construction project in the town of Three Bridges, Pennsylvania unearths an ancient sewer. Inside is a mystery dating to the 19th century: The hidden skeletons of countless infants.

As the secrets of Three Bridges begin to surface, an ancient codex is discovered in the attic of a local orphanage. A bible containing writings in Lucifer’s own hand.

The parish priest and a church handyman set out to discover the truth. But a series of strange visions and horrifying tragedies begin, and the darkest secret of all becomes clear: The town of Three Bridges is marked, and the Devil is coming out to play.

For fans of Stephen King and Stranger Things.

©2019 Severn River Publishing (P)2020 Severn River Publishing

Critic Reviews

Scars on the Face of God is a brilliant novel. Congratulations on hitting one out of the park...” (Jonathan Maberry, NYT best-selling author and winner of multiple Bram Stoker Awards)

“...Bauer writes with passion and intensity, tackling the mysteries of faith and fear. Hotter than the flames of hell.” (Scott Nicholson, author of Scattered Ashes, They Hunger, The Red Church, and The Harvest.)

"These characters...are exquisitely drawn, fully-fleshed beings that leap from the page to engage you in the plot...The writing is pitch-perfect, from the language used to the intricate weaving of plot threads. This is a talented writer, a name I will expect to find on New York Times best seller lists. (Kelly Jenkins, SF Crowsnest Review)

What listeners say about Scars on the Face of God

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie Preston Lewis
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 07-06-20

Definitely has it moments

With a bit of ruthless editing, this book could be great. In the beginning I thought I was getting a lesson on sewage, then bibles, then corporate greed in the illegal disposal of waste with a bit of horror thrown in. I was somewhat perplexed and only persevered because having read Chris Bauer's Binge Killer, which was great. I know this chap can write. It kind of all worked itself out and there were some flashes of excellent writing. It's a shame that Mr Bauer covered so many interesting topics all in the same book, which made for some confusion.