This title is included in Audible Escape

Rivals of Fortune

Narrated by: Gemma Dawson
Length: 8 hrs and 48 mins
Categories: Romance, Historical
4 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)
This title is included in Audible Escape

$12.95/month ($6.95/month for Audible and Kindle Unlimited members). First month free for new Audible Escape subscribers. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

When you select “Confirm Purchase”, this title will be added to your library at no cost to you.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Joanna Rowntree thinks she will die of a broken heart when her one true love marries another - until not one but two fascinating newcomers appear on neighboring estates. As the roughhewn Jonathan Erland and the polished Sir Rollin Denby engage in a heated competition for her hand, Joanna realizes her heart is alive and well - but to whom will she give it?

©1981 Jane LeCompte (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A regency romance in the tradition of Jane Austin and Georgette Heyerdahl

Jane Ashford creates vivid characters. It was refreshing to have a hero who wasn't a rake or a tortured soul in need of a good woman to make him mend his ways. Readers looking for lots of hot, steamy sex should skip this one. But if you are interested in characters you can like and enjoy the regency period, this is a good choice. The heroine starts out shallow, but she matures with experience and come to appreciate the hero. My only complaint is the mystery woven through the isn't much of a mystery. But then it is really only a plot device to bring the hero and heroine together. Also, an excellent narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FABULOUS!

Excellent narration, my favorite Jane Ashford novel by far! Joanna Rowntrees's love triangle was wonderful to navigate, i enjoyed every second of it.