Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart
How steamy is it? Simmering

Publisher's Summary

Joanna Rowntree thinks she will die of a broken heart when her one true love marries another - until not one but two fascinating newcomers appear on neighboring estates. As the roughhewn Jonathan Erland and the polished Sir Rollin Denby engage in a heated competition for her hand, Joanna realizes her heart is alive and well - but to whom will she give it?

©1981 Jane LeCompte (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A regency romance in the tradition of Jane Austin and Georgette Heyerdahl

Jane Ashford creates vivid characters. It was refreshing to have a hero who wasn't a rake or a tortured soul in need of a good woman to make him mend his ways. Readers looking for lots of hot, steamy sex should skip this one. But if you are interested in characters you can like and enjoy the regency period, this is a good choice. The heroine starts out shallow, but she matures with experience and come to appreciate the hero. My only complaint is the mystery woven through the isn't much of a mystery. But then it is really only a plot device to bring the hero and heroine together. Also, an excellent narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FABULOUS!

Excellent narration, my favorite Jane Ashford novel by far! Joanna Rowntrees's love triangle was wonderful to navigate, i enjoyed every second of it.