Your audiobook is waiting…

Riots I Have Known

Narrated by: Vikas Adam
Length: 4 hrs and 3 mins
5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Riots I Have Known, the short, electric, uproarious, and biting debut novel by Ryan Chapman is a real-time confession, set during a prison riot, in a high-comic pitch, a voice-driven narrative in the tradition of Paul Beatty’s The Sellout and Aravind Adiga’s The White Tiger.

It is present-day Dutchess County, New York, where an unnamed Sri Lankan inmate has barricaded himself inside a computer lab while a riot rages outside, incited by an article published in the prison’s literary journal, The Holding Pen. As he awaits imminent interruption by the growing crowd of guards, prisoners, and news crews on the other side of the doors, he takes us on a confessional roller coaster of plot and language, exploring not only his life in and out of the clink, but also asking himself the important questions: How did an enterprising Sinhalese end up here? Should he have remained a quiet Park Avenue doorman? Are his beloved few possessions safe in E Block? What will become of The Holding Pen, a “masterpiece of post-penal literature” favored by Brooklynites everywhere? Meanwhile, he reveals how his actions have inadvertently led to the chaos around him. 

Smart, wry, and laugh-out-loud funny, Ryan Chapman’s Riots I Have Known is an utter gem of contemporary social satire - an approachable and accessible send-up that packs a punch. 

“Hilarious, original, and cunningly wrought, Ryan Chapman has written a rocket-powered ode to literary creation and mass incarceration. Weaving satire and seriousness into a singularly rambunctious monologue, rollicking and oddly recognizable at once, Riots I Have Known is a breath of fresh air.” (Alexandra Kleeman, author of You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine and Intimations)

©2019 Ryan Chapman (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully unreliable narrator--

By turns funny, provocative, and contradictory, Chapman's book is a marvel. This is clearly not a book for everyone--fair warning--but if you love assessing the voice and reliability of your first-person narrators, this book is for you. Don't look for a linear plot or a character you will know deeply--MF withholds, dissembles, and exaggerates such that we cannot know him in any real or meaningful way. And that is ultimately what makes the thing so satisfying and unsatisfying at the same time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful