Reviver

A Novel
Narrated by: Ari Fliakos
Series: Reviver Trilogy, Book 1
Length: 12 hrs and 55 mins
4 out of 5 stars (324 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Winner, Paranormal, 2014

Jonah Miller is a Reviver, able to temporarily revive the dead so they can say goodbye to their loved ones - or tell the police who killed them. Jonah works in a department of forensics created specifically for Revivers, and he’s the best in the business. For every high-profile corpse pushing daisies, it’s Jonah’s job to find justice for them. But while reviving the victim of a brutal murder, he encounters a terrifying presence. Something is on the other side watching. Waiting. His superiors tell him it's only in his mind, a product of stress.

Jonah isn't so certain. Then Daniel Harker, the first journalist to bring revival to public attention, is murdered. Jonah finds himself getting dragged into the hunt for answers. Working with Harker's daughter Annabel, he becomes determined to find those responsible and bring them to justice. Soon they uncover long-hidden truths that call into doubt everything Jonah stands for, and reveal a sinister force that threatens us all. Putting the paranormal in the police department, first-time author Seth Patrick blends genre lines with this edgy crime thriller. The first novel in the Reviver trilogy, Reviver is sure to appeal to fans of Dean Koontz and Justin Cronin.

©2013 Seth Patrick (P)2013 Macmillan Audio
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    136
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    113
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Horror meets scifi and becomes mainstream.

What made the experience of listening to Reviver the most enjoyable?

The subject matter was very intriguing - reaching out to those beyond the grave and actually making contact.

What did you like best about this story?

This was a very original approach to a story that concerns itself with communicating with the dead and solving mysteries. There are to some extent stories within stories.

Which character – as performed by Ari Fliakos – was your favorite?

I liked the main character, Jonah. He was the main reviver in the novel. Revivers, of course, temporarily revive the dead to either give family members a chance to say good-bye or for police to learn who killed them.

If you could take any character from Reviver out to dinner, who would it be and why?

I want to query Jonah. What does it feel like to be a reviver? Can you teach me to do it? ETC. . .

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the book, but I think I would have liked it more if they had kept more to the theme of crime solving and families. The whole storyline of torturing the dead went a bit far afield for me. That should have been book number 2 and more developed. Otherwise, I liked it and would read more on this theme.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Original premise, exciting story

I enjoyed this story. An original idea. Very interesting. I will certainly be on the lookout for the other books in the series.

The narration was generally good and the characters well read. But, the appalling, terrible attempt at a Northern Irish accent just kept pulling me out. What was that? More like Scottish, West Country, with a bit of god know what else thrown in. If narrators can't do accents properly, then don't narrate a story! Get someone else to do it. Given that the character Never played an important part in the book, this was a constant distraction. I nearly gave up because of this.

However, I'm glad I didn't after all, because the ending certainly leaves you wanting more.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I am Confused.......

What would have made Reviver better?

I can't figure out how this title won an Audie award. The premise is a great one, being able to temporarily revive the dead for purposes of final goodbyes or solving murders. The plot, however, was tedious and predictable. The reader was ok, the only character he breathed any life into was Never, and that was because he had a distinctive accent. Very little in the way of character development. What a waste of a good premise.

What do you think your next listen will be?

Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King.

How could the performance have been better?

It was nearly impossible to differentiate characters. Annabelle's accent came and went and she was a flat character.

What character would you cut from Reviver?

Annabelle. A predictable love interest who was completely unlikeable.

Any additional comments?

I am really confused how this book won an Audie. There are far better paranormal thrillers out there. Don't waste your credit.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Starts off long, but then it gets cookin

I'm glad that I decided you read all the way through this book, the first half is a little slow, it's a little too descriptive... But the second half of the book is where all the action is, and if you don't listen to the first part you won't understand the action and why the story flows in the direction let it go

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Brilliant premise let down by finale cliche

I was completely sold on this story to begin with. I loved the scientific take on it, the idea that this could be explained away by particular biological and psychological processes. Then it went cliche in the third act and my heart was broken. It was a good book, but it promised greatness. Four stars for the first three quarters, two stars for the last quarter.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different, enjoyable

I usually listen to murder mysteries and this was a refreshing angle for the genre. I enjoyed the main character although I would have liked more details and character building on the main girl. I hope this is a series, I really enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique, refreshing plot

Completely believable premise albeit supernatural/paranormal subjects with engaging, endearing characters. Love Jonah and Never's characters. Never could have his own series. The audio narration was spot on. Will look for more audiobooks with this narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

This story exceeded my expectations! It was a fantastic and twisted listen with a great narrater! I highly recommend to those who enjoy sci fi and murder mysteries.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very big disappointment

This was an amazing idea that started so well - don't be fooled! The idea was completely wasted as the book turned into an action story. Female characters are astoundingly bad. I was very disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unique Sci-fi YA Story

I tried several times to listen to this selection and I will try again soon. I’m not sure why I can’t seem to finish this book. It has a great narrator and production values. It has a really unique plot with engaging characters. It’s really unusual for me not to be able to figure out why I can’t finish a book. That’s why I have scored the selection with high scores....I like it. When I finally do finish Reviver, I will update this review.