1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent - perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy? 

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as the Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the crown prince’s Council of Eleven. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But the Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: kill the crown prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn - but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself? 

With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love.

©2020 Jordan Ifueko (P)2020 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Raybearer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    591
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    575
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    523
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad!

I may not be the intended audience but I read/listened to this book when I received it in the Once Upon a Book Club subscription book for Christmas. 14 year old me would have absolutely loved it, 35 year old me saw paths and plot lines that she wished the author would have fleshed out a bit more. I enjoyed the back & forth tension between Tarisai and her mother because it is essentially realistic in so many ways. I ended the book still quite conflicted about the lady and wanting more! I guess this is the first in a series? I might check out the next book. Narration was great!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth your time

I almost didn't finish my research paper because I couldn't put this down. Ifueko builds a detailed and unique world and accompanies it with a plot that kept me fully engaged. The characters are nuanced and complex. The narrator did a beautiful job enhancing the story with distinct character voices. I'm left wishing there was more, hoping for a sequel while at the same time completely satisfied with the ending. I hope to see more work from Ifueko in the future!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I can’t wait for the sequel

Read this as part of our BIPOC bookclub and ended up talking as a group for 3 hours about this beautiful book. This book represents everyone, even the childfree and ace communities. It also has a morally ambiguous antagonist (as in your can relate to them even if they are going about things in the wrong way) and examines many complex themes about gender roles, government corruption, and the illusions of power and control.

Do yourself a favor and read this book!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read

Loved the book. One of the most complex YA stories I've found. Great performance by the reader, instilling character into the people and world. Only issue I have is the incomplete ending, but this is to be expected from a YA series. Already bought the next book on here.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Great idea, not a great execution

The concept is really interesting, but I had a hard time with how the main character let herself be manipulated and how she acts as if her entire purpose is for a boy. As for the performance, I like the narrator's voice, but I got so tired of the singing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best fantasy books I've ever read!

Its soooo good! And the narrator is wonderful at making the characters feel alive!! Do yourself a favor and get this book! I can't wait for the sequel!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 05-17-22

Amazing Story!

SOOOOOO good! The world building, the magic, the character development and the interpersonal relationships and how they developed (really love the strained parent-child relationships and growing into a heathier person despite it) - just, WOW! There is no part of this I did not love

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very well done!

What a fun, beautiful story. I loved the vivid descriptions of scenery, objects, people. I loved the plot line, thought it was a little drawn out at times when I had already guessed what was coming. The narrator did an incredible job - the best narration I have ever heard! 🏆 She was able to keep consistent with different voices and you could feel emotion the characters were experiencing. Overall this is such a fun book, I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

10/10

I loved this book. I was reeled in from the first few minutes. I was so good I got the sequel after hearing the first chapter. I can't wait to start the second book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm here for it. it's the greatness for me.

amazing I love how this story and characters were developed and greatness is found by their own truth.