Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent - perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy? 

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as the Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the crown prince’s Council of Eleven. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But the Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: kill the crown prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn - but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself? 

With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love.

©2020 Jordan Ifueko (P)2020 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Raybearer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    144
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best fantasy books I've ever read!

Its soooo good! And the narrator is wonderful at making the characters feel alive!! Do yourself a favor and get this book! I can't wait for the sequel!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth your time

I almost didn't finish my research paper because I couldn't put this down. Ifueko builds a detailed and unique world and accompanies it with a plot that kept me fully engaged. The characters are nuanced and complex. The narrator did a beautiful job enhancing the story with distinct character voices. I'm left wishing there was more, hoping for a sequel while at the same time completely satisfied with the ending. I hope to see more work from Ifueko in the future!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing

loved it. It is an amazing book. The narrator is amazing. I am wonders truck.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Book

The narrator's voice was perfect for this story. I couldn't stop listening. Entertaining from the beginning to end. I can't wait to hear what happens next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

what a fascinating tale.

This was a blessing of a heroes tale. The narration was wonderful. The world fascinating. The characters are what drives a story that feels like you know where it is going until it goes another way.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad!

I may not be the intended audience but I read/listened to this book when I received it in the Once Upon a Book Club subscription book for Christmas. 14 year old me would have absolutely loved it, 35 year old me saw paths and plot lines that she wished the author would have fleshed out a bit more. I enjoyed the back & forth tension between Tarisai and her mother because it is essentially realistic in so many ways. I ended the book still quite conflicted about the lady and wanting more! I guess this is the first in a series? I might check out the next book. Narration was great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Book to read multiple tjmes

This is an entertaining book full of complex and lovable characters, it can be read on many levels- for fun, for identification and reflection within self, and for connections to our current society struggles.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it was a fun ride

it took a lot of fun twists and turns. very well read. store moved fast.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Story

Wow! The story building in this book is phenomenal. The characters are brought to life by the great writing and even more by the fantastic voice work of Joniece Abbott-Pratt. I’m glad I chose this as my first listen of 2021. I can’t wait for the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book

Narrator did a great job and I really enjoyed the story and the characters.