Random Acts of Unkindness

DS Jan Pearce Crime Fiction Series
Narrated by: Laura Brydon
Length: 9 hrs and 50 mins
4.8 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling, gripping crime thriller with an ending you will never guess.... How far would you go to find your child?

DS Jan Pearce has a big problem. Her 15-year-old son, Aiden, is missing. Jan draws together the threads of missing-person cases spanning 50 years and finds tragic connections and unsolved questions.

Bessy Swain, an elderly woman that Jan finds dead on her search for Aiden, and whose own son, Thomas, was also missing, may have the answers. 

Jan uses Bessy's information and her own skills and instinct to track down the missing boys. But is it too late for Aiden? 

Set in the North West of England, with the notorious Saddleworth Moor as a backdrop, Random Acts of Unkindness is a story about motherhood, love, and loss and how families of missing people suffer the consequences of major crimes involving their loved ones.

Random Acts of Unkindness is the second in the DS Jan Pearce series of novels. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid and Mandasue Heller will love this gritty crime novel.

©2016, 2018 Kindle Press (P)2019 Jacqueline Christodoulou

What listeners say about Random Acts of Unkindness

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Too Bad

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Intriguing

I really enjoyed. Great listen. I received it as a gift and this is my voluntary review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Listen

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request, and have voluntarily left this review. Years have passed and Jan has moved up the ranks at the station. In her personal life, she's been married and has a son. But her son is missing and she's sure he's been kidnapped for her last investigation, but she has no proof. Even though she's on a new case, she keeps looking for her son, and quite by accident she finds a diary and a lead to so many missing boys. Interesting characters, suspense and action will keep you listen until the very end, an ending that you are not excepting. A great listen and I'm looking forward to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping!

Random Acts of Unkindness by Jacqueline Ward pulled me in from the very beginning. I found the storyline to be a mother's worst nightmare of her child disappearing, The author wrote great suspense and twists with this book. Laura Brydon was great bringing the characters to life with her voice. She gave them distinguishable voices, and her British accent was so fitting to the storyline. I requested this review copy audiobook and have voluntarily written this review. The twist at the end was great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen

This is a really great listen! The story is well written and the narrator does a really good job with the individual voices. I recommend this book for fans of mystery. I was gifted this book in return of my honest review

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann D
  • Ann D
  • 04-03-20

Highly Recommended!

This is a new author for me and I look forward to reading/listening to more of her work. This book is very well written, with well drawn characters and a compelling story. So many books in this genre are derivative. This one is not. The story moves seamlessly between North Manchester in the 1960s and the present day. Speaking as someone who grew-up in the area in the 60s, I found it to be well researched and accurate. I had another book lined-up to read straight after this one. However, I have set it aside as I just want to move on to the next in this series. Many thanks to Bookboom and the author for giving me a free copy of this excellent book in exchange for an honest review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lorna
  • Lorna
  • 03-31-20

So Many layers and perhaps some trigger warnings.

This story is so much more gritty than the prequel, examining the subjects of missing children, the moors murders and people trafficking from the perspective of the mothers. With a gradually evolving storyline and the viewpoints of two different mothers in two different eras, the detective pieces together the her current case using the clues left by the older woman. Running alongside this her feelings about her own son being a missing person are mirrored in Bessie’s story too. Harrowing and thought provoking this is a well laid out drama which thoroughly consumed me from start to finish. Laura’s narration is warm and heartfelt and her Manchester accents softer and more authentic than in the first book. I am going straight on to read the third book in this trilogy. Though I would say there is little continuity between this and the prequel and I am positive it could be read and enjoyed as a stand alone novel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire
  • Claire
  • 03-06-20

Gripped until the end

Wonderful book, had me gripped right up to the end. Narrator great, looking forward to listening to the next in the series

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aggie
  • Aggie
  • 03-04-20

Great book

I really enjoyed this book. It's an intriguing and well written story which keeps you captivating the whole way through. It's a psychologiac crime novel where the main character takes you on emotional journey. The narrator did a great job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MR
  • MR
  • 12-22-19

Great story

This was a great listen. Good characters and a story with twists and turns that keeps you listening I really enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CM
  • CM
  • 04-18-19

Hope there is more to come

I did enjoy this book and hope there will be more to come in the series. The narrator was excellent. The book it’s self could have done with some tighter editing. Some parts were repetitious however the story was gripping and I found it hard to stop listening.