Sample
  • Rainy Days for the Harpers Girls

  • By: Rosie Clarke
  • Narrated by: Polly Edsell
  • Length: 10 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (164 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Rainy Days for the Harpers Girls  By  cover art

Rainy Days for the Harpers Girls

By: Rosie Clarke
Narrated by: Polly Edsell
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.99

Buy for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

From the bestselling author of The Harpers Emporium and The Mulberry Lane Series.

1914 Oxford Street, London - There are hard times ahead for the Harpers Girls...

It is two years since Harpers Emporium opened its doors and life is good for Sally and Ben Harper as they look forward to the arrival of their first child.

Beth Burrows is settling into married life with Jack and is gradually recovering from her miscarriage and Aunt’s tragic death.

Harpers welcomes some new faces and they all become part of the daily life at the busy store.

However, whilst the sun is shining on the streets of London, dark clouds gather over Europe as war looms threatening rainy days for the girls…

A heart-warming saga following the lives, loves and losses of the Harpers Girls. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Pam Howes and Dilly Court.

©2020 Rosie Clarke (P)2020 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about Rainy Days for the Harpers Girls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    21
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Story but Bring Back the Original Narrator PLEASE!

The story is good and the author does a nice job juggling several main characters while transitioning new ones which I assume will be the focus of the next book. Story has historical accuracy which I appreciate.
Ugh! The narrator, though!! I kept having to rewind to try to understand Mr. Marco. Winnie pronounces all of her “R’s” as “W’s” (?! Why? There’s no mention of a speech impediment in the previous two books!?) and the American sister of Mr. Harper uses Canadian pronunciations at times. I feel like the narrator was trying too hard to differentiate between too many characters.
I’ll finish the series because I now feel invested in the storyline but hope the narration gets better.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story, horrible narration

I was looking forward to this 3rd book in the series, but I am finding that I am so distracted by the horrible accents, high pitched squeaky voices. Why in the world does Minnie suddenly develop a speech impediment in the 3rd book?!? What an insult!! Also, does anyone proof these books before they’re released? There were swallowing and or breathy noises after almost every sentence. So disappointing! If the 4th book has the same narrator I won’t be wasting my credit or money.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, terrible narration

Julie Burton did such a great job on the first 2 books, very disappointed in the narration in this one. she makes every female character sound like a whiny, childish twit. The men's 'voices' are especially annoying.
I loved the story, but almost gave up because of the bad narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What happened?!

The narrator for this book changed from the previous two. Some voices are ok, but she gave Minnie a speech impediment. And the American accent is really bad. Also Marcos accent is nothing like the first two stories, makes him sound like an entirely different character.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Series is great.

This is a pleasant series but honestly those voices are awful. Minnie is whiny, Rachel is too high pitched. Just too much. Not looking forward to more of this narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyed

I like this series, following the girls
growing up together.and their lives. off to the next book in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I love this series & have really enjoyed the first 2… this 3rd book story was great, but I did not like the new narrator…. She sounded extremely false & stuck up… & squeaky..

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different narrator

This was a different narrator than the first 2 in this series, and it was difficult to keep the characters straight as she used different voices and accents that has not been used in the previous books. That was disappointing, but the story line was just as good as the first two.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I did not care for the narrator of this book . I liked the narrator of the previous books. She changed how the characters sounded so they did not even sound like the same characters . It was distracting .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Story!

I loved Rosie Clarke's series! The three books I've read so far were great!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!