Your audiobook is waiting…

Protecting My Commitment

Sulfur Springs, Book 1
Narrated by: Michael Pauley
Length: 5 hrs and 38 mins
4 out of 5 stars (59 ratings)
Regular price: $19.95
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Dalton Andrews has seen it all. After spending a little over 10 years with the Denver PD, he’d had enough and joined Wildlife Services, not expecting it to be such an isolating career. When his job takes him on assignment to Crooked Bend, he jumps at the chance to work with actual people again when the town’s sheriff needs to hire a few more deputies. While at his new boss’ wedding reception, he unexpectedly meets a blue-eyed architect that makes his brain go fuzzy. 

Collin McKenzie has trust issues. After countless bad experiences, culminating in spending over a year hidden in the closet by his ex, he decided enough was enough. He not only broke up with him but he moved to a different state to start fresh. He loves working for the Welsh brothers and living in Wyoming puts him closer to his family. He’s sworn off men, but while attending a wedding, he sees a dark-haired man that makes him catch his breath. 

After spending an unforgettable night together, Collin mistakenly lumps Dalton in with his past experiences. Things are awkward between them, but the attraction is there and undeniable, so they agree to give it a try. But when Collin’s ex finds him in Wyoming and won’t take no for an answer, Dalton steps up and claims what he wants - Collin. But will he be able to protect the man he’s quickly falling hard for? And will Collin ever trust him enough to let him in?

Protecting My Commitment is the first book in the Sulfur Springs series. This is a Men of Crooked Bend spin-off, but it isn’t a requirement that you listen to that series to enjoy this one. Familiar faces will be seen, but this series takes you off of the ranch and into the lives of those in Sulfur Springs. While each book focus’ on a different couple and may be listened to as a stand-alone, you will receive maximum enjoyment listening to them in order. Each book contains sexually explicit material between two men and is intended for adults over 18 years of age.

©2018 Taylor Rylan (P)2018 Taylor Rylan

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent narration, very good story

I listened to this as an audiobook, and Michael Pauley is a dream narrator for me. His voice is so amazing, and he did really well with this book.

I liked this story. It took me a while to really get into it. Dalton and Collin have one night together, but Collin thinks Dalton left and freaks out. Unfortunately, Dalton sees Collin's freak out session and decides he should just leave. When Collin sees him out again, Dalton won't really give him a chance. Now I can understand this. They met once, didn't go well, and he doesn't want to continue on. But Collin has some kind of guilt or something that makes him want to keep apologizing. And Dalton has some kind of bad attitude that makes him want nothing to do with him. Except that he can't stop thinking about him. I felt like I was watching a yo-yo for a bit there. It didn't make sense, and I really couldn't see how they came together in the beginning.

That said, once they finally got together, they were totally sweet. Yes, I did have to wonder how the heck their relationship was able to move forward so quickly after the yo-yo, but it worked for them. There was some mystery/drama involved, and I liked how it played out.

Great potential for more in this series. Hopefully we can see Collin and Dalton a lot more stable in the future. Don't get me wrong, I believe 100% in their HEA, but they really know so little about each other and how they function together that it would be cool to see them more settled.

I am voluntarily reviewing an ARC provided by LesCourt Author Services

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Protecting My Commitment

OMG this audio book was absolutely amazing. I had absolutely loved it. I recommend this.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I really tried....

The best way to describe this for me was cring-ey. I can't for the life of me figure out where all the great reviews are coming from. Unbelievable insta-love. Unbelievable story-line. And for god's sake, stop using the characters names in EVERY sentence! I gave it so many chances and in the end I couldn't finish. I'm not a huge Michael Pauley fan to begin with, but sometimes I can endure. This is one of the examples of why I dislike him. He's too dramatic, especially in these roles. I'm returning this and won't probably read anything else from this author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Try Again And It Works

This is the first book in The Sulfur Springs Series. This is for the audiobook version. A spellbinding book the writing was good. The plot was entertaining and it was steady throughout the book. I found the story and characters likeable. The characters were developed and thought out. Dalton Andrews and Collin McKenzie are the MC’s of this book. There was humor, friends and family, dogs, miscommunication, an ex, destruction and more in this book. The narration was good it wasn’t monotone and there were different voices for each character. I can recommend this book as a good read and listen. I voluntarily read an advance copy of this book for an honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good start for a new series

Collin McKenzie admits he can be immature. Dalton Andrews admits he can jump to conclusions without all the facts. So, flawed human beings. I like those characters. Ones who have a lot of growth potential in the book. The book begins with a very memorable rant by Collin. Dalton has overheard and to say this makes things awkward is an understatement. This misunderstanding ends the chances of any possible relationship between the two men. Or it might have, but as they both live in a small town and keep meeting each other, the attraction continues to sizzle and, inevitably, they act on it.

Then Collin acts immaturely, Dalton gets upset, and the cycle begins again. Only this time, it’s Collin who’s doing the running. When his ex-boyfriend enters the picture, it’s only natural Dalton, the law enforcement officer, get involved. An interesting solution to the stalker problem doesn’t yield the desired results and more characters becoming enmeshed in the whole mess.

I want to pause here and point out, this is the first book in a series. It was pretty clear from the outset, though, that this series is an offshoot of another one. There are many, many characters (mostly male) who are married, settled and happy. For readers of Ms. Rylan’s books, I’m sure it’s always nice to revisit old friends and watch their maturation and happiness. Occasionally (emphasis on occasionally), I got confused at all the other characters. Also, there were only a couple of female characters. One is the girl who worked in the coffee shop who has a crush on a gay character and another is a vapid nasty selfish woman. There weren’t even any female deputies.

I’m highlighting the lack of good females because this is something I often see in m/m romances and it bothers me. Especially because these are often books written by women and the women in them are reduced to stereotypes or cardboard cut outs. Some of my favourite series have strong female secondary characters and I hope there will be more women in subsequent stories.

The ending was perfect and I did enjoy the book. At times, though, I felt like I wanted more. I wanted to love the book but just couldn’t fall in love with the characters. I blame that on myself and not Ms. Rylan’s book, which I do recommend. I believe (or hope) the next romance will be Collin’s brother Daniel, and I’m looking forward to it.

Finally, Michael Pauley. I LOVE Michael Pauley and always find his narration to be great. Given that this is Ms. Rylan’s first audiobook, all those other male characters from previous books did not have voices and Michael provided distinct ones for all of them.

Overall, a good listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The deputy and the architect

Michael Pauley does an excellent job of bringing the story and the characters to life.
As this is only book one in the series, I look forward to enjoying further books in the series.
When Wildlife Deputy Dalton Andrews and architect Colin MacKenzie meet and go home together after a mutual friend's wedding, what follows is a series of unfortunate misunderstandings in light of their clear attraction to each other.
After he blows the second chance granted him by the reluctant-to-trust Deputy, Colin is suddenly presented a third chance when a psychotic ex of his resurfaces and starts harassing and stalking him.
Dalton wants nothing more than to protect the skittish, scared Colin and even endures Colin's meddling brothers, uncle and cousins when the going gets tough and bullets start to fly.
I highly recommend that you join these guys on their journey to the altar and beyond.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good!

Really enjoyed listening to this one by Taylor Rylan! Michael Pauley did an excellent job of bringing these characters to life! Great job!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

This was a really great listen.
Taylor’s writing was great, and Michael’s narration took it to the next level.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Love love love love this new series by Taylor Rylan! I absolutely love Collin and Dalton's story! And Michael Pauley doing the narration is just perfection. He does another amazing job in ring that characters to life and I just had to finish listening. Definitely a story everyone needs to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love It!

Absolutely love this story and it's an amazing start to a new series. Collin and Dalton are spectacular together and their chemistry sizzles right from the very beginning no matter how much they try to stay away from one another. Love watching them grow closer little by little as they go through several ups and downs. The narrator did an absolutely AMAZING job with the story and with all of the characters. Love seeing characters from the Men of Crooked Bend series, wish Michael Pauley would narrate those as well. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.