Regular price: $13.85

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Annie Carter is back....

She was a madam in a brothel and a gangster's moll, but now her protection is gone and her enemies are closing in.

In 1971, London gang boss Annie Carter Barolli is living the New York high life with the feared Mafia godfather Constantine Barolli. Then family tragedy strikes, leaving only Annie, Constantine's sister, Gina, and his three children alive, and now they're in terrible danger. And what's worse - it signals a major shift in mafia power.

Annie returns to London with her daughter, Layla, pursued by a hit man. Someone wants her dead, and the only way she can stay alive is to find out who's paying for the contract and to strike first.

Then, the reappearance of an old East End face sparks a shocking suspicion - the possibility that Max Carter, Annie's first and greatest love, didn't die two years ago, as she had been led to believe.

Has he truly just been playing dead?

©2011 Jessie Keane (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"A cracking story from a great new writer." (Mandasue Heller)
"Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante." ( Glamour)
"Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel." ( Closer)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss
  • 01-14-18

Great Book

I really enjoy this author great follow on book well worth a read brill book

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-10-18

amazing!

just like each other book in this series playing dead kept me entertained and on the edge of my seat. I loved it how each of the characters intertwined and once again this book came to an explosive end. playing dead was sexy and action packed. I can't wait to read the next installment...