Part Reptile

UFC, MMA and Me
By: Dan Hardy
Narrated by: Dan Hardy, Simon Bubb
Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (68 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and eloquence on all things MMA and UFC, the brutal and ever-evolving sport that launched such superstars as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes.

Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight that has made him the best analyst working today from training in China with Shaolin monks to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelics and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping in to his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre. Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

©2017 Dan Hardy (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited

More from the same

Narrator

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

True Martial Artist!

Great man ! Great story ! One of best mma bios I’ve ever listened to . Highly recommend !!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very good story

Would have given 5 stars but a bit to much time was given to substance use in one chapter. But still not to bad

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Insightful memoir of fighter philosopher

Dan Hardy tells about growing up, finding his place in the world and what fighting is really about. It wasn't what I thought it was. Some people are born fighters and they can't help it, like Dan. They just don't have a normal fear of fighting.

Dan started with taekwondo as a kid. He traveled and trained with completely different martial arts schools, even under Shaolin monks in China. He learned methods of psyching out opponents, and this made him especially interesting as a UFC fighter.

Hardy was diagnosed with a heart problem that made him ineligible to continue fighting in the UFC, but they kept him on as a commentator. He pushes boundaries even in this role.

I didn't know a professional fighter had to be a serious thinker, but I now see it that way because of this book.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the insight and fascinating journey of Dan

I'm a big mma fan but was never really a huge fan of Dan Hardy until after the end of his fighting career and the start of his commentary/fight breakdown career. It was really interesting to hear his beginnings and his journey to find himself. A lot of relatable thought patterns and really inspiring for me.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R N KERSHAW
  • R N KERSHAW
  • 10-09-17

Salt of the earth dude 🤙🏼

Apart from the narrators questionable pronunciation of certain fighters names, this is my first audio book that had me hook line and sinker!!!
Dans story is fantastic. Real humble guy, for every story he has of greatness he soon knocks himself back down and finds balance in life. Comes across as a real down to earth guy and has a great story to share, get on it 🤘🏼

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R C
  • R C
  • 03-29-17

Very enjoyable

I personally really enjoyed this book. A very interesting and relatable life story, full of martial arts and UFC references.

I may be a tad biase in my recommendation of the book however. The heavy martial arts and MMA backdrop may be a bit much for some.
Because I'm a fan of Dan Hardy and mixed martials in general, all the fighters and fights mentioned were instantly familiar to me and the differing perspective quite fascinating.

My only small criticism is that the narrator mispronounces some fighting styles and fighters names on occasion. Like I said though, it's not a big deal and by no means detracted from my enjoyment.
In fairness, most people probably won't even notice.

If you are a fan of MMA, I wholeheartedly recommend giving this a try.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G
  • G
  • 06-12-17

What a disappointment

I am a Dan Hardy fan. I am a MMA fan. I was at UFC 120 live to see Dan Hardy. I was upset that I couldn't go to waterstones in London to get a signed copy of his book and meet him. I thought the next best thing is to hear Dan read his book himself. What a disappointment it was when I realised that he didn't even narrate his own book. Instead I got someone meant to sound similar and yet has no idea about the world of MMA. I know this because nearly every fighters name he read was mispronounced. I feel bad giving this only 1 star because I want Dan to do well but I feel cheated out of time, money and admiration. You also get nothing from this book that you wouldn't already know from being indifferently aware of his career. It's written as if for someone who has never been exposed to the MMA world and if so why would they be reading it? If your interested in Dan Hardy, save your money and type his name into YouTube. Sorry Dan, hope to see you in the octagon soon.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr P Dowsett
  • Mr P Dowsett
  • 05-15-20

Decent!!

Decent book, I like his analysis and it was good to read about his time in the UFC, very honest about how he was treated by the UFC which is a great insight, especially as he was there during the rise. Lost my interest a little when talking about drugs, but on the flip side I'm glad he put it in because it shows he's being honest.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-24-20

great listen couldn't get enough of it

loved it! great listen couldn't get enough of it. now looking for my next listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex
  • Alex
  • 04-13-20

If you like Dan hardy you'll like this.

If you like Dan hardy you'll like this. A very honest and useful Insight in to many aspects of Dan's life

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jack Bartle
  • Jack Bartle
  • 04-12-20

Reptile

An excellent listen. Absolutely loved listening to this while walking the dog. Great insight to the sport we love from a guy who lives and breathes it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jonny
  • Jonny
  • 02-20-20

Great book. Dan is a quality guy

brilliant book from start to end a man who can articulate life and martial arts in a way that perhaps not many other fighters can do.
this is a great and Brutus life story of someone one who I can can relate to really well,bbeing of a similar age and also coming from Nottingham.
Even if you know nothing about fighting, this is a great insight to the life of a fighter and i think it would surprise many how nice of at guy Dan is considering he wants to kick you on the face 🤣

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paintballmad
  • Paintballmad
  • 02-17-20

good book

well wriiten an well read. listened to this whilst decorating my kitchen. time flew by wasnt boring like most bio's can be.
love dan an learnt some interesting things about him as a person.
would reccomend to any mma fan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Bobbit
  • John Bobbit
  • 01-30-20

narrator is awful. sounds completly bored

as the title, the narrator is so unenthusiastic that's its hard to get into it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-28-20

Clays review

Awesome story. I came in a biased big dan hardy fan but this was a great story regardless touching on much deeper topics than just fighting.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-31-19

great story

super interesting story and analysis. personally would have appreciated a lot better if it was read by the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dan
  • Dan
  • 02-05-18

inspiring

Dan Hardy tells a wonderful story of his development as a fighter and a man.