• Our Daughter's Bones

  • Detective Mackenzie Price, Book 1
  • By: Ruhi Choudhary
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 13 hrs and 15 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (223 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When she was just 12 years old, Mackenzie Price came home to find her father bleeding to death on the kitchen floor. She will never forget that night, nor what her mother asked her to do....

Twenty years later, Detective "Mack" Price is back in Lakemore, despite vowing never to return. Determined to atone for the sins of the past, she is unstoppable in her quest for justice. 

When 18-year-old Abigail Correia goes missing, Mack is convinced that the case is linked to Erica Perez, who disappeared exactly one year before. Unlike Abby, Erica is the daughter of one of the town’s most powerful men, but still no trace of her has been found. 

As Mack endeavors to find Abby and bring her back alive, she and her team unearth a shocking secret at the heart of this small town. But that is not the only secret that lurks beneath the surface, as Mack knows only too well....  

The first book in the Detective Mackenzie Price series, Hidden Lake is a haunting crime thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons, and Karin Slaughter. 

©2020 Ruhi Choudhary (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Our Daughter's Bones

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

When football is king

Detective Mackenzie Price has a dark childhood secret...one that keeps haunting her years later. Present day and she is dealing the fact that her husband has cheated on her...while investigating a missing teen case. When the case is linked to the discovery of the body of the missing teen’s friend, Mac’s investigation leads her down a dangerous path with a very powerful enemy. Good procedural thriller. Looking forward to more from this new-to-me author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspense at its best!

A thriller that is completely filled with twists you never see coming! A true cliffhanger under that leaves you wanting more! I cannot wait for the next book in this series!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable Ridiculous

The narration was whiny and at times down right insipid. The story line and plot was beyond ridiculous and none of the characters were likable. The plot is a jumble of story lines: The female detective is constantly crying about her husband cheating on her and visits from her father’s ghost. The bad guys who run the town are viewed as sympathetic because of their influence even after they are exposed. The police department is run by a group of people that are only focused on football and what it means to the town. Forget about investigations especially when it comes to murder and missing women.
This book is a dumpster fire.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Umbrellas?

Sorry, but people in Seattle rarely use, or even own, umbrellas. Most of the time it doesn’t rain hard enough to use one and I would never refer to most of our rain as a storm. It also rarely…I mean RARELY… thunders.
Maybe we get 5 actual thunderclaps a year. Ask my dog!

The storyline was ok with a few nice surprises but the narrator read it so slowly that I had to speed it up to avoid long spaces between sentences. I really get tired of characters being so overly affected by their childhood trauma. Let me try to explain. I had incredibly severe childhood trauma and have spent years processing the anger in therapy but I do get very annoyed about the victim-y way some “successful” characters, almost always women, talk to themselves. “Successful” people who have survived childhood trauma tend to either bury it or deny it, or work through it, but not have a constant inner dialogue about it. If they are that unsure of their every move, they probably aren’t able to be that successful at anything. It just comes across whiny.

But, maybe I have baggage. Lol
I’m not heartless. I just don’t buy it.

There were several mispronunciations of local places which happens. She mispronounced my biggest pet peeve word, mischievous, but so do most people. She said it three times but only got it wrong once so I guess it could be worse.

By the way, it is MIS-chev-ous, not mis-cheevy-ous.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mad Mac was unbearable

Not sure I can stand another Mad Mac book. The story was interesting enough performer was adequate. Just couldn’t feel any sympathy for Mac. Normally I feel for the cheated on wife but her demeanor just aggravated me and poor stupid Sterling.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A MIXED BAG…

It took me a little while to get into the “who-dun-nit” part of the story. It took a long time to even get to the actual crime. There was a LOT of flashing back and forth on the part of the main character, Detective MacKenzie Price. She often flashed back to an abusive childhood in which her father excessively drank and beat her mother. It got to be a little ridiculous after a while — just about every male in the book triggered one of these “flashbacks.”

The other subject that was brought up WAY too much was the importance of football to the town. I think readers got it after the 30th or so reference. Some men in the story did some pretty horrible things over the years, and because of who they “used to be” in the football world, most of their crimes were just swept under the rug and forgiven (ignored).

Although I was pretty sure I knew who the killer was about half way through the book I stayed with it until the end to see if I was right (I was). However, I wasn’t entirely sure WHY the killer did what they had done. There were a LOT of characters in this story to try to keep straight.

The narrator was decent, although there were places where she could have changed her tone more. There were a few words which were consistently mispronounced (the emphasis was on the wrong syllable, making the words sound stiff). These are minor concerns that are hopefully addressed in upcoming books in the series

The ending was a bit unbelievable, but I’m curious to know how the author is going to explain it (if it’s another flashback I’m going to be seriously annoyed). I’m curious enough to take a chance on the second book in the series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Rambling and long listen.

There is too much going on in the this book. It’s hard to decipher the main plot line vs all the side stories. Narration was just ok. The main character was confusing - she had some conflicting characteristics.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

On the fence

I'm on the fence about this book. I think I would have enjoyed it more with a different narrator. The narration was quite monotone which made me zone out a few times. I think the series has potential though so I'll read the next one before I make up my mind.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Our daughter’s Bones

Fantastic book, keeps you in the edge. Cannot wait for the next one. The audible reader
Was wonderful!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I enjoyed the twists and turns. Cliff hangers really pull me in bring them on!

.