Opposite of Always

Narrated by: Nile Bullock
Length: 10 hrs
4.0 out of 5 stars (113 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“One of the best love stories I’ve ever read.” (Angie Thomas, number-one New York Times best-selling author of The Hate U Give

“Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest.” (Becky Albertalli, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda)

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he’s falling - hard. Soon she’s meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack. 

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there. 

Yet Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn’t sure if he’s losing his mind. 

Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

©2019 Justin A. Reynolds (P)2019 HarperAudio

More from the same

What listeners say about Opposite of Always

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Opposite of Always

This is a great book that I would highly recommend for anyone. Jake King is not just a story character, he feels like a real person that you can really feel for. Okay, that was cheesy.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First time love, or second, or third or...

I'll admit, I'm a little (actually a LOT) older than the average YA reader, but I love this genre because of the way the impossible looks possible from YA eyes, and that's what this book has in spades-- a teenager doing the impossible for love, over and over again, because he hopes and he knows something better is possible. The whole cast of characters came to life for me-- Jillian, Franny, Kate and Jack, in cute, funny, poignant, and at times heart-breaking ways, and the audiobook narration is one of the best I've heard. I started with a smile and I ended with a smile, and as a reader, I can't ask for anything more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Second Chances...and thirds...

What would you do with your second chance? If you could go back with the knowledge of where you made mistakes, what would you change? This story is a twist on the questions we always ask about changing the past, updates for today’s youth.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cheesy read

I'm not an average YA reader, but this book was cute and cheesy. I would recommend it though.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Meh

Just fine. Nothing exciting, nothing super thought provoking. Just fine. It’s probably not worth a credit unless you have extra.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really good

Not sure what I expected, but it was good. Not just for coming of age. You will actually learn from it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good concept, cheesy story, okay performance

The great thing about this book is that it’s aware of its own cheesiness. Overall, it was an enjoyable listen. The guy doing the reading was great at the narrator’s character, but the other characters were a bit cringeworthy. Attempts at accents would come in and out of the story regularly. But the main character was done perfectly.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Cheese Ball

This book was cute but SOOO cheesey! Rolled my eyes a few times! 😂 I guess it works if you’re looking for something light to read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

meh.

it just wasnt for me. I struggled through the book. got bored of the reapeted stories.