• Only Girl Alive

  • Detective Eve Bennet, Book 1
  • By: Holly S. Roberts
  • Narrated by: Stacia Keogh
  • Length: 7 hrs and 35 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Only Girl Alive  By  cover art

Only Girl Alive

By: Holly S. Roberts
Narrated by: Stacia Keogh
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.35

Buy for $17.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

As day breaks over the Tanner family home, the house is deadly silent and the door is firmly closed. Upstairs, the whole family lies cold and lifeless in their beds. All with the same look of fear in their unblinking eyes….

Detective Eve Bennet takes a steadying breath as she enters the main bedroom of the Tanners’ modest home in the tight-knit town of Hilldale. Mrs Tanner’s high-collared nightgown and her long plaited blonde hair are soaked in blood. Next to her, Mr Tanner’s hands are clasped together in a final prayer.

Filled with dread, Eve forces herself towards the children’s rooms. But instead of two children, she only finds one. Where is the youngest daughter, Hannah? And why are there long scratches across the walls?

Eve tracks Hannah down to her uncle’s house nearby. But he won’t let her step foot in the house. Eve knows what it’s like to be held captive by a family member, and fears for Hannah’s safety. What is he terrified Hannah might reveal?

Back at the Tanner home, Eve makes a shocking discovery in the dust covered attic. Mr Tanner was hiding a dark secret from the rest of the community—the kind of secret someone would kill for.

Realizing another family could be in danger, Eve runs from the house and stumbles into the path of the one man she spent years trying to forget—and he won’t let her get away this time. Can Eve escape the evil that has haunted her whole life? And will she catch the killer before another innocent family is murdered?

Fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, and Lisa Regan will be absolutely gripped by this explosive crime thriller from a USA Today best-selling author.

©2023 Holly S. Roberts (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

More from the same

Author

What listeners say about Only Girl Alive

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent New Series!!!!

It looks like this is the first mystery book written by Holly S. Roberts. The other three books on Audible look like they are romance and I’m not sure if I’ve ever even read a romance novel in my life so this is my first time listening/reading anything by her.
That being said, this is an excellent book. It is reminiscent of the Kate Burkholder Amish series. The protagonist in this book is Eve Bennet. She grew up in the fundamentalist Mormon community. Long dress, hair piled on top of her head, be sweet, obey your father and then husband etc…
When a family is murdered in the community the congregants are completely uncooperative. The few women who might want to help are afraid to because they are afraid of the punishment they would receive for being disobedient. At one point during the investigation Eve is attacked and stoned. Her estranged brother who is still in the religious community saves her but she believes it may have been a setup.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will look for additions to this series in the future.
Stacia Keogh does a wonderful job narrating.
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

8 people found this helpful