Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart
How steamy is it? Sizzling

Publisher's Summary

He's the campus golden boy. She's picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson's scorching novel of second chances - perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn - their differences only make their connection more explosive.

Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar - some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start...until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid's help.

Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student - and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn't break through the walls she's put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past - and trusting someone more than he's ever dared.

Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.

©2015 Cecy Robson, LLC (P)2017 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"This family drama filled with past horrors and possible salvation tugs at the heartstrings. Full of romance and humor - and a bit of steamy sex - this story from [Cecy] Robson is sure to be a hit in any collection." (Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An uplifting story

Lety Tres Santos can’t seem to escape her abusive father’s reach. He was responsible for her break up with her boyfriend Brody Quaid and now threatens her college scholarship. Despite her reluctance, Brody won’t give up on their relationship as they resume it and try to live some semblance of a normal life.

I fell in love with these characters, especially Lety. Her family circumstances were horrible, unfortunately not unusual. Her resilience, spirit and drive were beyond admirable while staying in the authentic zone. Brody wasn’t the stereotypical wealthy and entitled college frat boy on a Lacrosse Team and once his backstory is revealed, you get a sense of his true values.

It’s not an exciting story though there are some harrowing moments. But, it’s an uplifting one where you just want these two people to succeed in life and with each other. There are some strong themes here that resonate in high volume. As with the first book in the series, the cultural aspects are realistically presented and not in a gratuitous way. The narrator was almost pitch perfect and she WAS Lety. I’m really looking forward to the final story in this trilogy, which was deftly teed up in this one.

(I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sara
  • Pocatello
  • 07-31-17

Once loved

This is a great caring and loved story. Friends and family needed to believe in helping others

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S. Lacey
  • 11-12-17

Amazing!!!

I love this new series by Cecy, this is the second book in the series, the first centred around Mateo and Evie, this one is centred around Mateo's younger sister Lety and her boyfriend (an old friend of Evie's) Brody.

The story is heart breaking at times as both Lety and Brody have some serious trauma in their pasts, Lety's is similar to Mateo's given that they grew up together in the same house, but she suffered in different ways, including being shamed by the events surrounding her conception.

Brody has his own family trauma that we also learn about in the book and it may not be as extensive a history of suffering like Lety had to go through but it is heart wrenching too.

They were perfect for each other because they made each other better and healed each other's pain. The ending was bittersweet for me, I liked how things ended for Lety and Brody as a couple but was sorry that her mother never truly stood by her kids or supported them. She seemed to make a small gesture at the end but it was a case of 'too little, too late'.

I also loved the updates on how Mateo and Evie were doing, I love those two and was happy with where they were at in their relationship and their lives. A really great book and I'd recommend getting it!